Menards Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 4,415 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5978
41.5K
31.2K
2428
1253
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 4,397 reviews matching the search See all 4,407 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Marshfield, WIJune 18, 2018
I worked here through college and I loved it. Excellent pay and benefits, work is fun, customers can be kind of annoying but mostly okay. Some managers are awesome, but some can be annoying.
Pros
Great pay and benefits, fun work enviornment
Cons
Higher management doesn't listen to complaints
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethic reccomended
Receiving Department Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIJune 18, 2018
There is always work to do in every department which are all relatively independent but if you ever found a way to get board you'd be welcome to help someone in an adjacent department.
Pros
weekend pay incentivve is a huge plus
Cons
accountability is lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use a lot more structure
Floorcoverings First Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNJune 18, 2018
The employees of Menards work long hours away from their families for a job that doesn't show appreciation for their employees. There are so many communication gaps between the stressed out general management and the departments, and the stress trickles all the way down into the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers, relaxing atmosphere.
ELECTRICAL DEPARTMENT Morning Stocker (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 18, 2018
Typical day at work is morning stock crew and electrical sales associate. Learned computer systems and inventory procedures.
Management is professional and helpful and trains associates very well. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the store customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Menards was a good job for me in college. But it hard see how make a career out of it I have heard pay has increase so it may be more competive.
Yard worker and Fork Lift driver (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIJune 18, 2018
Menards was a good job for me in college. But it hard see how make a career out of it unless store manager. But with more completive wage it may be ok.
Pros
great workers
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
WALLCOVERINGS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJune 17, 2018
A great place to work with great managers and a great team. You are always learning and always being challenged. This company really cares about who you are.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job
Kitchen Designer, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJune 17, 2018
Enjoyed helping people visualize their new kitchens.
Some furniture assembly required, stocking of product.
Mostly friendly staff, well run.
As so often the case in most jobs, supervisor often stressed.
Enjoyed assisting people in solving their problems and needs.
Pros
Clean, well organized staff mostly friendly and helpful.
Cons
You could advance in learning more about your dept. and product, but it was on your unpaid time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Hardware Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 17, 2018
Held many positions at Menards and I was able to work as a hardware manager after a very short amount of time with the company. a persons had work allows them to transfers throughout the store.
Pros
extra hours availible
Cons
work life balance is non existant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst.
Cashier/Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJune 16, 2018
Here’s the thing. If you’re applying at Menards to make friends. Do it. The people there are very fun to work with. But if you are applying there to do the work.. please stay far far away from this place. The front end management would talk about their cashiers and start uneeded drama.. one time when I had the flu I called them and told them I couldn’t be there. They told me I didn’t have a choice, and that i had to come in, because they already had 3 call in’s that day. The management only gets annoyed when you make a mistake. They don’t try to make you better.. all they do is stress you out. If you work here. Plan on only liking it for about a week.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dolton, ILJune 15, 2018
When ours was my first job and this was a steppingstone for other opportunitiesWhen I provide great benefit for those who need it and a flexible schedule
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for students or retired individuals
Cashier Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Waite Park, MNJune 15, 2018
Menards is a good place for students to learn job skills and good communication skill as your constantly dealing with customers. It is not the ideal place to work for a full time career as the pay is not high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Management and Supply Chain Intern (Current Employee) –  Iron Ridge, WIJune 14, 2018
show up, work, and leave. not much supervision but not allowed to do what you want. long work hours especially for management. lots of incentive programs to help encourage people to work safe and so on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a stressful job, they are understanding when it comes to home life
Delivery Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Big Rapids, MIJune 14, 2018
Menards pays well, offer certain benefits. But they expect to much from people at times. They expect every department to know about every department and to go above and beyond to create guest service even if that means making there employees unhappy and stressed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSJune 14, 2018
I always loved working at Menards. Unfortunately due to some family health issues i had to move back home. Menards is a great place to work and provides plenty of opportunities for growth. If you have a compassion for sales and you are driven to succeed i would highly recommend Menards as a employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and bad co workers
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 13, 2018
No one taught me how to do my job and co workers are very quiet and boring I dread going to work. The job is bad and I dont k ow what to do cuz np one teaches the newbies and managers are weird.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Cashier/ Carry-Out (Former Employee) –  Fremont, NEJune 13, 2018
Work environment is very busy and an on going process to learn new jobs along the way. Very friendly work environment if you do your job like they hired you to. Also others depend on others to complete their job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, but friendly!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MIJune 13, 2018
The co-workers are brilliant, everyone helps out when they can or if something needs to be done and the managers at the Front End were great! They were attentive of their cashiers and were quick to help if there was a dispute.
I learned a great deal about handling customer service and the training programs were fairly simple, but informative!
The hardest part about it was initially adjusting to the lanes and constant traffic of the guests! Or zero traffic, as the case may be.
Getting to know people as they would come in periodically was great fun, met some very good people while working there, coworkers and guests!
Pros
Good atmosphere, Engaging Teammates
Cons
Shorter breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Coworkers and Managers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carmel, INJune 13, 2018
I loved working here! Everyone was always friendly and never had issues with many other coworkers. Very fast paced environment. Loved every second of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
1st assistant receiving manager (Current Employee) –  Hammond, INJune 12, 2018
Menards isnt a hard job. They expect you to work your butt off for limited pay. Raises are only .10¢ every 6 months, hours are tough on a sleep schedule. Rarely get a full 8 hours of sleep consistently due to the work schedule.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Tough management, difficult work schedule, cannot leave on time often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviornment, mildly demanding
Cart Attendant - Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Melrose Park, ILJune 12, 2018
The Melrose park Menard's location has a friendly environment, flexible hours,and working weekends gives a slight but noticeable bonus the best part is it's optional; the only hard part about working there was being under staffed which made the pay rate rather void especially if your working as courtesy patrol sadly this issue wasn't isolated to my department hopefully this is no long a problem they have to deal with. Management can be more or less rigorous so brace yourself, if you stick to the rules keep out of trouble then you should be good.
Pros
flexible hours, extra pay if working the weekend
Cons
under staffed, strict management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Menards. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight