MEC Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 129 reviews
Ratings breakdown
536
448
327
214
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 72 reviews matching the search See all 129 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A booming (pun intended) company with a great group of people
Production and Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kerman, CA 93630July 10, 2018
MEC was a fantastic place to work, the products are exciting and I was given plenty of freedom to carry out my duties as I saw fit. It is a great place for a new engineer and I am grateful to have gotten my start there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work good management and employees
Structural welder (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 3, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company there was never an issue with them they unfortunately after I left them went bankrupt and shut down wile I was there though I learned many skills that I hadn't had before to add to my work ethics overall great place
Pros
Family friendly
Cons
Went under it smelled bad because of the fish meal warehouse beside it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but enjoyable
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, WVMay 2, 2018
I enjoyed the work and liked that it was usually close to home. There are many other oppertunities and skills to learn. I liked that it was laid back but enjoyed the fast pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with many qualified people
Estimator Prototype (Former Employee) –  Mayville, WIApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed working for Mayville Engineering Company, the work was exciting and fast paced and the people were experienced. MEC had a very good benefits package and vacation schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job if you are just starting out in the work force
Hazmat Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCApril 23, 2018
i have no regrets choosing to work here at MEC, the job treated me fairly and i was compensated very well fro the work i did. the job was most difficult when we were out for at least 3-5 days working 10 hours a day. the workplace is very comfortable you are usually on your own or with a team.
Pros
great experience starting out
Cons
you will end up not working many hours if there is no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MSApril 19, 2018
I enjoyed my learning experience with this company. I got a chance to operate machines I never knew anything about. A typical day at the job I would bend over five hundred water tubes. There really is nothing hard about the job. And the most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers
Pros
New experiences
Cons
The company's three point system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started from the bottom.
Negotiator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 12, 2018
a good place to get started in the media industry. it was a fast paced environment with intelligent people. long work hours. and the hardest part of the job was meeting hard deadlines.
Pros
job security
Cons
stressful atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment was awful
Layout welder (Former Employee) –  Byron Center, MIApril 5, 2018
It was an uncomfortable place to work. To much drama created by management. Not a lot of direction or on floor participation. A lot of personal pick and choose
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is stedy
Welder/ Maintenace (Current Employee) –  Greenwood, SCMarch 14, 2018
It's a good company to work for the employees are wonderful and I like my job but need 1st or 3rd shift.
The benefits are great and the pay is reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun place to work
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Byron Center, MIFebruary 6, 2018
They were putting more and more rules on us.i would of went back to work for this company.They did not contact me.when i left i gave them a month notice they told me i was welcome back.it was a lie.
Pros
na
Cons
work lots of over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Paint Line Supervisor/Chemical Tech (Former Employee) –  Beaver Dam, WIJanuary 24, 2018
They did a pretty good job taking care of us. I didn't really like that I had to work so much. I'd would go back but I can't work those hours anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and outdoors
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Mount Morris, PAJanuary 22, 2018
we had safety meetings every morning before work. we got told our task to do and I got all the tools we needed out of the truck and pulled to the work site. there was a lot of movement and equipment so we all watched out for each others safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmm. Stressful. with no help from upper managmentl.
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Mayville, WIJanuary 4, 2018
Well that job would tell you last minute hey your working overtime. if you want to work for mec you better be dedicated to them other then the family you live with. the really wont bother with the personal issues if they happen to arise in your life
Pros
very little
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company
APPRENTICE ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIDecember 18, 2017
Best work staff and boss in the trade. Showed care and concern for my family. Never tried to get over on me. Was extremely knowledgable in the electrical field. Was more then fair with wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Pipe Fitters Helper (Former Employee) –  Renovo, PADecember 15, 2017
They don't like giving raises but hard work and enough time and they will take care of you the guys are really good to work for just need common sense and a want to learn
Pros
Perdium
Cons
Hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and they work with you on scheduling
Manufacturing Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MIDecember 8, 2017
The management team was great they worked with u on scheduling the hours was great we never worked weekends or holidays I really loved this company everybody there was great
Pros
Free lunches great management
Cons
We didnt get paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place will you can learn and pick up on several new things.
Electrical/Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDDecember 8, 2017
It was my 1st time working a trade I learned a lot from a lot of people it was good people to work with. Every day was a learning experience and they were very patient.
Pros
It was a career.
Cons
It took 4 years to reach maximum pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not terible to work for
Welders Helper (Current Employee) –  Shinnston, WVSeptember 23, 2017
its really not a bad place to work for but they dont pay the best and dont always keep you working. the people there are amazing and frendly. but they dont give rases to no one.
Pros
good company to start out at
Cons
dont expect a rais
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Partner, Senior Digital Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 13, 2017
I was treated very well during my tenure of nearly 10 years. Management was generally great & I was consistently afforded many opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New owner bought out old company to aquire the customers.
Set Up Technician (Former Employee) –  Wayland, MISeptember 6, 2017
Much of the work we had been doing was shipped to another plant. We were not shipping on time due to management and pour support and direction from upper management. Shortly after leaving, All employees were given the option of unemployment or to take a $4 pay cut.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight