Mercy Health Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 527 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5168
4156
3121
245
137
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 526 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work enviornment for clicky people
Financial Clearance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Amherst, OHOctober 15, 2018
It was like high school with a few adults mixed in. I truly enjoyed what my job duties. The patients were great, and the day went by extremely fast. That's a bonus!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, with exceptional benefits.
Director Revenue Cycle (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 14, 2018
Great company to work for, great to their employees, great growth opportunity. The culture of faith is reflected in all that Mercy does. Learned so much about leadership with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skill building
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Lima, OHOctober 14, 2018
This is a company where reliability, and accountability matter. Always be on your ps and qs, at this time magnet is what is happening with this company. Don't pass off to the next shift, complete your work, and try and help coworker as much as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very family friendly management
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OK 73013October 9, 2018
I have two kids and my husband worked out of town. If the kids were sick and I had to go tend to them they gave me a very hard time. I could not work in an environment like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and caring work environment
Surgery Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH 45238October 8, 2018
I was fortunate to be a surgery receptionist at Mercy Western Hills. My job entailed admitting the patient,collecting co-pays, preparing charts, entering labwork, updating the surgery schedule and keeping the nurses, families and other departments updated with any changes. I had the privilege of having direct interaction with the families and keeping them notified of the patients progress, as well as keeping them in the right place for impending conversations with the surgeons after surgery was completed.
Pros
A caring, passionate and collaborative work environment.
Cons
Difficult to get a short break other than one 30 minute lunch break in a 12 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the oeople I worked with and the work I was doing, however, my position was eliminated.
Clerical Associate (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OhioOctober 6, 2018
I spoke to insurance companies for the entire four hours that I worked each day. This would have been difficult if it weren't for my fellow employees. They made it fun going to work each day. My manager was a gem. She was always doing things to make sure everyone in the office was happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 4, 2018
a day at work always busy,i learn a lot by assisting the dr, management was great, work culture was great, hardest part of the job was getting along with the crew, no enjoyment at all
Pros
getting patd
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great care for patient
Director (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 2, 2018
loved working there. It was a great nurturing culture as opposed to the vulture culture you see in corporate environments. I left because I was looking for experience leading a large scale department, else I would have never left Mercy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Supply
Sterilization Technician (Current Employee) –  Warren, OHOctober 1, 2018
No matter what department you work in there's a thick cloud of negativity. Bad, lazy workers strive, hard working people are pushed to quitting and are never appreciated enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Graduate Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 1, 2018
1) good learning experience
2)Collaborative culture made it enjoyable
3)Fun team and management
4)Worked with many different departments and communities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Mercy Health?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very helpful for one seekig job.
Counseling the clients as per program needs. (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 30, 2018
Excellent job .I will recommend it to all my friends and relatives. Indeed is the helping hands for all who have to travel a lot hunting for jobs. It's indeed a good place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They live their mission
Practice Supervisor /RMA (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 25, 2018
This employer values their employees and treats everyone with respect. They are kind, compassionate and giving to not only the patients in their community but also their employees. Great organization to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company to work for but......
Coding Educator/Auditor (Current Employee) –  Harvard, ILSeptember 23, 2018
benefits are only so so and they are slow to pay claims (ins company is mercycare and is owned by the hospital system)

raises were restructured to come to everyone at the same time of year and because fof when i started i had to wait an extra 3 months to receive a less than 3% raise

best part of the job is the flexibility my boss gives me but that is not the norm for management at this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare System in Ohio and Kentucky
Senior Workforce Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 19, 2018
Mercy is the largest healthcare provider in Ohio and the third largest in the state overall. It has acute sites in Toledo, Lorain, Youngstown, Lima, Springfield, Cincinnati and Paducah, Ky
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Medicare Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHSeptember 17, 2018
nice place to work. friendly staff. many places to transfer within the company. tuition reimbursement. respectable time off when needed. hourly wages are low in comparison to other job locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very rewarding. Much interaction with clients.
Licensed Social Worker (Former Employee) –  2200 Jefferson Ave. Toledo, OH 43604September 15, 2018
Mercy Health was a very productive agency. We had many guidelines and polices to adhere too. Staff were engaged in the health care of our clients. Our clients would look forward to our visits each week. We offered many valuable resources to help them move to self sufficency. The Coordinator was very hands on and kept the
team up-to-date. Participated in many fairs and community agency events to promote our services.
Pros
Consistent working conditions.
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Springfield, OHSeptember 13, 2018
The company really cares for their patients they. THe Doctors are very caring and in detailed with their patients I never really had any issues working for Mercy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very helpful
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MISeptember 11, 2018
This place really helps the community allows people to get food and health services when they cant afford or find the help that they need they are very kind and caring. They help out young old and middle age people
Pros
Relaxing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOSeptember 8, 2018
This was a great job for me because it gave me the flexibility to be with my family. The option to grow within the company was phenomenal. The doctors cared about the staff as well as the patients.The hardest part of the job for me was learning the computing system, which I eventually did. The I T staff gave classes to ensure proper education of the system. Mercy was a great experience I'll never forget
Pros
The doctors really cared about the staff as well as the patients
Cons
I didn't like working on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercy Health does not value their LPN's
LPN (Current Employee) –  Lima, OHSeptember 8, 2018
I get along very well with my coworkers, however, the hospital is notorious for segregating the LPN's from the RN's. Last year the RN's received a pay increase. LPN's were supposed to be considered this year. Well, whether we were considered or not, nobody knows because LPN's have yet to be informed, but......RN"s received another pay increase and were basically instructed to keep "hush-hush" about it. It's obvious that LPN's are not valued here.
Pros
friendly staff even amidst segregation among RN's and LPN's
Cons
LPN's segregated from RN's, staff no longer receive discount in the cafeteria, lowest pay for LPN's. #smh
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mercy Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight