Mattel, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 376 reviews matching the search See all 645 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to Work
Director (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 14, 2019
Smart people are held back by mediocre leadership. Mattel has great brands and no appetite (or money) to drive them. I don't see long term success for the company.
Pros
smart people, half day friday all year
Cons
Sinking ship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 9, 2019
Good work life balance, with half day fridays. Good family culture, but could tell from a few weeks in why the company is not doing well. Doesnt seem to be much strong career progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to work with exciting licensed accounts
Designer (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 8, 2019
Coworkers are great, but the culture is not very fun or sound. It's not a very creative environment. Managers stifle creativity and limit the growth of their underlings by acting oppressively, writing rebuking emails, manipulating communications (leaving people out of the email loops), not sharing information, and not giving opportunities to expand or advance their career, to protect their own position.
Pros
Half-day Fridays, Good benefits, Exciting products
Cons
Self-seeking, manipulative game players as Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke work for this company
Clamp Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Jonestown, PAJanuary 30, 2019
Favoritism, profiling people, lack of opportunity if you are not friend of a lead or a supervisor you can not become a regular employee with the company and you can get fired for no reason that is working for Mattel...
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management is a joke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DIrect Service Associate
Direct Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilmot, WIJanuary 18, 2019
I worked at Mattel because I was unemployed at the time and it was also very close to home. I loved working there but there is no advancement in an employment perspective. I would have loved to have gotten a permanent position but they have chosen to move their headquarters and leave Wilmot so I will not be able to move with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic place to work
Merchandiser / Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 12, 2019
working seasonally part time was great and had very flexible hours, worked in a wide variety of stores, good for a helpful people person. wish that they still had jobs in the Columbia area.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
must drive own car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great Industry, Good Pay
Sales (Former Employee) –  United StatesJanuary 11, 2019
Coworkers and the fact we were making/selling toys made the job worth it. Complete lack of top-level direction, mid-level managerial support, and career development was a problem the entire time I worked there.
Pros
Good pay, cool people to work with
Cons
management, coaching, development, no automony, job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Molding Maintenance/ Sr Reliability Engineer PM (Former Employee) –  Nuevo LeónJanuary 5, 2019
Great place to work if youre a mechanical engineer, you get a lot of information and standards that are worldwide commonly known by any engineer......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Jonestown, PAJanuary 4, 2019
Great place to work with excellent management. I really enjoyed my time at this job. If you have an opportunity to, go ahead and apply.

.............
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun activities
Change Analyst / Documentation (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CADecember 17, 2018
Join the groups offered and it will bring enjoyment to the stressful workload. Learned a lot about corporate environments. Coworkers were amazing and loyal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great atmosphere & experience
Global Samples Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 7, 2018
Overall a great atmosphere & experience
Pay was decent
Travel was extensive, but a lot of fun
Accomplished some proud work within the company.
The people within the company were collaborative & cooperative.
Made friends of a lifetime.
Pros
Good benefits, travel, positive coworkers
Cons
A lot of layoffs, divisions of company closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, however too much turn-over at CEO level.
Sr Manager Vendor Operations (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CADecember 4, 2018
My overall review for Mattel is positive because the attract bright and talented individuals to the Company. I enjoyed my time at Mattel, until I was laid-off in 2009, due to Company Mis-management. Turn-over is a problem, especially with the longer tenured employees, due to their higher salaries & benefits.
Pros
Great facilities & working conditions
Cons
Very political organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful staff and a fast paced environment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 1, 2018
Wish it was a permanent position, unfortunately the store is now closed. Great associates, wonderful customers.Making people happy to find toys for thier kids as well as themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CANovember 30, 2018
just the same thing everyday,the nice part of this job was that I would get discounts on there products. management was ok not to bad. the job was easy.
Pros
discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, if you don't mind getting dirty
Picker and Loader (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 29, 2018
learned how to load and unload semi trucks of toys for Mattel Warehouse. Learned how to pick and pack orders for shipment to various stores. Great job for forklift drivers
Pros
easy job
Cons
can be a dirty job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for but always be prepared to be replaced
A respected leader (Former Employee) –  Fisher Price NYCNovember 23, 2018
The company closed the NYC office and provided not much support or plan for 200 + employees. Lots of paid time off but culture is poor at best. Poor Leadership
Pros
Work from home, lots of time off
Cons
Long hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've had worse jobs.
Senior Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Jonestown, PANovember 21, 2018
Work will be life depending on the time of year, be prepared. This company was a startup so keep that in mind but as with all startups, it had many difficulties along the way. They did have a knack for training you to do one thing and then turning their heads and expecting that you do whatever is needed to get the job done though.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
management / startup
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Attorney (Former Employee) –  East Aurora, NYNovember 16, 2018
I was there only for a short period of time. I was in Ny and not in the HQ. Half day Fridays were nice..............................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work
Sr Admin Assist to VP Advanced Concepts (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CANovember 8, 2018
My 5+ years at Mattel, were amazing. They really care about their employees and offer an exceptional work environment and good benefits.

The last couple of years that I was there were rough for the company and ultimately layoffs happened due to restructuring.

I continue to support and highly recommend the company.

Wold definitely return if the opportunity arose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly enjoyed my time with the company
Brand/Marketiing Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 30, 2018
Every day starts with a game. Management is approachable, resourceful and mentors staff. Great culture, easy to balance work and family / life. Excellent training, career development, tuition reimbursement. You have every opportunity to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mattel, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 645 reviews
5286
4192
3104
230
133

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Mattel, Inc..

Powered by Comparably