Master Lock Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search See all 71 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interactive enjoyed my customers
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIMay 12, 2019
very fast paced call center. family vibe, talking to retailers and distributors, consumers also. not a hard job i enjoyed my work environment and team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful environment.
Lock Body Assembler (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 17, 2019
Terrible. Don't even bother. Broken machines. Boring job. Dirty, loud, smells bad, dangerous. Management and union in constant conflict. Complete waste of time.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Brands
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  WIFebruary 7, 2019
This is a great, stable company to work for that strives to deliver value for their high quality products. The people are very professional and fun to work with.
Pros
Experienced Team, Strong Collaboration, Strong Work Ethic
Cons
Weak Innovation, Periodic Supply Chain Challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted for specific work
Technical Writer/Editor (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIJanuary 4, 2019
Because I was contracted to do a specific project, my exposure to many aspects of the company was limited. My work area was frequently quite noisy, which made it difficult to concentrate. It was sometimes difficult to reach people in IT, but they were cordial and helpful once I did reach them.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Project parameters kept shifting, making it difficult to complete the project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Manufacturing Engineer / Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 22, 2018
There is a hard time filling positions at all levels of the organization. Location of the facility is not ideal for most employees. As people leave, the work gets spread around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very stable company for 20 years
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 23, 2018
I would have worked the rest of my career at Master Lock if new President didn't fire entire executive staff. I had a great run for 20 years, then we had a few changes of President.
Pros
Allowed me to run my business
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Master Lock is a good place to work.
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 25, 2018
Master Lock was a good place to work. The schedule was pretty set and the overtime was voluntary.

This established company would be a great career for anyone wanting a regular 40 hour work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange Company
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIJuly 17, 2018
Can't decide on their focus. At one time was heavily focussed on innovation. That failed within a year. Then focussed on cheap manufacturing. Still can't tell where they are going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Service Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 9, 2018
Nice place to work with great people. Fast paced, great atmosphere, nice facilities including lunch room and break room. Benefits are great and easily accessible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has a lot of Opportunities for Improvement
Plant Controller (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 21, 2018
Senior Management is behind the curve on innovation. Company has chosen to return profits to shareholders instead of reinvesting and therefore, is not able to compete on a global stage. Sacrifice long-term for short-term gains and it shows in strategic outlook.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Poor Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Machine Operator/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 14, 2018
worked here for 2 years. no problems, my days went by fine, before I knew it I was already almost done with my 2nd year. would recommend to people who like to mind their own business and get their job done correctly and timely.
Pros
peaceful, laid back, family atmosphere, able to move up in the company
Cons
short breaks, can get dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as group with students was interesting and fun
Senior design Project member (Former Employee) –  UWMJune 14, 2018
Out goal of the Master lock project was making mechanism for new blue-tooth lock system. Our group tried multiple time with different design, and final design worked well. During prototype test, we used 3-D printing to make prototype of lock. We also did stress analysis by Creo to test our prototype. Finally, we successfully finished our task, which was making new mechanism for blue-tooth lock system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
c.s dep
C.s/Warranty Claim Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIMay 23, 2018
I feel like proper management is lacking, Its hard to get hired on directly or have the proper support. there is no communication from management at all when a position is available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Skilled Laborer/Operator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 9, 2018
If you have a good manager, sweet. If you don't...well, at least you can switch to a different position relatively easily. It's union protected. That's reassuring...It's a toss up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Supply Chain and Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIMay 9, 2018
There was a atmosphere that you noticed as soon as you enter the building. Employees greet you at every corner which creates a great culture among the workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with a legacy product
Technical Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIApril 10, 2018
Expanding focus of fundamental product that is developing new lock types. Some manufacturing exported, but some still in Milwaukee away from offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable manufacturer within Milwaukee
Supervisor Machines, Dept. 534 Shackle Factory (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 28, 2018
Pros:
Always busy
Decent Benefit Package

Cons:
Excess Meetings
Outdated Systems
*Still using paper time cards
*Manual keying of ERMs (Production Shipments)
*Manual reporting of production
*No bar code scanners
Unsafe geographic location
Insufficient Trades help (Machine Repair, Electrician, Tool & Die)
Insufficient Skilled Production help (~67%)
Poor Preventative Maintenance (run it till it breaks)
Lack of available spare parts in Inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 22, 2018
Good place to work, warehouse conditions, no complaints. If you don't mind the heat in the summer or the cold during the winter I would recommend to anyone looking for job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Mgr - Global Business Development and Strategy (Current Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIMarch 21, 2018
Nice place to work - collaborative environment! Open management style with transparency and authenticity. People were great and products were world class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for , good wages and benefits
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Oak Creek, WIMarch 18, 2018
great company with wonderful people, you deal with a lot of people internationally. Depending on the job could be difficult without good experience , overall nice work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Master Lock. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 71 reviews
521
426
314
27
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture