Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group

Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is your classic revolving door operation
Physician Recruitment firm (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 23, 2017
Most people last only about 8 weeks. it is essentially a con operation where they prey on doctors practices in the middle of nowhere that can not fill positions and fool them into believing they can fill their open position. They milk them dry and never fill the position. Awful place. DO NOT APPLY.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Physician Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 25, 2017
I would not recommend anyone to work for this company it was the worst job I've every worked at in all of my professional years of working and I've worked at some great companies but this one absolutely sucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group
May 31, 2017

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. If you would like to discuss it further, please call me directly at 858-720-6251 or email me at Julie.Fletcher@amnhealthcare.com. We take these issues seriously.
- Julie Fletcher, Chief Talent Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, but competitive environment
Senior Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 3, 2017
Merritt Hawkins is a great place to work where you can earn a substantial living. It is a quick paced, competitive environment, but rewarding. Travel is extensive, but if managed right, you can have work/life balance.
Pros
Travel, Compensation
Cons
Long hours, performance intensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group
May 9, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience of working with Merritt Hawkins. We are always open to your feedback and if you have suggestions that you would like us to consider, please do not hesitate to contact me at Tom.Florence@amnhealthcare.com. Thank you again for your review. –Tom Florence, SVP Recruiting, Merritt Hawkins

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Point
VP (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 26, 2017
Great launchpad to higher sales/consulting roles. Old guild needs to become more dynamic, or move on to retirement. Culture is lacking, and TA needs to invest more into experienced consultants. Training for churn and burn gets old.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard Great Rewards
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 26, 2016
They work you hard-high turnover. But if you can make the cut the salary and benefits are very good 100K+. They have good resources and a good name in the industry. Be prepared to sacrifice 9 months to 1 year + before you "make it".
Pros
Training second to none
Cons
Micro Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with great people
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  AnonymousSeptember 21, 2015
A good place to work with supportive supervisors and managers. The main focus is the bottom line and developing a strong sales/business development team to reach quarterly goal.
The coworkers are the most enjoyable part of the job. Everyone is helpful and willing to lend a hand when called upon to do so. Turn over is often due to the work becoming stagnant and mobility capped.
Pros
The work environment is calm and the people are easy to get along with.
Cons
Mobility is stifled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It got much better
Senior Search Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 28, 2015
Years ago when I first started the rumors where true, that they (MHA) would hire 3 recruiters only really to hire 1. The others would not make it out training. After 2010 they got much better at onboarding people and training them. They took on the attitude of if the employee is good, just maybe not a production then they would look to find them another role within the company. End of the day a very solid firm and one can be very successful there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected after taking the position
Academic Search Consultant (Current Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXSeptember 16, 2013
Not what I expected after taking the position. The position changed alot from what I was presented after the fact.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I couldn't ask for a better company to work for.
Recruiting Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 8, 2013
Job Duties: background checks on physicians, preparing CV's, preparing cover letters (both editing and typing out dictations), answering phones, operating the switchboard, preparing airport packets for physicians who will be interviewing, updating data in our computer system for both candidates and clients, processing expense reports and reimbursements, communicating with candidates, and anything else asked of me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay/Great Benefits
Corporate Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 9, 2013
I made excellent money at MHA. Co Workers were a bit snobby and bias. VP of my dept was very judgemental.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report

Want to know more about Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader
Recruiting Consultant (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 27, 2012
MH is still the indsutry leader in Physician Recruitment, however, the management is hesitent to adjust the business model and approach to clients regardless of competitive pressures and an evolving market.

Great income potential for recruiters. Very competitive industry. High demand for recruitment services.
Pros
income potential
Cons
dry company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

Merritt, Hawkins & Associates/MHA Group Reviews by Location