Mesa Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 207 reviews matching the search See all 208 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, lonely nights.
FLIGHT ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 8, 2018
i loved the fast paced environment, but i hated being away from home, you spent every night alone in a hotel room unless your crew wanted to go out. i recommend if you are over 21.
Pros
flight benefits
Cons
long trips. not exciting places to visit, alone at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking advantage of travel benefit
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 15, 2018
I a semi retired, and salary for this job is not an issue because I did not take this position with salary in mind, my emphasis is taking advantage of travel benefit to travel the world and enjoy semi retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airline Pilot
Flew as a First officer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2018
I was an airline pilot for mesa airlines. i had monthly schedules to make it easy to plan your life. I loved traveling all over the usa and canada and mexico.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical work day
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXMay 28, 2018
My typical days consist of 16 hr duty days sometime we would not get a lunch depending if flights were on time, a lot of days where our passengers were very pleasant and the most of the time when thry were angry it had to do with delayed flights. Hardest part of working for the company was getting adjusted to the different shifts you might get off late one night then will get the min hrs of rest 8 hr before your next day started again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free travel
RAMP AGENT (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 23, 2018
Ran bags to the proper destination of where the customers were flying too. Work with passengers in getting their questions answered and helping them get to their final destination.
Pros
Free flight benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Aircraft Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85008May 9, 2018
Great entery lvl company, you get to work the whole aircraft
Room to move up. Room to travel, great schedules. Travel benifits if you like to travel the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 4, 2018
As a new flight attendant, you may not get to fly as much as you wish. You are on call and are guaranteed certain hours a month but you may not get to fly at all. That is typical until you build seniority. Otherwise, staff and management are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work anywhere but here
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 27, 2018
worst pay ever. I literally starved here. so many cancelled flights and you have to pay for own hotels sometimes. It was not worth the free flights at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate entry level into aviation maintenance.
Aircraft Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 25, 2018
A typical day at work consists of receiving job cards for 1 - 4 aircraft, getting the tools required, finding transportation to gate, assessing the aircraft, and completing the assigned job cards.

I have learned much about maintaining commercial jet airliners, including engine oil servicing, hydraulics servicing, and troubleshooting.

Management is adequate to get the job done.

Workplace culture is laid back.

The hardest part of the job is learning the more complex systems and operations of the aircraft.

The most enjoyable part of the job is learning the more complex systems and operations of the aircraft, and the satisfaction of completing jobs related to those systems.
Pros
Good medical and flight benefits, decent work schedule.
Cons
Low pay for the job, no paid sick time, tooling can be lacking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 18, 2018
hardest part of the job was the schedule
met tons of amazing people who i will always keep in contact with
at most times it didn't feel like work
time off was not easy to get
Pros
vacations
Cons
pay, schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAApril 12, 2018
A typical day at work was waking up at odd times
you do not get paid unless doors are closed
If you do not live at Base you will have a hard time commuting
but it is very fun and you get wonderful flight benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get your foot in the door.
Lead Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 9, 2018
The key to working at Mesa is to have a plan and goals for your time with the company. If you come into it with the understanding that Mesa is not a career company and you are using them as a stepping stone for your career then it is a good company to work for. Most of the people that work for Mesa are good people and the environment is not to bad, you are free to learn as much as you want but if you want to just slack off and do the minimum you can probably do that to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you are young and just starting out
First Officer (Former Employee) –  PhoenizApril 1, 2018
Typical day is that I would sit on call in a hotel paid for with my money. So turns out you are quite possibly working free.
That's ok if your young and just starting out. In that case it is a good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mesa Airlines
A&P Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 14, 2018
It is a good place to work with decent benefits. Management does work with you to help you with your schedule. The atmosphere is sometimes stressful, but, that is just because of the environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, Not-So-Fun Enviroment
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 13, 2018
The hours are long and the customers are never happy, but that's true of any customer service job. The difference here is you're trying to make sure people don't fall out of plane while you serve them, but your paycheck doesn't really match that concept. The other FA's are generally nice people, the pilots are pilots, and management will try and squeeze every last drop of work out of you (no matter how unsafe that can be) and stiff you on the paycheck at any opportunity.
The flight benefits are pretty good for a smaller company though. A good starter airline, but enter at your own risk.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
They don't want to pay you
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
FIRST OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 10, 2018
I loved working at the regionals because it was a great time builder which means a career builder as well. I liked working for Mesa because the crews were in great spirit all the time. Good training environment and good instructors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, not a fan of the company
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 3, 2018
Being a flight attendant is my passion, I am thankful that I was able to begin my career with Mesa. A typical day at work includes showing up to the gate 45 minutes early, performing safety checks. Next the passengers board, you secure the plane, perform demos, and take off. Then, you pass out snacks/drinks and make sure all passengers are comfortable. After this, you pick up trash and the flight is basically a breeze from there. I learned about teamwork, and how to live with this on-the-go lifestyle. The management is okay, crew tracking is not your friend most times. The hardest part of this job is being away from home, and the most enjoyable part is utilizing your flight benefits!
Pros
flight benefits
Cons
long days, away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are not valuable to this company
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 2, 2018
It doesn't matter how hard you work as a flight attendant, this company does not have any tolerance for mistakes whether they are your fault or not. It is sink or swim here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 27, 2018
MESA will put you in the worst hotels ever.... you have no money to do anything, and you have zero priority when non reving.... mesa is a disaster and the planes are always broken and probably unsafe lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place in the office in Phoenix 1 week a month and 3 weeks a month from home.
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ and Wichita, KSFebruary 26, 2018
‚óŹ Edited, updated, and incorporated revisions to Policy and Procedure Manuals. (Worked on company laptop from home in Wichita, Kansas three weeks a month and from company office in Phoenix, Arizona one week a month.) Used unstructured version of FrameMaker as a publishing platform.
Pros
Was able to fly free of charge standby between Wichita and Phoenix every month, Was also able to fly inexpensively during vacations to and from Amman, Jordan.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mesa Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 208 reviews
539
444
371
221
133

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture