Media One Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 31 reviews
Ratings breakdown
512
47
310
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 31 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced
wearhouse worker (Former Employee) –  UtahFebruary 2, 2018
management sucks. however it is a good place to work and when your part time you only have to work.three days one of them has to be a Saturday........
Pros
quick paced
Cons
management sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 4, 2017
A typical day working at Media was exciting. II learned how to reset cable boxes. Management did their job and treated everyone fairly. The hardest part was getting an irate customer and nothing you did pleased them. The most enjoyable part of the job meeting new people.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok while it lasted
Sweep Technician/Construction Technician (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CASeptember 16, 2017
This company was bought out by Time Warner. Media One was the name given prior to the transition to Time Warner from Paragon Cable. Very highly nepotistic environment to work in due to the longevity of the remaining employees who previously worked for Paragon Cable. Difficult to advance because of this issue.
Pros
Good work/Life balance
Cons
Nepotistic Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Unknown (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJanuary 18, 2017
Not suitable for my needs. I have gotten useful and valuable experience. I have learned a lot about working under stress.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Consultant Y2K Tester (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILOctober 17, 2016
Worked with this company for a short period of time. Started as trainee and then moved to a full time QA position. Good Management and friendly environment., Benefits were not as good though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Kearns, UTJanuary 4, 2016
Come to work and be given a number, advertisement to feed into a hopper so it can be ready to be shipped out to state store and people's house.
Pros
Safe work envorment, Freindly employees
Cons
Short work weeks, no health care for part-timers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Inbound/Outbound Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 24, 2015
I had one of the best sales manager ever. He taught of strategies that made me an excellent closer. The sales force was great because everyone was focused on exceeding the sales quota and making money. There was little time for anything other than a competitive environment, working smart, and celebrating excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love driving to diferent locations, never at the same place
TELECOMMUNICATIONS CONTRACTOR (Former Employee) –  culver city californiaFebruary 1, 2015
as a contractor you always learn to work with people. I am a trouble shooter by nature I love to fix problems in telecommunications and this was the best place to get a lot of good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with other workers and breaking whenever i wanted.
Paper Delivery (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJanuary 11, 2015
a typical day at work was package papers then deliver them.

i learned about time management and memory skills.

management said get the work done and you keep your job.

only met a few of my co-workers but they helped me alot.

hardest part was keeping time on schedule.

i enjoyed driving constantly.
Pros
lots of driving, no traffic and ate whenever and wore whatever i needed to get job done.
Cons
time was very short and customers where not always nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For strong manager with leadership skills.
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake CityNovember 17, 2014
I worked for years there, and while the paper distribution numbers where decreasing for the company, I still did a great job. It is more difficult now to maintain the numbers due to the high gas prices and low pay for carriers who distribute the papers to the customers and with circulation decreasing and area of delivers becoming larger to keep number of deliveries up carriers to make money. It makes it harder for carriers to maintain vehicles and pay the gas prices, so the job as a manager is very challenging in that they have to pick up the slack of carriers not doing their job and not being able to keep them on the routes for more than a week at a time. The most enjoyable part of the job is the freedom to work things out the way you want to and being outside in the fresh air. It is great if you don't mind the challenge.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
Work to many hours (salary)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a hard working place to work at there was no time for playing games
Warehouse/ Driver (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLNovember 15, 2014
A hard company to work for everything went by the book which is a good thing
Pros
We had free lunches at the end of every month
Cons
we had breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive days
Sales (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILNovember 15, 2014
successful experience in Customer Service strengths in account maintenance, problem solving and troubleshooting staff support and planning/ implementing procedures.incoming calls, checking account billing issues, explain billing cycle to customers, turning on and off cable through computer, upgrade accounts, sales, answer all incoming calls helping with lead supervisor issues.
Pros
monthly incentives
Cons
schedule horrible at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
Electronics Technician/maintenance (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTAugust 23, 2014
Good place to work. Different stuff to do daily due to most work was service electrical work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
installer of telephone systems
TELEPHONE SERVICE AND INSTALLER (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIJune 1, 2014
installed the telephone systems thru cable lines prior to the modern systems. this was the top level of the installers.
Pros
company van
Cons
company sold to comcast soon after getting hired
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Below Average
Contractor (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTApril 7, 2014
I worked as an independent contractor. The company was not well run and employees were not valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fun Fun Call Center
Customer Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAFebruary 7, 2014
Lots of daily fun activities from our vendors
Pot Lucks and prizes

Management was always around and assisted you when you needed help.

Having shift changes every 6mths and not knowing what hours you would have.

Fun activities and Prizes
Pros
Everything
Cons
PPV Calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telephone sales
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, OHFebruary 3, 2014
I contacted customers and tried to sell them ad space on vinyl telephone book covers. This was aimed at businesses and involved a lot of cold calling.
Pros
I got to speak with a variety of people.
Cons
Very little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive,healthy fun workplace
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 25, 2013
pick up daily newspapers to be dropped off for delivery, drove company van, logged daily mileage ,enjoyed meeting people, nice place to work,hardest part was the lifting of the bundled papers
Pros
raises, &opportunity of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Advertising Company
Sales Account Executive (Current Employee) –  UtahAugust 28, 2013
Advertising, printing, online, direct mail. Great earning potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission based sales job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 12, 2013
Door to door sales, apt installs, sold service then installed on the spot. Enjoyed the opportunity to meet new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport