Matco Tools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to Work with mgt
Owner and operator (Former Employee) –  Waco, KYApril 15, 2018
Difficult to get parts. All depends on your area of business if you have an opportunity to make a good living or not. Most enjoyable, being on your own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company functions.
Customer Service Training Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Stow, OHApril 3, 2018
There are lots of great company functions with great people! The people are definitely the best part of this company. If you don't have a degree, plan to get one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only worried about their share holders
Owner (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAFebruary 27, 2018
The company is more worried about share holders and their pockets than the Distributors. The backorders were out of hand. over a year to get hardline product is not ok.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road Warrior
Regional Field Instructor (Current Employee) –  Stow, OHFebruary 26, 2018
The hardest part of the job is Early mornings and late nights.
Great management team.
Always working with new people.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others to get started in a new career.
Pros
Company credit card, everything is paid for while on the road
Cons
100% Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Matco Tools Authorized Matco distributor (Former Employee) –  Norristown, PAJanuary 24, 2018
Selling high paced selling tools and equipment to shops and technician if you want to be your own boss this is is for you get to meet new people and shops
Pros
Long hours
Cons
No set pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt like the job
MATCO Tools Distributor (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILJanuary 23, 2018
I wouldn't work here again. I worked for a franchise owner that treated me poorly. The hours were terrible and the stress was horrible. And I didn't get paid enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Noblesville, INJanuary 4, 2018
This is my parents business and so I help out as much as I can with the family business. I also help with getting things ready for the trucks and with the things that needs to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like to be micro managed
Project Coordinator, Bankruptcy (Former Employee) –  Stow, OHDecember 28, 2017
managers dont care what your potential is. they will argue with you, even though they hired you for your experience and ability. they will always try to cut you. the staff is very shady
Pros
i got to use my skills
Cons
micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work but rewarding results
business instructor (Former Employee) –  nationwideNovember 11, 2017
Matco is a company with stressful and very competitive work load but results are personally very rewarding. Required to travel 100% of my time. Loved the challenges that were presented at every assignment.
Pros
great managers
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed every minute
Spot Welder (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NYOctober 19, 2017
Great place to work if you like fast paced hard work and are allowed to have fun while doing it. It's really hard to get in there,just do your job..it was good
Pros
Great pay and awesome benefits
Cons
Physical and labor intensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Matco Tools?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no thank you
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Clearfield, UTOctober 16, 2017
it can be a good place to work as a stepping stone to get somewhere else. getting more experience under your belt to apply at other companies that have more advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co Workers were awesome management not so much
Credit Correspondent (Former Employee) –  Stow, OHAugust 22, 2017
The company over all has changed a lot and not for the better since I started. They need to look into their supervisors to see why they can't retain employees.
Pros
Co-workers and casual summers
Cons
Supervisors never available when need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Franchise Owner
Vice President/Treasurer (Current Employee) –  Indian Land, SCAugust 22, 2017
These questions do not fit this business model, as I am a part owner.
My husband and I owner this mobile tool business. He does the daily sales and I do the administration and receiving .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and colorful workplace with foosball table
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYJuly 21, 2017
Stable job for hardworking employees, many valuable skills attributed from being employed by this company. Hours and schedule may sometimes be inconsistent.
Pros
Advancement in first year
Cons
hours, inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if your motivated
Franchise Owner (Current Employee) –  Jacksboro, TNJune 14, 2017
Being a franchise owner at Matco is what you decide to put into it, its not for everyone, but Matco gives you the training and support that you need as a new business owner
Pros
Its your business
Cons
Hard to be price competative with your competition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best factory job I have had
LABORER (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 31, 2017
Job was running machines but was allowed to help other parts of the shop and try different equipment if I wanted to. Bosses very worker friendly and pitched in with no worries of not their job kind of attitude.
Pros
Easy work for factory job good pay and benefits
Cons
Shut down and moved overseas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family business
Tools distributor (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 17, 2017
Matco Tools is a good place to work. My father owned a franchise through Matco Tools which allowed me to be a Tools distributor. Now my dad is selling the franchise and I'm looking for a new career.
Pros
Family business
Cons
Very expensive to run
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to Work with
Assistant Sales representative/Head of Collections (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 25, 2017
Great down to earth people. Did not work under them but as a partner. I also worked with the distributors not as an employee in the actual corporation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brutal
Painter/Laborer (Former Employee) –  New York StateApril 18, 2017
Management doesn't care about employees...only production. Rude, condescending remarks from supervisors. Breaks are not observed per NYS labor laws.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great franchise
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Martinez, CAMarch 8, 2017
franchise is a great small business. job is fun and customers enjoy being on the truck. they view it as an extra break. hopefully Amazon doesnt take over this industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Matco Tools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 42 reviews
513
410
313
20
16

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture