MedStar Georgetown University Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 338 reviews matching the search See all 342 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I may recommend
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 14, 2018
Dead end position they only promote clinical staff and positions i love the people there though the day to day work is basically the same everyday not too challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to employees
American Mobile Travel Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 11, 2018
very good place to work, caring people, MD's and staff interested in teaching and educating staff in new procedures, I would recommend working at this hospital, it a RN wants to learn the most updated information in the health care industy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laugh out loud
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 2, 2018
I really can’t say nothing good about Georgetown honestly, you have to work there and find out for yourself, Medstar Georgetown hospital not what you think it is.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management, Hr
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with competitive benefits package
Locksmith1 (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 30, 2018
I advanced from maintenance mechanic to Locksmith1. Medstar is a very large corporation. Our department's management has been challenging. I've learned that healthcare can be a rewarding career. My favorite part of the job is having great comradery. Medstar offers a very diverse working culture.
Pros
Union position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No parking
Former patient care (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 30, 2018
Be aware employees are not allowed to park in the Hospital, then you have to take the metro and two buses to go to the Hospital or park in Virginia.
It's HORRIBLE.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Manager and parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ob/gyn was a good department to work for
Department of OB GYN (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 16, 2018
This was a good department to work for. The managers care about the employees well being and are very supportive. The work load was managable. I would highly reommed geoge town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Hospital is very advanced and very good hospital.
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 16, 2018
I admire the Management. I got more experience if instrument assembling and Decontamination. The hardest part of the job is Decontamination. The most enjoyable part of the job and my favorite is assembling.
Pros
i appreciate the Management
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Assistant /Receptionist
Medical Assistant /Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 12, 2018
Provided customer service, retrieved, sorted and distributed both inner-office and postal mail and FedEx packages, scheduled appointments, chart compilation, checked patients in/out, verified insurance, collected co-pay, and prepped IVs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool workplace
Inventory Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 9, 2018
It can get stressful sometimes at Georgetown but over all its a good place to work. It's more friendly people there than it is mean. It's a fast paced work environment at times but you kind of get used to it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked part time in radiology and mri was always chaotic because vip’s were catered to over regular insurance paying patients.
Radiologic Technologist/ Mri technologist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 29, 2018
Work schedule was always chaotic.
Manager was abusive verbally in the presence of patients.
I enjoyed learning new protocols from the teaching environment
Pros
People were friendly
Cons
Work schedule was chaotic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to retire if in the right field
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 28, 2018
I enjoy working with my co workers. There are alot of positive attitudes. The hardest part of my job is when I have to deliver any bad news to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Certified Office Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20007September 20, 2018
Most days are very productive. Everyone works together well. This is a very professional environment. Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and seeing so many friendly faces everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Lead Medical Assistant/Senior Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 19, 2018
Georgetown is a very good company to work for. Everyone is super nice and the hours are very flexible. Only bad part is that employees can't park on campus due to comnstruction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do it their way
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 12, 2018
Do it their way or no way.No room for suggestions or retribution will follow for insubordination. Tow the company line and do not make friends or pay for that too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plastic Surgery
Patient Registration Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2018
The environment seems pleasurable and conducive until you settle in and being to learn the ends and outs of that department. There is no growth, there is no support from manage, and there is no teamwork. Everyone has to fend for themselves and the management is non existent. Personally, I would stay away from this department if you ar looking for career growth.
Pros
Company benefits
Cons
Work environment/management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clinical Trials Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 16, 2018
It is a very divers work environment and a good place to work if your under great management. Working for this company you will learn about life and the importance of working with other people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Physicians and Engaged Hospital Leadership
Executive Department Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 12, 2018
The medical care provided at this hospital was fantastic. The highest levels of the executive leadership team were inclusive in their strategic visions and very helpful to assist as needed/asked. All levels of the hospital were very approachable. Some lower level employees were unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding
Lead, Patient Financial Representative (Current Employee) –  MarylandJuly 31, 2018
Medstar is a company that is continuously growing. The upper management team is very accessible, you can talk to them about anything. The tuition reimbursement program has helped with my success in the healthcare industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture of grand ideas, poor execution
Volunteer Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 26, 2018
Leadership seems strongly driven to improve patient experience and the hospital as a whole. They do, however, tend to tell people how to do the jobs they hired these folks to do. If your suggestion as the accountable/responsible associate does not fit their expectation, they will tell you how to do it, regardless of your initial plans or recommendations. Their motivations are pure, but execution tends to be dismal.

Truly a patient first environment, but also pretty competitive. I have had multiple leaders who don't allow their direct reports to shine and thrive, instead they take the credit and micro-manage that person to be in the know about exactly what they are doing.

Parking is also offsite in Roslyn for many associates (certainly all new associates) must park in a garage, walk to the shuttle bus stop, ride the bus to campus, and then either ride a golf cart or walk up a 1/4 mile hill to the hospital campus.

Overall rewarding work, but there's some frustration when your own leadership becomes an obstacle to success.
Pros
Good benefits, Great culture
Cons
Poor management techniques, offsite employee parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Endoscopy Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 25, 2018
I enjoyed working here and they take really good care of their patients and employees. The support we recieved as employees was great and as a result this is past on to their patients.
Pros
support
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 342 reviews
5128
4111
382
29
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

MedStar Georgetown University Hospital Reviews by Location