MEnD Correctional Care Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run company
Full Time Employee (Current Employee) –  Central MNApril 19, 2018
MEnD is run by a very small number of people. There is no system of checks and balances. You’re expected to work well over 40 hours a week with no overtime or flex time. They are losing contracts with counties and job security is non-existent.
Pros
Pay is decent
Cons
Poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 11, 2018

Thank you for your time reviewing our company.

If you're currently still employed, we encourage you to bring any concerns to your Director. If you are not comfortable with this, you're welcome to speak to me in Human Resources.

The portion about working over 40 hours/week is something we'd like to connect with you about. Please reach out to us about this to review your timecard.

We can assist with the utilization of our Open Door Policy. We look forward to hearing from you.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
APRN (Current Employee) –  Minnesota City, MNMarch 20, 2018
Busy, productive and no dull moment.
Great collaboration with MD, MHP and Nursing staff.
Some days are longer than others.
Most enjoyable part was the staff
Hardest part was the driving, especially in the winter months
Pros
Independence, variety of cases that promote learning
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 11, 2018

Thank you for your review! We're glad to read about your positive experience overall. As you mentioned, our staff members are truly amazing.

Your time reviewing us is greatly appreciated.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part timer point of view
Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNDecember 6, 2017
I had no problems, no benefits applied to me due to being part time. The time I did work for MEnD I had no problems with the job nor staff. If down the line it works out for my family and their is an opening. I will definitely re-apply.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 11, 2018

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you would "definitely re-apply". The Health Technician position seemed to be a great fit for you which we're glad to hear. It's a wonderful opportunity for sure.

We hope all is going well and maybe our paths will cross in the future. We wish you the best.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RN (Current Employee) –  Central MNAugust 2, 2017
I started at this company as a health tech over a year ago. I worked this and another job while in school for nursing. One of the nursing directors approached me with about a semester and a half left of school and told me to let her know when I would be taking boards as she wanted me to stay with the company. I did so and when it came down to it, they offered me a job before graduating and before taking boards. This company has been so flexible for me since I have been here. The management is great and easy to talk to. I recommend this company and will to everyone who asks!

The environment is not for everyone. I would say that is one reason why there is a faster turnover rate. However, as mentioned previously, the staff are open and easy to talk to. I bring my problems to them and we resolve them quickly. They are always willing to speak with you about what's going on without jumping to conclusions.

I'm usually always busy. I would say this is a perk of this job. Also, you get to see so much and get great opportunities to try your hand at things you wouldn't at a clinic or hospital. Most of it is clinic work but you also are able to respond to emergent situations which is super interesting!

Great place to work and learn!
Pros
Pay, reimbursements, staff, management
Cons
short staffing and some facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
August 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your position with us. We're happy to hear of your experience and appreciate your time and years of service with us. We also appreciate seeing that your concerns are addressed when they're brought up. We're firm believers in offering opportunities for advancement and we're glad you experienced this first hand.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not for everyone but once you find your niche it is great.
Health Technician (Current Employee) –  Elk River, MNMay 26, 2017
Typical day includes vitals, passing medications, and assisting the nurses.

I learned so much about the agencies.

Management is great.

BUSY all the time.

Hardest part of the job is learning how to adjust to the environment. It is not for everyone.

Most enjoyable part of the job is coworkers.
Pros
Fast paced and great coworkers.
Cons
Workload is quite a bit and short staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
October 11, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and review. Your illustration of the environment paints a good picture for our incoming candidates. Busy is a constant, especially at your facility. We're glad you found your "niche" as you called it and we're happy you're on our team.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelieveable Teamwork Environment
Training Director (Current Employee) –  Waite Park, MNApril 28, 2017
I have worked for a few different companies in my past and am hard pressed to remember a better team environment.
MEnD is very team focused and believes in open communication as well as a positive work environment.
Upper management is very supportive and open to suggestions and appreciate input and previous experience. Your opinions are considered and your concerns are addresses, no matter what position you hold in this company.
The work environment is one of the safest I've experience as a Register Nurse and our customers truly appreciate the services we provide.
I thoroughly enjoy going to work everyday and look forward to advancing my career as well as being part of this team for the foreseeable future.
Pros
Family freindly schedules, Great team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
October 11, 2017

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that the work environment involving our Open Door Policy has been positive. We're also glad to hear your mention of the safety aspect as well. It truly is one of the safest places to work. We appreciate your feedback and we're glad you're on our team.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding with no recognition
Health Tech (Former Employee) –  Superior, WIApril 26, 2017
Worked for mend correctional for several years new supervisor inexperienced and let the nurses run the show with disrespect for inmates and tech and if the nurses don't like you they target you and lie to cover their inappropriateness. Constantly on the phone asking for staff to work with no regards to your responsibilities and no appreciation when you do help not a company I would recommend
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 1, 2017

At MEnD Correctional Care welcome and encourage open conversation and feedback from our employees. Having the ability to potentially solve and resolve an employee's issue/concern is what we encourage. The last thing we would want to happen is to not have our employees bring comments, concerns, and questions to our attention. Without the knowledge from our employees first and foremost we cannot assess the situation at hand. We expect this from our employees. We encourage our employees to provide feedback. This gives our employees the opportunity to voice any questions or concerns during their employment with us.

Our patients and their care is #1 for all who are employed by MEnD. Our staff are trained and also held to the highest standard regarding our patients, their treatment, interactions, and their overall care. If there's ever concerns regarding this, it's required to be brought to our attention to ensure standards are being met and policies/procedures are followed.

We strive to ensure that everyone is appreciated and compensated for going above and beyond their normal job duties. There are practices in place for this which are openly discussed during our interviews. Without our employees, there wouldn't' be MEnD.

We also encourage our clinic employees to inform us of their work loads and their ability or inability to take their meal breaks. This is something we monitor and take seriously. Our employees are the eyes and the ears of the clinics and we rely on them to inform their supervisors first and foremost when things are going well and when they feel things can  more... be improved.

MEnD practices and informs current employees and external candidates of our open door policy and desire to help new hires succeed in their roles. We expect and need our current employees and new hires to inform us of any questions, comments, or concerns in order for us to assist.
  less

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace full of opportunities!
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Waite Park, MNApril 20, 2017
MEnD is a terrific company who values their employees and is also known throughout the industry for the high-quality health care services we provide our patients. Everyone dreams about finding their career, their home... I believe MEnD is my career “home”! I have been with MEnD for over 3 years and every day is familiar yet different and unique. While MEnD is constantly growing, upper management strives to keep the small business feel.

Growth would not be possible without the employees, structure, and leadership MEnD currently has. MEnD is dedicated to ensure their employees are equipped with the knowledge and tools to be successful in their roles. MEnD provides and encourages both professional growth and educational opportunities for employees to pursue and continue reaching their goals.

MEnD strives to be the best in the industry for not only our clients and patient population but also for our employees. MEnD has several ways in which employees are acknowledged, rewarded, and recognized. MEnD also has excellent benefits: health benefits, 401k (with a substantial employer match and vesting structure), competitive compensation, employee appreciation, etc.

I'd recommend a position with MEnD to anyone looking to find their "home." Be a part of a team that is knowledgeable, appreciative, and works towards the same goal of being the best in correctional healthcare.
Pros
Excellent benefit package, supportive, knowledgable teammates & management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
April 24, 2017

Thank you for your feedback about our company. We are happy to hear about your experience and we're glad you're part of our team.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
RN Supervisor (Current Employee) –  IowaApril 15, 2017
Worked for this company a little over a year and have loved every moment of it.
An amazing Administrative Team along with incredible staff all around.
Benefits are fantastic - Pay is great.
Staff appreciation like no other!! Wow!
Tremendous growth over the years - Very excited for this company to continue to grow even more through the state of Iowa.
Pros
Growth Potential - Great CoWorkers - Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
April 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you like where things are going. Happy to have you on board with us.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting yet challenging work environment
Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  MNApril 4, 2017
Mend has been an excellent place to work! I have grown overall as a nurse from my skills, to critical thinking, to recently managing. Continued education thru conferences along with receiving my CCHP is a few of the ways Mend has given me the opportunity to grow. I also appreciate Mend's intent with helping inmates gain appropriate healthcare and mental health needs so perhaps they can succeed upon release. We have a great team which continues to learn together as the company grows.
Pros
Education, work-life balance
Cons
Challenging to keep up with growth at time yet team is adaptable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very interesting area of Nursing to work in
Clinic Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNMarch 28, 2017
This is a very hard working group of people that supply health care to a population of people that don't necessarily have access to the best facilities - other than the one they are incarcerated in.
Pros
Hard working, dedicated people.
Cons
Not much advancement available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
March 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and comments and for your time with our company. We hope the best for you in your future endeavors. Have a wonderful weekend.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Nursing Director (Current Employee) –  Elk River, MNMarch 19, 2017
Great place to work for highly motivated individuals. Fast paced with teamwork atmosphere. Excellent opportunity for advancement. Support from all employees to make clinic run smooth. Appreciation shown to employees in a variety of ways from employee awards, training opportunities, and various acknowledgements. High standards set for all facilities large to small to provide high quality care.
Pros
Team atmosphere, advancement opportunities, quality training, supportive management
Cons
Rapid growth in patient population
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 1, 2017

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're glad you're feeling there's excellent opportunities for advancement and support. Happy to have you on board with us.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company with a HUGE heart!
Nursing Director (Current Employee) –  Waite Park, MNFebruary 21, 2017
I have been working with this company for almost half a year now and I have to admit I have never been more satisfied with any previous place of employment. The MEnD team is fabulous from the top down. I have learned so much in such a short time and learn something new everyday. Each employee has been more then willing to educate and support me every step of the way. Management and office staff has been amazing in recognizing the importance of a work-life balance and frequently stresses this importance. I will retire here! I am so proud to be part of a team so focused on providing the best possible care to such an underserved population.
Pros
Wonderful management, employee centered, great benefits, great working environment with a great TEAM, competitive wages, bonuses/benefits and other added "perks", fabulous opportunity for advancement within the company
Cons
none to think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
April 17, 2017

WOW! Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear this feedback. We're glad your experience has been positive and you're getting the support you need. Thank you for being a part of our team.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Striving for Excellence
RN (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MNDecember 31, 2016
I have been with MeND Correctional Care for 1 year. This company strives to make sure that it treats it's employees well. There are a lot of perks that come along with working for this company. Christmas gifts for each employee, travel reimbursement, birthday gifts, numerous opportunities to go to conferences, food/drink/hotel, etc. The owner of the company is a doctor and is always willing to take calls and take time to listen to his employees. They treat their employees fairly. You will hear grumbles here and there, but that is going to happen with any employer. These folks truly care about making sure the employee is educated, safe, and happy.
Pros
Safety in workplace, Co-Workers, Leadership Staff, Providers, Pay, Travel Opportunity, Career education
Cons
Lots of Turnover with Health Tech Position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 21Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 1, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you like the company perks and employee recognition. Happy to have you on board with us.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend this company
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Superior, WIDecember 18, 2016
This company is run by self serving unprofessionals. They have no real experience and are unprofessional in their decisions. They make so called professional decisions based on their personal feelings. Mend does not support their staff and if there is an allegation made against a staff member there is no investigation into claims and once this happens watch out! You are now on their hit list and nothing you do or say no longer contains any merit. Even serious claims/report against other employees go ignored or barely given any notice as they have their eyes on that one employee. Also reports of very unprofessional behavior are very true and continues to this day.
Pros
health benefits
Cons
Horrible management, no staff support, no reimbursement for working overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
January 9, 2017

MEnD brings over 30 years of combined experience in ambulatory care, correctional care, and public health nursing. The credentialing of our employees ranges from CNA/CMA/TMA/HHA, to PsyD & MD. Our company and training structure also provide opportunities to those seeking a career in health care who don't currently hold any credentials or experience. We pride ourselves in providing the ability for career growth and educational advancement for our MEnD team. Employee appreciation is a large part of our company. Employees are compensated fairly for going above and beyond their normal duties. Our practices regarding this are openly discussed during the interviewing process. We make sure our employees know their work is appreciated in several ways. Without our employees, there wouldn't be MEnD.

The business we conduct is based off a solid operational structure derived from experience, research, and keeping abreast of the pertinent rules and regulations our industry requires. Our entire business is based off of sound practices and we function at a high level with safety & security, ethics, and legalities in the forefront.

MEnD practices and informs current employees and external candidates of our open door policy and desire to help new hires succeed in their roles. We expect and need our current employees and new hires to inform us of any questions, comments, or concerns in order for us to assist. We strive to provide our employees and new hires the Expectations, Training, and Tools to perform in their roles to the highest degree possible. If we are made aware of an employee's  more... need for additional training or support, we will listen with open ears and help as much as possible to ensure success.

Concerns brought to our attention will and have been reviewed to determine the next steps that need to be taken for the situation at hand. Reports are taken seriously and with importance. Retaliation is prohibited in our company and is not tolerated. Our employees are assured of this and are encouraged to bring questions, comments, or concerns to their supervisor's attention and to utilize the proper chain of command.
  less

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Elk River, MNNovember 30, 2016
Upbeat atmosphere, serious care. I have never worked in a place where the people worked so well and in tuned with each other. The opportunities to learn are endless.
Pros
Atmosphere and positive attitude
Cons
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 14Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 1, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you feel people are so well in tune with each other and the opportunities to learn are ample. Happy to have you on board with us.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think Twice
RN (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 1, 2016
There are a lot of red flags with this company such as unprofessional relationships, poor pay, poor benefits, and lack of support from management. They will throw you under the bus if your thoughts/ ideas don't match theirs. The training is poor which sets employees up for trouble. Keep looking because there are many other options out there.
Pros
Day hours
Cons
pay, benefits, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 3Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
November 9, 2016

At MEnD Correctional Care welcome and encourage open conversation and feedback from our employees. Having the ability to potentially solve and resolve an employee's issue/concern is what we encourage. The last thing we would want to happen is to not have our employees bring comments, concerns, and questions to our attention. Without the knowledge from our employees first and foremost we cannot assess the situation at hand. We expect this from our employees. We encourage our employees to provide feedback. This gives our employees the opportunity to voice any questions or concerns during their employment with us.

Our Nursing Directors are always available via phone, email or in person and make it a point to address any concerns as quickly as possible. Our training module in place has a minimum hour requirement in which we will provide more training if the employee expresses concern or discomfort in certain areas. Again we encourage and expect our new hires and employees to let us know of any areas where they want or need additional training. We are more than happy to provide more training to make sure our employees are 100% with the information needed to perform their role.

We strive to provide the best experience for our employees as possible. We make sure to address any questions during the interview process and allow ample time for questions from our candidates to ensure the candidates understand our company, position, work environment, and culture as clearly as possible.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intrestting work enviroment
Lead Health Tech (Current Employee) –  Brainerd, MNMay 29, 2016
continuously changing, work with an interesting clientel, bussy work, work with potentially difficult patients, typical day is giving medication to the patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
May 1, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you like where things are going. Happy to have you on board with us.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis-Saint Paul, MNApril 27, 2016
I worked for this company for 3 years. It was the worst company I have ever worked for. I was salaried and short staffed so they made me work almost 50 hours over. This happend more then once and I didn't receive anything in return. They take from you but never give back. I spent so much time away from my family and they didn't care. I invested 3 years into this company and it was not worth it. If you are not a nurse they don't give you any credit for anything you do. I can't count how many times I did not take a lunch break because we were short staffed and I needed to get my work done and they still took 30 minutes out everyday. Even the jail we worked at was getting sick of them and threatened to not renew our contract. Do not apply for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 77No 2Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
January 9, 2017

MEnD Correctional Care has a high awareness of the work-life balance along with employee appreciation. We spend time ensuring each facility has the necessary staff to function at the highest level possible. There are, have been, and will be times of short staffing due to circumstances out of our control. During those times our employees have come together as a team for the success of the clinic, patients, our clients, and company. We are known for and represent high quality care. We are known for this due to the dedication and hard work of our employees. While credentials are not necessary for some of the positions we have, the credentials or licensure a candidate/employee has, can allow for additional responsibilities in their role. Credentials are also taken into consideration in regards to compensation.

While we do employ both exempt and non exempt employees within our company, we ensure that everyone is appreciated and compensated for going above and beyond their normal job duties. There are practices in place for this which are openly discussed during our interviews. Without our employees, there wouldn't' be MEnD.

We strongly encourage employees to take their meal breaks and inform our employees of what to do to ensure a break can be taken. We also encourage our clinic employees to inform us of their work loads and their ability or inability to take their meal breaks. This is something we monitor and address once it's made known to us. Our employees are the eyes and the ears of the clinics and we rely on them to inform their supervisors first and foremost when  more... things are going well and when they feel things can be improved.

MEnD practices and informs current employees and external candidates of our open door policy and desire to help new hires succeed in their roles. We expect and need our current employees and new hires to inform us of any questions, comments, or concerns in order for us to assist.
  less

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A suck up's paradise.
RN Staff (Former Employee) –  Central MNApril 7, 2016
If you know how to suck up and you can figure out who to suck up to this is the company for you. They pride themselves on their professionalism but what they fail to see is that the only people that are listened to are the ones who are 'yes' men. This includes the Nurse Practitioners all the way down the line. If you suggest anything new you become the source of gossip and back biting. The truly scary thing was that the nurses had very little experience, some had only worked for MeND since they were new grads. There is not much this odd and tiny piece of health care system can teach you. You learn much more about how to behave around inmates (yuck) than you'd ever learn about disease process. Low salary and working alone every other weekend (which is the really busy in a jail). Good luck with trying to apply the knowledge gained from this job to anything else in the medical field, I never saw even clinic level analysis performed. It was a waste of my time and experience.
Pros
wore uniforms
Cons
clicky, snotty, no practical experience that can be applied to any other medical area
Was this review helpful?Yes 73No 4Report
Official response from MEnD Correctional Care
April 25, 2016

Our company fosters and encourages an environment which encourages open communication lines across all positions and departments. At MEnD Correctional Care we inform our staff of our Open Door Policy upon hire and encourage open conversation. We also encourage our employees to provide feedback. This gives our employees the opportunity to voice any questions or concerns during their employment with us.

We also believe in training and development. We recruit and attend job fairs to speak with current, graduating, and former Nursing students to inform them of the opportunities we have. We do not require experience and we train all new hires from day one. We encourage new hires who are just starting out on their career paths to think of Correctional Healthcare as a viable long term option.

Correctional Healthcare isn't for everyone, but we do our best to paint the most accurate representation of the position, facility, expectations and requirements that we possibly can. It is also one of the safest places a person can work throughout their careers. The patients (inmates) are people who need care. We see them as patients and treat them as such.

Our compensation is competitive and is always discussed during the in person interview stage of the application process. We believe in, no surprises and answering as many questions during the interview process as possible. This way, the candidates can make the best decision for themselves, and their futures.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MEnD Correctional Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 30 reviews
513
47
31
21
18

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

MEnD Correctional Care Reviews by Location