Measurement Incorporated Employee Reviews

Showing all 106 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mixed Bag
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 11, 2019
Recent times have been difficult there with the company struggling financially. Because of that, the workplace culture has changed and a great deal of employee angst and dissatisfaction is rampant.
Pros
Casual dress; good and interesting colleagues; flexibility
Cons
Totally stagnant pay; lack of communication from management; unfair employee treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Reader (Former Employee) –  Wyoming, MINovember 20, 2018
I absolutely loved working for measurement incorporated. The work environment was very relaxing and easy paced. I would recommend this job to anyone who is looking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job when they have work for you.
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Taylor, MINovember 14, 2018
Inconsistent hours through the year.
Bad chairs and tables.
No perks except coffee and tea.
Mediocre pay.
When there is work the people are nice enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is not a long-term job, but is a great place to work.
Reader/Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 7, 2018
Daily grading of assessment tests each state has a different way of grading their test so each project has a different process to what you learn. The work that you do is very repetitive. If you listen you will work well with the company. The most enjoyable thing is that you get to read the amazing thing student say.
Pros
Very easy job
Cons
not enough projects to last the whole year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Employment
Reader/Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 10, 2018
I am not going to post an extensive review for this company as these were temporary positions. It is a good place to work for those needing just a few hours to supplement their income.
Cons
Assignments were temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reader Jobs
Reader/Scorer (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILSeptember 26, 2018
My first experience with this company, I drove nearly an hour for just better than minimum wage, I then moved to close to where the facility was and stayed for several seasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice temporary position
Temporary position for last two years (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 9, 2018
It was very relaxed but with deadlines. You have to tell your supervisor when you clock out for lunch and end of the day. Also,you are required to give your supervisor a paper count by the end of the day. That part is very stressing because you are never given a quota.
Pros
Nice supervisors on occasion
Cons
no benefits temporary position, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was important for children
Reader/Scorer (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MISeptember 7, 2018
Being a reader at Measurement Inc was designed to be part time and temporary. There were full time, permanent employees but that was not the case for readers and we knew this from day one. But the environment was pleasant, relaxed and comfortable. If they had maintained a local presence, I would still be working for them
Pros
low stress with all co-workers required to have a college degree, so we were compatible and on the same page
Cons
They left the area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work, great atmosphere
Grader/Reader (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 1, 2018
Great workplace culture. Enjoyed the assignments. Supportive team leaders and management. Reasonable expectations. Engaging coworkers. Spirit of achievement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and dedicated leaders and workers
Reader, Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCAugust 24, 2018
Site supervisor, scoring director, team leaders, and all other co workers make every effort to maintain a positive, productive work environment. While we are highly dedicated to the goals and quality of projects, there is a mostly a caring approach to the employees who carry out the set goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reader/Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Taylor, MI 48180July 31, 2018
Working for Measurement is a very rewarding and challenging experience. We are responsible for academic testing/scoring for various school systems throughout the U.S. Typical day consists of reading essays and term papers from varying students. Management is excellent and the work culture allows independence and fosters strong, positive employee relationships. The hardest part of the job is the work load. Last year as a group we scored approximately 230,000 essays/term papers.
Pros
Competent, well educated staff and management
Cons
Mentally demanding and tedius
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract work
Reader/ Evaluator of Educational Tests (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 30, 2018
For contract work, fair enough. I earned $13 hour. I was transferred to a different project (at my request) and then my supervisor was given so many new workers that he could not call me into the project, so I stayed unemployed for two months. This made it impossible for me to rely on unemployment, which the company very much relies on to keep a steady core of temporary readers. In this specific case I learned that management was incapable of standing up to the site supervisor, so it did not give me any great opinion of either him or the site supervisor. The most enjoyable part of the job is actually reading the papers, and interacting with the supervisors, who are all excellent. The hardest part about the workplace culture is everyone's anxiety about the next time they will be unemployed. Ridiculous, really, in Trump's America.
Pros
Being able to exercise your mind, . nice co-workers and supervisors
Cons
It is temporary, contract work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great contract job.
Reader/Evaluator (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, NCJuly 24, 2018
Seasonal contract work scoring student responses from all over the US. Working environment is great and management is very professional.You have to have the ability to sit and grade responses online for at least 7 hours a day intermittent breaks.
Pros
Free coffee and tea
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place With No Future
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 11, 2018
If I could give this company negative stars, I would. This is a terrible place to work and what does the incompetent management give long-time employees: layoff notice and 30 minutes to pack your stuff and get out. I’m talking employees who worked nearly 20 years or more! In the 1990’s, MI was a small company where people worked long hours, but it was a sense of family. As the unrealistic aspirations of a decaying management style grew, it took on more work than it knew it could handle, and burning out longtime employees along the way with lack of assistance, guidance, or pay. MI could not pull off a miracle with the State of Tennessee and lost the contract. As a result, many seasoned employees were let go. The company now has a skeleton crew and more layoffs are occurring. Just go ahead and close the doors: the company has been on life support for several years. What’s the purpose of trying to keep up a facade of a business that has lived beyond its usefulness?
Pros
None
Cons
Working There
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work from home opportunity
Reader/Evaluator (Current Employee) –  RemoteJuly 5, 2018
This a great remote opportunity for someone looking for supplemental income or additional income to their household. The pay is decent considering that you do not have to think about work attire, lunch money, and fighting morning and evening traffic.
Pros
Option for remote work location, paid training, good team leaders
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere working to improve education
Reader/Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 2, 2018
Management: accessible & professional
Workplace culture: all readers are college-graduates, causal and relaxed atmosphere
Most enjoyable part of job: conversations with colleagues: former educators, administrators, teachers, sales management professionals, advertising creatives/copywriters, psychologists, etc.
Pros
Endless coffee, multiple breaks, interesting work
Cons
Healthcare: not offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very reliable rating system for student papers.
Team member/ Reader (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 24, 2018
Employees (Readers) grade student papers but each paper is graded by at least two different individual readers and the grade is accepted only when the the grades assigned are the same or do not differ by more than one. When the assigned grades to the same paper differ by more that one, the paper is regraded by the supervisor. This strategy ensures that students' papers are graded reliably. Employees work in a relaxed friendly environment. A reader is let go if his scores to student papers do not agree to the scores of other readers.
Pros
Occasional meals provided by the management.
Cons
Working into the night in order to meet goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Senior Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 21, 2018
There are a number of hard-working people at MI who are wonderful co-workers. Management is very hands-off, which results in a lack of awareness/action on issues, technical and HR-related, within departments. The workplace culture is markedly unenthusiastic. Overall, MI was a good company that has not kept pace with the overall industry in regards to now standard practices in technology and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Measurement
Scorer (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCJune 19, 2018
Good job to have while in school. Long hours however sitting in a chair musing on the woeful state of education in the United States. It was a depressing job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reading Test Scores
Reader/Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIJune 13, 2018
This job entailed reading test responses written by students, and scoring them based on a rubric. The responses would be on a computer and the atmosphere was very relaxed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Measurement Incorporated. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 106 reviews
546
435
316
25
14

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight