Matrix Service Company Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 58 reviews
Ratings breakdown
528
418
38
23
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 58 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Hole Watch (Former Employee) –  Reserve, LAMarch 6, 2018
Although the work area is mostly men there was some horseplay that sometimes led to injury. If this company is still in buisness I don't recommend employed due to racist comments.
Pros
Outside
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall was a good job
General foreman (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXMarch 3, 2018
This was a great job good communication. The management was great. I would love to work for matrix again. Equipment was readily available and good tools for the men which made the job run smooth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Multi-Craft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Ferndale, WAFebruary 20, 2018
would like to be called to work when needed enjoyed running fork-lifts for various jobs working with hand tools like to be around different people and enjoyed the overtime
Pros
good place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with superior Management
Receptionist/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 16, 2018
A typical day working for Matrix Services included checking and receiving the daily mail and distributing it to the corresponding employees or departments and then coding invoices to be approved and sent to accounts payable. Mailing out Payroll and other items was also part of my typical day. The reconciliation of courier and fuel accounts were also a daily responsibility. I learned to stay absolutely organized and really emphasize time management to meet deadlines. The hardest part of the job was Months end when the bulk of invoices would come in and take extra time to complete while also trying to handle daily tasks and handling a high volume of incoming calls. The most enjoyable part of the job were the employees and customers. Everyone was respectful and helpful in every way and the environment had an overall enjoyable feeling. The staff was very supporting during stressful times and when training me they were very clear, concise and patient. This company really allows one to grow and advance in the company as well as a person with skills.
Pros
Paid Lunch, Paid Vaction, Paid sick days, Health Benefits, Great management team, supportive staff, relaxed work environment
Cons
Fast Paced front desk, high volume of incoming calls, stressful month end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 12, 2018
It was ok work with the company, the hours was in afternoons, but 4 hours it wasn't enough time for do the job efficiently, they were cutting people and increase the responsibility for others.
Pros
secure 20 hours a week
Cons
more work, same pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive very knowledgable
Iron Worker / Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, NYDecember 18, 2017
moving material thru out the site
learned how to occupy new equipment thru out the site
great management
great people
the heat
meeting great people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork great pay
Boiler Maker (Refinery) (Former Employee) –  Orange, CADecember 4, 2017
great place to work if you're trying to get into the refinery field. great pay but trust me you're going to work for it. great place to work if you're single, the long hours and being away from home can wear on your family life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job within that field
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Benicia, CAOctober 20, 2017
Matrix Service was a great first job in the welding industry but lacked the room to grow that I wanted. Best for someone who enjoys traveling long distance from home.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace always on the go doint a lot of siting in texas waiting on loads company dispatchers seem too always lie too drivers just to move
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Flint mi holiday drive 48507September 27, 2017
Very fast pace moving freight from MI too Texas mostly stayed out on the road weeks at a time to get a chance just take a day off needed freight constantly moving
Pros
Free gas cards free i passes to canida
Cons
No breaks no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nicest group of people I've ever worked for!
Tool Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYSeptember 12, 2017
I was fortunate enough to work for some really good supers! They cared about the people working under them! Was a great environment and friendly people on my shift.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Not so good people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace to be around
Safety Attendant (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXAugust 25, 2017
This is a very interesting place to work. Meet new people everyday. Working here is a place to grow and become more experienced with work with new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working i have kids
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Miami floridaAugust 10, 2017
I was working for this company for four years I had to move to Charlotte because my father had deceased and my sister needed me to come up here with her I told my job I was leaving and now I'm in Charlotte looking for worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Structural Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Morenci, AZJune 27, 2017
Was good to work for this company but when it comes to production workers they just on their phone which they not interested in the work they do but still was got it done and its still going for what so time now was nice to meet different people out there
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Matrix
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIJune 13, 2017
I worked here for maybe 2 months. I wasnt the best job and it wasnt the worst. The plan i was place in was very drama filled. At the time the pay was decent, i had to leave for personal reasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2017
They are very safe they strive to keep everyone safe . Working for them provides knowledge of many different things . You must be fast paced and able to learn quickly
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIMarch 6, 2017
Matrix is a temp agency that hires people for short term work. After your assinment is done they try to find you another job but, there might not always be another job right away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 20, 2017
The company is great to work for; compensation is more than fair for the industry and benefits are fantastic. The hardest part of my job is the amount of travel, it really takes a toll on my family to be gone as much as I am but I am amply compensated for my time and efforts.
Pros
Compensation and Benefits
Cons
Amount of Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
PLANNER (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 4, 2017
great company to work for. I would love to go back once work picks up again. This company has great leadership and build a great product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Environment
Ironworker/Rigger Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJanuary 25, 2017
Worked 14 hour jobs.
Learned how to Rig.
Friendly people and also a good safety environment.
Lead personals are encouraging and out spoken.
I would like to work with this company someday again..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team work
Site Supervisor QA/QC (Former Employee) –  Epping, NDJanuary 11, 2017
Oversee civil & mechanical and welding & I&E ensure project meets proper codes as well as customer’s specifications. Manage and schedule all third-party inspection and evaluate the results to assure that they meet specifications To schedule and direct all inspections. To assure job is being built to customer’s specifications and codes. As well as manage all inspectors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport