McClendon Center Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
55
45
32
22
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality of services has gone down drastically
CSS (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 30, 2018
McClendon Center use to have a good reputation for services, but it has declined. Services/programs are poorly managed, but non-managerial staff are blamed for the decline in services. Turnover is extremely high with no regard for consumers. Morale is extremely low and the work environment has become hostile. Hardest part of the job is the unrealistic demands, lack of support and unstable work environment. The most enjoyable part is helping the consumers.
Pros
health benefits (medical, dental)
Cons
lack of support, low morale, high turnover, constant program changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, if you do your work
CSS (Former Employee) –  DCJuly 13, 2018
I enjoyed working at McClendon Center. It is a great place to work if you do your work. If you don't do your work you are faced with consequences, like every other employer.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
A lot of staff that are not qualified, but still complain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCJune 16, 2018
The McClendon Center is a great place to work. It encourages automomy, operates an open door policy and feedback is appreciated. The management approach is simple
Pros
Open door policy
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place, They are thieves, and very unreasonable.
Community Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 16, 2018
This is the worst place I've been. They hire people but fire you for really petty reasons. They are liars very unorganized, and the clients are constantly put through difficult situations by having new case managers every month.
Pros
None
Cons
They work u like a slave, and are very unrealistic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MCC is ok
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 9, 2018
ok company, Work life balance can be difficult, but the managers work with you for the most part. High turnover rate which can e difficult on clients.
Flexible hours
Pros
job flexibility
Cons
low pay compared to other agencies, poor job culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 30, 2018
was really busy and demanding. I liked working there pay was lower, but give you and opportunity to get experience. Great benefits and a lot of room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Day Program is a great place to work
Mental Health Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 17, 2018
So much positive interaction with clients. CEO is very supportive and approachable. Overall great work environment. I would highly recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level Position
Community Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 3, 2018
It's a great position if you live nearby and have reliable transportation. Very flexible and supportive staff. The day goes by fast because there is always something to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work but pay is kind of low for the DC area
Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 23, 2018
Excellent place to work but pay is kind of low for the DC area. But there are trade offs, the benefits were excellent, and the management was spot on great.
Culture was one of real caring for both patients and employees.
It would have been perfect if they paid just 5k more.

Employees, excellent.
Fun place, doing great work.
I really cared about the patients who were regulars.
I felt like i left a family. I think of them often and fondly.

Most importantly, they cared about me.

I hated to leave, but got offered job making 9k more, in the city that I love the most.
Pros
management, patients, and culture, benefits all were excellent
Cons
low salary for DC living wage area
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 17, 2018
Lack of communication
Supervisor unsure of proper chain of command
Good benefits and hours
Flexible a hours depending on position
Actively a stressful senory
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
N/A (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCJanuary 31, 2018
They warn you about the Clients when you really need to be warned about management. The office is filled with drama and cliques Management included.This is probably why the turn over rate is so high! There was no formal training or job orientation. your basically just thrown out there to fin for yourself. Its a very stressful and unprofessional work place.
Pros
Client's
Cons
gossip, lunch breaks, micro management, Management!!, Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mcc
Community Support Specialist (CSS) (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 3, 2018
Ok to work. I think that it is a great place to start off. It can help with building your knowledge. Great job for entry level position. No where to progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Proper Communication
Nurse Care Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20002October 31, 2017
A typical day stressful
I learned to manage large amounts of work with little sleep. Management was adequate
Workplace culture is poor
Hardest part of the job is lack of training
The most enjoyable part of the job the satisfaction of helping the client get well
Pros
Attempt to listen to the staff
Cons
Unappreciative of the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
putting a band-aid on a laceration
I'll never tell (Former Employee) –  DCOctober 24, 2017
starting w the stuck up a** HR director. She is so tied into her feelings, being uppity and stuck up no one can even get an interview or call back terribly rude!!!
I feel sorry for those who attempt to apply!!
Pros
the team of professionals, people care
Cons
The people in charge. a**holes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2017
great place to expand on existing knowledge of human resources. hands on training was excellent and very supportive. working closely with the HR director was very enlightening.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are great at face to face customer service
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 8, 2015
A typical day at work consists of clients meeting with Doctors and caseworkers for their treatment. I learned the different types of mental illness that different clients suffer from and what treatments are necessary. I also learned how to deal with those that cannot control their mental illness. The staff at this particular center created a family/friend work environment with the way they handle the clients with love and care. The hardest part of the job for me would have to be filing clients charts both paper and electronic. The most enjoyable part of the job is definitely seeing the progress in the clients recovery.
Pros
great insurance
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report