McKinsey & Company Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 429 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good place to work for but terrible management
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 15, 2019
McKinsey has great benefits and job/work life balance, however that isn't enough when it comes to your mental health. The management and some of the team members in the Philadelphia office should be fired. They are corrupt along with a lot of bullying and favoritism in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office services
Office Services Intern (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJanuary 3, 2019
I go to work throughout the week and prepare food setup I have learned how to ship out supplies through ups external and international
management was okay
the hardest part of the job was seeing people get off work 30 better you do
the most enjoyable part of the job was celebrating after we completed a goal and had been successful with all our hard workers
Pros
free lunches, vacation discounts
Cons
20 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy investment into Learning and Development. The snobby culture is unfortunate.
Manager of Learning (Former Employee) –  GlobalDecember 10, 2018
- I absolutely loved all of the resources for learning and development. The company really cares about employee growth.

- The culture is unfortunately very snobby. Everybody is a "leader" and there is no hierarchy which ends up causing a ton of "churn". In other words, you'll have thousands of meetings with people disagreeing constantly and adding "scope creep" throughout a project cycle. Implementation was painfully slow.

- The HR department is horrendous. Problematic employees are not dealt with after numerous offenses (Thousand strikes you're out). They have no structure and they take weeks to respond. And when they do respond, they could care less.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
Snobby culture. Very bureaucratic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific Experience
Event Planner (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 4, 2018
I was not a consultant so my work/life balance was not an issue. Office Director at the time was awesome and really promoted good morale and community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McKinsey Implementation: a different kind of McKinsey consultant
Senior Implmentation Coach (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 29, 2018
McKinsey Implementation (MI) doesn't look for the standard Ivy league undergrad or top 5 B school applicant. Instead, since MI focuses on driving real lasting impact with clients (as opposed to traditional high-minded strategy problem solving), it looks for candidates with real work experience (generally at least 6 years) that know how to get things done. As a result, MI consultants have an extremely wide range of backgrounds and experiences. Additionally, the learning and development opportunities are immense. My initial training was better than almost any training I received in the military (and was located in Santiago, Chile!). Most importantly, while MI strives to provide the greatest impact possible for each and every client, it does so with a mind toward a sustainable lifestyle for its consultants. Each study begins with team members stating their lifestyle goals and boundaries, and the team works from there.
Overall McKinsey Implementation has been a great career choice for me coming out of the Navy.
Pros
development opportunities, wide industry/function exposure, sustainable lifestyle, driving actual impact for clients
Cons
New aspect of McKinsey (value prop not well-known among partners)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. With a ping pong and air hockey table.
Duplicating Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2018
Nice place to work but leadership was weak. Met some really nice people there as well. Just too cut throat and too much back stabbing. Not a place for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brings out the worst in people
Contracts Specialist, Public Sector (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 28, 2018
The pressures of the work environment at McKinsey brought out the worst in otherwise good people. What I witnessed and experienced there still saddens me. Use it to get where you want to go and never look back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everybody
Summer Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2018
If you want to work 60-70 hours and then be expected to socialize with colleagues every weekend, then this is your place. No work/life balance at all, but looks great on resume.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 15, 2018
culture could use work. unfair to be judged off perception. constant changing of assignments. Great manager. not alot of encourage ment/space to grow from admin
Pros
insurance
Cons
room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Consulting Company
Contract Digital Media Developer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 12, 2018
McKinsey is by far the best consultant company. I was a contractor for the communications department and we had the resources we needed to accomplish any task.
Pros
Resources
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Contract Senior Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 8, 2018
Very well known management consulting firm with a solid reputation. Great corporate environment with excellent benefits. Very fast paced with strong executive leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with the best people on interesting, high impact problems
Implementation Coach (Current Employee) –  CanadaOctober 21, 2018
McKinsey is a fast-paced, high performance workplace where the demands are high but the work is extremely rewarding. Some key benefits include:

+ Amazing people - you will be surrounded by brilliant and personable colleagues. The work is challenging, but there is a pervasive attitude of being in it together - I have found everyone to be tremendously supportive and I continue to be amazed by the caliber of all those I have worked with

+ Unparalleled opportunities for growth and development - the pace of learning is unlike anything I have experienced outside of the firm, and there are great opportunities to explore new industries and functions

+ Work with clients on to drive change at pace on interesting, high impact problems - the name of the game in consulting. In all my experience, I have found McKinsey's approach to be highly effective in driving impact and seeing fast results. The firm is also committed to building client capabilities and helping them actually make the changes they need to succeed long term; this is a specific focus of McKinsey Implementation
Pros
Learning and development, interesting work, people, benefits, compensation
Cons
Long hours, extensive travel (great for some, not for others!)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay short term or for retirement
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 17, 2018
I got this job right after graduating college and it's a great company to work for. It's an agonizing process to move up within the company and slightly elitist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growth and awesome team
Implementation Consultant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 4, 2018
exposure to high end clients from day 1
tons of training and growth opportunity.
constantly changing scope and environment
lots of support from all team members at all level
Pros
collaborative team, tralve points
Cons
lifestyle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and alienating company
Executive Assistant Floater (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2018
Work involved supporting very busy executives. They were not accessible and therefore there were constant pressures to deal with schedule which never had time to accommodate the pressures of the job.
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
No breaks were possible due to frenetic workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful placer to start and end your career
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 14, 2018
McKinsey is at the top of their field, and there isn't a management consulting company that cares more about their clients, and their workplace. They place a premium on intelligence in their employees, and many start at McKinsey and go on to fabulous careers.
Pros
Very structured training and maintenance of employees
Cons
Long hours, lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly heavy workload, but you work with incredible people
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Summit, NJSeptember 9, 2018
A typical day as an EA at McKinsey is mostly scheduling and rescheduling meetings, booking and changing travel, doing expenses, and working on additional special projects.

You either "get" the job right away or are let go, so in that respect, it's a tough place, but the other EAs are an incredible resource for one another.

You are treated like a second class citizen though. The consultants are clearly the stars of the company and we are treated as replaceable cogs.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
feeling unimportant to management; high pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena empresa
Senior Manager - Projects (Current Employee) –  Miramar, FLAugust 26, 2018
Gran compañía, con buenos planes de desarrollo y entrenamiento del equipos. Importantes y poderosos proyectos
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, incredible place to develop and grow.
Summer Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 26, 2018
You'll work hard and be challenged by some of the smartest people in the world. Only frustration was not having control over the outcomes of client decisions.
Pros
incredible benefits
Cons
work a lot hours and travel a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career and learn
Engagement Manager, Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2018
Great place to learn, lots of opportunities to develop new skills and master them. Heavy interactions with high-level clients and great program to develop problem solving skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McKinsey & Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 429 reviews
5216
4139
356
211
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.8Fairygodboss Score

63%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

88%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss