McDermott Employee Reviews

Found 287 reviews matching the search See all 581 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAFebruary 7, 2019
Good benefits and treat their workers with respect, company was always there to help workers when they needed.. my time there was good and well worth it
Pros
Respectful company
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day of work
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAFebruary 1, 2019
Giving the opportunity to work for McDermott was an amazing oppurtinity. This was my first time every working with this company and there were awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Shop Clerk (Former Employee) –  Walker, LAJanuary 28, 2019
They hire you and expect you to sit there and do nothing for the first month. Then they call you and let you know that you no longer have a job because you didn’t do any work the day after you finally get access to the company system to be able to do any work. All while you have to deal with extremely poor management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAJanuary 25, 2019
It’s has many benefits that they offer. If working under pressure and extreme work conditions is a problem it is a good place for you. Minimum opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, steady,
crane operator (Current Employee) –  Hackberry, LAJanuary 17, 2019
Work 10 hours a day , 6 days a week typically , great management, even better co-workers. Production was steady and always accomplishments on day to day basis
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Terrible parking lot to work transportation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management at McDermott
Laborer / Tool room Foreman (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAJanuary 14, 2019
I was terminated for answering a call to replace a malfunctioning 75/25 cage. The cage was malfunctioning so I immediately replaced it without making sure no one was using it. since it was called in with an issue I automatically assume that the supervisor over the welders informed his crew of the equipment failure. well he did not and the blame was put on myself for the weld needing to be repaired after the gas was shut off on it. So at that point the welder and welder foremen got upset with me and a argument pursued. I was dismissed from the project for misconduct. I shouldn't had been at fault for that incident. I may have had some part in it buy disconnecting the gas but the welders was using equipment that was malfunctioning and that may have been the cause of the bad weld.
Pros
Pay through lunch, and $2.00 more per hour at night
Cons
Lack of communcation bwtween workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Proejct Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 14, 2019
Lot of great projects. It was a long time ago but enjoyed working their. People were friendly and learned a lot while there. Great opportunities to travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going workforce
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJanuary 11, 2019
Management was easy to speak to and fair. I learned how to prepare and run a Tung unit. Extremely safety oriented. The hardest part of the job was having little to no time for personal interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job overall
Journeyman Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Arden, NCJanuary 5, 2019
Management wasn't the best but the were better than your average job. Pay was Great and good area to be working in. The job culture was as good as it gets. Overall a Great job
Pros
Great pays and safe work environment
Cons
Wish the job lasted longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Global QHSES Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 4, 2019
Not a good company culture no good advancement opportunities not a good work personal life balance

Management does not support their employees and are cut throat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about McDermott?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Review
Preservation Specialist 2 (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCDecember 10, 2018
I would not like to provide a review of McDermott at this time. When I have more time I will provide a much more in-depth review of not only my position but the company itself,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About McDermott, Will, & Emory
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 7, 2018
Great company with some well educated and great people to work with as well as learn from. Loved the work environment as well as the culture it produced around the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities to learn and grow. Lay offs
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LADecember 7, 2018
Lots of growth opportunities and advancement. Unknown job security at times. Closing our shop. Mcdermott is helping to get guys transferred. Great coworkers
Pros
Benefits. Chances to learn new things daily
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Man for Himself
Certified Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 3, 2018
I lost a lot with this outfit. More time on a bus than you would believe and the dog eat dog atmosphere unreal. That's why so many people left that site.The push for advancement often left positions open to inexperienced then incompetent persons.
Pros
Many people advanced their careers an earnings long term job.
Cons
Some of the employees did not learn the trades they advanced too Good Luck in the real world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Work Closure Tech - Lead Technical Reviewer (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCDecember 3, 2018
It was a great job until the Trump administration pulled the plug on our construction project.

Reviewing construction work packages for technical compliance.

Hardest part of job: Training others to understand how to do the job they were hired to do.

Most enjoyable part of the job: Working with really nice people willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Subcontract Technical Representative (STR), (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCNovember 30, 2018
Currently I have been rolled over to McDermott from CB&I at the MOX Project located in Aiken, SC. The current MOX Project is being terminated by the Federal Government and there has been no real interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some good people from all over the world from different trades
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 11, 2018
It was a good place to work, I was able to provide good for my family, safe program in place I hated to get laid off when I really feel they could have used me somewhere else I know there was a lot more welding that needed to be done in other areas. The management out on the job site I believe was poor and was all like a brother in law system , they didn’t use a worker to his/ her full potential and knowledge instead would rather hire inexperienced not really a fair program, but still you mind your own business do what you got to do it was still a good job
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Poor management, no job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Commissioning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 10, 2018
The company is currently going through an acquisition and resource transfer of CB&I to the McDermott portfolio of companies. This has given an atmosphere of uncertainty within the management organizational structure. Unfortunately, the upper management lacks the proper decision making skills required to advance the project. This has led to project schedule delays that can not be recovered.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Lacks leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & wonderful place to work.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Westlake, LANovember 10, 2018
It was a great experience. I started straight out of high school so was good for me & my family. I’ll advise anyone to work there . I loved my job & hate that I had to let it go
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  QUALITY MANAGERNovember 6, 2018
Excellent company with good leaders.
Excellent and global culture
Pros
A lot of
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDermott. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 581 reviews
5208
4172
3115
249
137

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture