McLane Company Employee Reviews

Found 1,305 reviews matching the search See all 1,432 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Supervisor
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 21, 2018
direct manager was against women in the work force
no advancement
no accountability
no discipline
too many hours for low pay
no team environment
no organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employee base very bad upper management
Maintenance Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAOctober 20, 2018
No organization or follow up by upper management the staff is good working together but you have to figure it out on your own management likes to take credit and not give it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors favor the suck ups
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAOctober 18, 2018
If your not sucking up , you will not advance at Mclane. you literally have to be sucking up to move up in the company. Hard work and consistency does not apply.
Pros
benefits
Cons
shift changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not annual raises for employees
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  OKC to Arlington, TXOctober 17, 2018
Good benefits and good pay. There is long working hours and a lot of down time when loading or unloading. You have to wait for the Delivery Drivers to return to the OKC Distribution Center, and hope they return on time, before you get a truck.
Pros
Trucks are well maintained.
Cons
Every 6 months your days off change. You dont get 2 days in a row off normally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Selector II (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 17, 2018
Great place, They work with you to the best of their abilities and they try not to make things to hard. Very understanding company and supervisors. Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Don't Take Care of Their People
Worker (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLOctober 16, 2018
You are not viewed as a human here. You are a lifeless object. Management sees you as expendable. If you want to go, then go. If you want to stay, be prepared to lose the life you once loved.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace and fun workplace
Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIOctober 16, 2018
My daily task were to help the driver unload the product at each stop and store it in the cooler,freezer,or dry section of each store.This job required a lot of lifting some case loads were 1200 pounds or more all had to be unloaded from the truck and taken into each store.For example on stop could have 150 pieces for cooler,75 pieces for freezer, and 200 pieces for dry.At this job i learned proper lifting techniques and how to work at a fast pace without getting hurt because there was small room for error.I will say this is the most difficult job i had ever worked because it challenges you and keeps you busy which i love.You also learn that the proper lifting technique is very important because you have multiple stops you don't want to burn yourself out to early on this job or you wont be able to do your task.
Pros
Got free lunch, and great work benefits
Cons
there were no cons to working this job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management HR
Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Findlay, OHOctober 16, 2018
Was told I had to bring in doctors note to be covered, I did they copied it and I get 3 occurences even after I was told it was covered by HR. Always different stories from HR. B.Biddle a supervisor talked behind several peoples backs saying they were stupid or dumb. Would then say other supervisors thought the same or put words in there mouth. Bad company.
Cons
Worst management I seen in Findlay Ohio
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Selector/Picker (Former Employee) –  Nicholasville, KYOctober 15, 2018
the place was awsome i made decent money while i was there and if i could i would go ack to work there but unfortunatly they have not got my position open at the moment so im not able to do so
Pros
great pay great people
Cons
extreme heat and not enough hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phiscal hard work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAOctober 12, 2018
Working hard for your money pushing handcart delivery food products inside store and sometime require to stacking
product on shevles when making a key drop
Pros
Some time
Cons
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good job
Repack Selector (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILOctober 10, 2018
Worked more than I slept, if you have a family or life outside of work I would not reccomend working here. GOOD MONEY if youre just supporting yourself, managers are rude and perverted.
Pros
money
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MInd Thoughts
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 10, 2018
Mclane is a strong good working company with good security with manual work to be done, work hard and your pay is good but its all about what you make of it, but make sure its working in your best interest.
Pros
401k is good and so is pay with relocating benefits
Cons
sometimes away from home just to make money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Checker/Loader (Former Employee) –  Athens,GaOctober 10, 2018
Work hard get the job finish. Take my time but finish the job on time. Learn my job well so I can help the next person out. Nothing hard about working.
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autocratic Leadership styles
DC Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Republic, MOOctober 8, 2018
Great processes and very stable business. Fellow employees were always friendly and very helpful. There is a chant for fake enthusiasm. If salary, very long hours and are required to fill in for other staff vacations or time off (on your days off)
Pros
Pay - Facility
Cons
Autocrats - Misleading at times -
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Perishable Selector/loader (Current Employee) –  MinnesotaOctober 7, 2018
Mclane is a nice play to work and the people are friendly.
I worked in the freezer and cooler. Sometimes mclane provide free lunch for their employees.
Pros
Free food sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable enough to maintain my livlihood
Environmental Technician (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAOctober 4, 2018
Long stressful hours with limited to no help. Managers barely around. The turnaround i this company were extremely high. The hours were good. Assignments were somewhat unreasonable, but management was very strict and unconcerned with employees needs.
Pros
pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Feeling of accomplishment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 3, 2018
Physically demanding job.. didn't need to work out doing this job. If you deliver your product with care and integrity you'll have success at this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold or Hot work environment
Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shawnee Mission, KSOctober 2, 2018
Just another decent paying job that wears your body out. Order select packages for 10+ hrs a day, building pallets of boxes that you then had to hand wrap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Selector/Picker (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAOctober 1, 2018
i loved working here great teammates great staff just really crowded its a small warehouse the hours were long. management was not that great didn't know how to handle high volume
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place
Driver check in,Trainer,Selector (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COSeptember 28, 2018
Paid well but stressfull job hours were always changing ,no weekends work required alot of moving on your feet. Company did reward employees , worked with many different employees . learned how to operate different equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McLane Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,433 reviews
5392
4407
3323
2154
1157

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss