Maverick Transportation Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 119 reviews
Ratings breakdown
540
439
319
211
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 118 reviews matching the search See all 119 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Technician (Current Employee) –  Laurinburg, NCMay 17, 2018
This is a great company they give you a tool box and tools it will belong to them until you work two years then it will be yours you get 8 hours a month paid vacation days the longer you there the more time you get you get paid online training classes all free great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Driver / Securement (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ILMay 12, 2018
Good company with good personal. I think they generally care for their employees. I hope they start running dedicated out of Ottawa,Il. it might be a good fit for me.
Pros
overall good management
Cons
no beravement pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will not see your family
Driver (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMay 3, 2018
I was told i would be home 95% of the weekends. Which i was fine with. My last 4 weeks solo i was home less than 48 hours and had nothing to show for it. That's right... small paychecks. This company is full of some of the biggest liers and backstabbers in the state. I could not afford to feed my family with this job. Would not tell a friend to come work here
Pros
Nice equipment
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company if you're into the trucking industry
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARApril 30, 2018
The benefits were poor but overall Maverick is one of the better trucking companies out there.Covering all of the US and Canada the ability to make great pay per mile was always there.Some heavy lifting occurred but their equipment was top of the line and they never left you stranded
Pros
Good pay per mile with lots of miles
Cons
Benefits weren't the best
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Area Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARApril 23, 2018
Great company to work for, with an exceptional facility!!! Maverick provides a great working environment with a culture that that makes everyone feels like family!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, In experienced Management
Professional (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARApril 23, 2018
Management is limited in theior perspective and experience. The people are the best part of the company ... HR rules the roost and unfortunately, the department is very backwards and antiquated.
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Driver (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock ArkansasApril 18, 2018
Dispatchers are real nice everybody in Maverick treats you like a family they do a lot of things for Special Olympics they do a lot for their drivers they make you feel that you are at home with them they do offer training paid training for 2 weeks if you do not have flatbed experience they will train you they do offer paid orientation
Pros
Paid orientation and training
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARApril 12, 2018
Great structure and training. I got stuck with a manager that was not professional or realistic. Would still be there (different division) but I recieved a job offer from VA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Maverick
ALM - CSR (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMarch 20, 2018
Maverick was a Fast-paced invironment. Multi tasking is a must. Assisting drivers with loads along with assisting customers throughout the United States. Good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fleet manager was very helpful and understandfull
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARMarch 13, 2018
It was great place to work some times you would get slow runs and stressful short miles but most times they would try their best to help you with good runs
Pros
Good management
Cons
Some short runs
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to for long term
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARMarch 3, 2018
Everyone is super nice and hard worker. They train you as well. Follow safety as well. One hour lunch break. Good feedback. Full benefits. Stay positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Equipment
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  N Little Rock, ARFebruary 25, 2018
The miles and hours were very long There was not much home time. Bad weather and roads made the job very stressful. I did like the independence of the open road and seeing the country
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Smith, ARJanuary 29, 2018
Would recommend anyone to become a Maverick Trucking team member. I enjoyed going to work everyday and seeing the fellow team members. The pay is competitive, the insurance is good quality, and the environment is very peaceful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Laurinburg, NCJanuary 18, 2018
company will train driver to work on all equipment also how to properly load ,secure any thing from raw sheets of (different sizes) , lumber , steel , e-logs and more
Pros
keep driver up to date and all equipment
Cons
slow periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, not so Great Company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJanuary 17, 2018
I loved the atmosphere of the company while on the North Little Rock campus. Once I got off the main terminal it was another story, I lived closest to the Madison, Il and they just didn't care about anything. I was told I would be home every weekend (Friday night through Monday morning). I understand things happen and don't always workout right but I was there for eight weeks and only got a full weekend home once. Normally it was home Friday night and leaving Sunday morning right as my 34 hour reset was up. I busted my back to make miles but couldn't average more than 1800 miles week, they did give a raise once the ELD mandate went into effect but with low miles it didn't make a difference.
Pros
Executives are nice
Cons
Don't care about your home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARDecember 14, 2017
Maverick provides an excellent orientation and training process. After riding with a trainer who observe you you’re released with your own truck. My only problem was the person dispatching your loads was not talking to the person who knew what you were doing so there were long delays Between unloading and reloading. I wasted a lot of time and money due to poor time management by the load managers. They were also very inconsistent with your mileage, one week I might get 2600 miles the next week I might get 1800 miles.
Pros
Good trucks outstanding benefits
Cons
Poor time management by the load managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Pace great guys to work with
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Broken Bow, OKDecember 10, 2017
Maverick is a very good place to work. friendly people to work with and Management will bend over backwards to help you. I have had a great experience with them
Pros
Great work Place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best for new drivers, Bad for Pros
TCD OTR (Current Employee) –  NationwideDecember 7, 2017
This is a flatbed company so other divisions are treated like money grabs that are ignored. The turnover rate is so amazing that I don't bother speaking to other drivers anymore. When the manager tells me there are no loads available for me, I speak to the new drivers that are waiting beside me at a shipper and they have preplans totalling 1000 mile+ runs like I did when I was new. I made more money as a new driver than I do now as they lower your miles the longer you are there. They rather pay the new guy making less per mile than the skilled driver. I sometimes get great miles when I swap a load with a new driver and take his preplans. I only stay because I get paid very well since I never go home but if they kept me rolling like the new guys I would make a lot more money.
Pros
Nice people and equipment
Cons
Pros treated like newbies, slow trucks, added rules every few months
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 20, 2017
Staff is very helpful and patient to answer questions. They will work with you on anything you might need help with and overall a great place to work if you enjoy driving flatbed trailers
Pros
Pay, benefits, great staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR position
Over The Road Driver, Flat-Bed Training (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 8, 2017
It was the typical OTR position driving flat-bed tractor trailers. Most customers were industrial clients. They did have a good training course in securing & tarping your loads.Using the automatic trucks in city traffic conditions was a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report