Mesa Public Schools - AZ Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 6, 2018
Worked I daily recipes depending on the day of menu. Did inventory of the kitchen. Collect payments of students and staff. Received orders that came into cafeteria.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of advancement opportunities
Elementary Music Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 23, 2018
I left teaching to pursue career advancement opportunities. There is little employee training, and staff members are left to either "sink or swim." It is frustrating for those seeking continual improvement, and there is no compensation for those wanting to go above and beyond.
Pros
Wonderful principals
Cons
No breaks, no opportunities to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work with little reward
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 22, 2018
Supervisor was supposed to help out, but always stayed in his office only to come out and argue with people, would call on his days off, he sounded inebriated.
Pros
none
Cons
Supervisor thought you were a "spy" for the school board.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School system
Custodial Engineer/Exterminator (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 20, 2018
this was a right out of high school job and that's about it, a job to bring home to survive on noting really to talk about other than it was okay place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn to be patient
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 18, 2018
I really enjoyed driving the special needs to and from school. I learned how to be patient with the younger students as they become upset from leaving they parents or something happening on the bus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working one on one with many of the students.
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 17, 2018
I enjoy my job however, the income is very low. I started at 9.00 an hour in 2009 and now at 10.00 an hour for 9 years going on 10.
I tutored students in reading. We read one on one. We reviewed sight words, Testing scores etc.
We kept a journal and students are required to writing full sentences. Many also authored their own books.
I just need a new focus and more income.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An over sized that district that relies on poor economic conditions to keep staff
Xplore (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 12, 2018
Burn out rates for salary employees is common. Hourly employees get paid low rates with minimal benefits and low hours. There is a large work load gap between salary and hourly jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training is one of the best I've seen
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 5, 2018
good environment
many good drivers
senior drivers assist you favorably with unfamiliar routes
plenty of overtime available i.e. after school programs, sports activities, ect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Student Cafeteria Worker (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 28, 2018
Awesome place to work! Great people! Fun crew. Education first. Works great for teens in school. Staff teaches staff. Great hours. Learned a lot. Love my job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
SEI Technician (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 26, 2018
It was a great job helping teach. Communicating with the children and the staff also the parents. Never was a dull moment working for Mesa public schools.
Pros
The thought of helping the children
Cons
My hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Work/Not a lot of pay= Teacher's life
FIRST AND SECOND GRADE TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 22, 2018
Working 50+ hours, Driving 2+ hours a day to get to and from work, No overtime, No advancement opportunities.
However the kids are fantastic, the parents are wonderful and the principals are terrific.
Pros
However the kids are fantastic, the parents are wonderful and the principals are terrific.
Cons
Working 50+ hours, Driving 2+ hours a day to get to and from work, No overtime, No advancement opportunities, no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MPS is wonderful
4th/5th Grade Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 19, 2018
I have worked for MPS 16 out of my 20 years of teaching. I love the district and feel as though it's home. There are continued professional development opportunities for any and everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and secure employment.
Spanish Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 16, 2018
I taught Spanish grades 4th -8th Grade, I was a travelling teaching, I taught ten classess. I enjoyed the students; however, I am ready to work in the public sector and utilize my skills and higher education for better pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children and seeing their growth
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 14, 2018
Really have enjoyed working at the elementary school. Interacting daily with the students and watching them learn and grow is rewarding. Enjoy working along side staff members as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for parents of elementary school aged children.
Crossing Guard/Playground Aide (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZ 85213June 13, 2018
This is a job that has funky hours and is good for parents of children that go to an elementary school. If you are looking for a well paying job I would NOT recommend this. You are paid by the hour, so you loose a weeks pay due to seasonal breaks.
Pros
Fun community
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 31, 2018
I enjoyed working at my school site as the community is fantastic. I also enjoyed the collegial atmosphere and work environment. I highly recommend working here.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Music Teacher (Current Employee) –  East Valley, ArizonaMay 31, 2018
Professional atmosphere and room for professional growth. There is an atmosphere of care and concern for employees. I have enjoyed working here and would recommend this employer to anyone else considering teaching in this district.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 29, 2018
It was very busy. Everything that I could. Management was ok. Workplace Culture ok. Hardest part of the job No A/C. I enjoyed my job a lot. And also made sure buses were good to drive . So Children could get home Safely.
Pros
They treated you like family also.
Cons
No A/C
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, good if you are looking for a part-time job
Instructional Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 27, 2018
Working at Mesa Public Schools is awesome, I worked a part time position that does not offer benefits. Great people, the students are wonderful and trying, but it feels great making a difference in their lives. That being said, the wages are low and are not enough for me to provide for myself without another source of income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job with low pay for support staff
Instructional Assistant Special Ed (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 27, 2018
Mesa Public Schools is a great place to work, but never for the pay! Most support staff work 29 hours with no benefits. There are quite a few employees with school aged kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mesa Public Schools - AZ. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 255 reviews
593
481
363
214
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

2.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Mesa Public Schools - AZ Reviews by Location