Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 109 reviews
Ratings breakdown
556
432
314
25
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 109 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Inclusion Aide (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDJuly 16, 2018
mornings were started immediately when you walk in. everything continues to flow and try not to let things pile up. slow days its a little relaxed but most days non stop working.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and fun
Instrutor (Current Employee) –  Riverdale, MD 20737June 28, 2018
Working at Parks and Planning is fun and great opportunity to move up within the company I work with youth of all ages and abilities and watching learn and grow within the structure of the program is great
Pros
laid back and fun
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun summer job
Summer Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDJune 21, 2018
A typical day at work was very fun and enjoyable.On an average day, the kids would show up and be in a great mood! I was a seasonal employee during the summer and I highly recommend this job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Manager (Current Employee) –  Riverdale, MDMay 31, 2018
Fun. Keeps you busy. Many opportunities for advancement and lateral movement. Co-workers are nice and helpful. Huge area to cover. Great benefits.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Park and Planning is a fun place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Forestville, MDMay 23, 2018
Overall I like working at Park and Recreation, I love working with people. The different events that take place at the community center are very interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good experience
Facility Manager I (Former Employee) –  Glenarden, MDMay 15, 2018
I cannot complain about the experience I had at MNCPPC. Great starter company to work for. Great facility that I was located at, with great facilities for the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this place
Special Projects Officer Intern (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDMay 9, 2018
Great work environment, friendly atmosphere, lovely people. Happy about the opportunity. Great internship opportunities. Great networking; I met many people!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit, family style work enviroment
Inclusion Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mitchellville, MDMay 9, 2018
A typical day at work includes includes talking to several staff about their schedules and speaking to patrons about their families. The hardest part of the job is the summertime because that is busy season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and laid back work environment
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDApril 12, 2018
This job was great as a teenager and I would recommend it to any teenager looking to make extra money. However it was just a temporary job for me and it was time to move on.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
sitting in the hot sun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for starting out not to keep
Facility Aid III (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, MDApril 7, 2018
wheaton ice rink is a great place to work if you are starting out. they only have part-time work so if you want to do full time not the place. managers are accommodating and everyone is really nice and chill. very low stress job.
Pros
free skating
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Coach (Former Employee) –  Kentland, MDMarch 28, 2018
Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Duties Coordinated and supervised athletic events (dodge ball, kickball, and basketball games).
Supervise camp staff. Organize trips
Set-up and supervised creative design activities
Supervised academic activity
Chaperoned a group of five camp participants during field trips
Drive shuttle bus for local camp field trips. Ensure all paper work for campers is filled out and correct.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Employee
Data Entry Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDMarch 5, 2018
Updated and ensured that the data bases at multiple locations; facilitated staff development so that the team members had the ability to operate and maintain the database; responded to telephone hotline and website inquiries.
Pros
greet people to work with
Cons
only able to work 32 hours a week, no paid holidays or days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Exhibit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDFebruary 8, 2018
It's an amazing organization to work for.
I'm a designer so my work was different every week, in one week I would visit multiple offices and parks around Maryland.
Pros
its gov, so you have a lot guide lines to follow
Cons
delivering with those guidelines will increase your value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Staff
Maintenance/Event Staff (Seasonal) (Current Employee) –  Riverdale, MD 20737February 7, 2018
Cleaning and arranging ballroom
Completed 7 mandatory online training
Supervisor policy driven
Team effort
Working 5 hour per week
Team building training
Pros
Great company to work for.
Cons
Cannot work more that 29 hours per week for seasonal employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  New Carrollton MDFebruary 1, 2018
I got a chance to meet a lot of great people. I enjoyed working for Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission. Thank you for giving me the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDJanuary 12, 2018
You come in and set things up (tables chairs games books and couple of toys) the kids then arrive off the school bus where we take them for bathroom breaks. After that we start to let them wind down after all school has been long. then we provide them with a snack and help them with there homework
Pros
free l;unch
Cons
short days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDJanuary 10, 2018
Working with this company is a breeze. You get paid to play and have fun with the kids. There are planned activities throughout the day. The kids look forward to coming everyday!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay More
Program Support Specialist/Monitor/Front Desk (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJanuary 9, 2018
It would be nice to be shown appreciation with a Christmas bonus. I'm sure upper management gets bonuses. Another thing would be to raise the pay rate when the living wage changes so people have something to work towards and to live off.
Pros
people you work with
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Stressful Environment
Swim Lesson Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDJanuary 8, 2018
Management was always hit or miss. They fully support employee harassment and could care less about seasonal intermittent staff because they feel everyone is replaceable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mncppc
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDDecember 28, 2017
MNCPPC is a friendly environment to work in the employees are really nice. In the environment/ place of work we all work as a team to achieve one goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question