Metals USA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced customer driven company
CNC Programmer / Sales (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSOctober 13, 2018
A great place to work with good benefits. There was plenty of room for advancement with this company. The culture was consistent with expectations of completing the work on time or ahead of schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible managment
Head Operator (Former Employee) –  Walker, MISeptember 23, 2018
management at metals usa was its biggest downfall and the number one reason why I left the company. we worked an extreme amount of hours for very little pay, and they have no value towards there employees.
Pros
good work crew
Cons
managment, low pay, extreme hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It stunk
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Neylandville, TXAugust 1, 2018
I hated every waking moment of working at this God awful wretched place. Everybody smelled like tacos. I had to plug my nose with whatever was available which usually ended up being oily shop rags.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clicks
Brake Operator (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 17, 2018
If you don't fit in the click you won't go anywhere they tend to overlook the ones that are not thier buddies only take care of certain people the others no matter how hard you work don't matter
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 8, 2018
This company was so disorganized that it was a nightmare to work for them. End of month closing in accounting meant working 18 hour days for 2-3 days on end, every single month. Management was clueless as to anyone's job duties or how they were done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time under the management that's there now
Shear operator (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INJuly 5, 2018
It was a wonderful facility under previous manager. Over a year ago my facility switched managers.Since then, has had many problems and poor management with business and overall communication with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M usa
Government Sales and Transactions Intern (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 13, 2018
Very good time, enjoyed learning the business and the daily activities that go into running it. Was not there long enough to see major change in what i was working on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and challenging place to work.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 6, 2018
Typically assigned to one of four or five machines. Varies by day. Work orders can be organized and well timed or you could get 14 orders due by the end of the day all at one time.
Supervisors are knowledgeable and professional, the office staff seems disconnected with the reality of a manufacturing environment.
Pros
Quarterly safety bonuses
Cons
Promised pay increase doesn't happen
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't do it
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waggaman, LAMay 30, 2018
Unless you're a white male, don't expect to go anywhere in this company. Poorly managed, chaos all the time. No one is happy where they are with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and advance
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILMay 22, 2018
Came in the morning and do usual check on my forklift lift..Ran machine that produced steel slabs and wrapped them up on the pallets and readied to be loaded on trailer or placed on loading dock...Same with the overhead crane...Learned so much from my friend mark who taught me the ins and outs there...Very easy going employees there and if you had a problem, your problem became thiers....No real hard parts of the job, really enjoyed working here...Love driving a forklift
Pros
Exerience to learn
Cons
Temporary for most
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INMay 22, 2018
This job was a very productive job but in an environment where the weather dictated how your day went. Good management and good coworkers. Very nice lunch/break room
Pros
good benifits
Cons
Temperature and dangerous materials
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Slitter Helper (Former Employee) –  Union, NJApril 26, 2018
All managers are terrible if your not Caribbean deacent u will not make it they look out for they own people they have no real management skills people just thrown into positions they dnt know how to talk to people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Liberty, MOApril 20, 2018
Fast paced environment, quick learners will excel. good hand eye coordination is a plus. Great benefits. paid time off, learning new skills such as driving forklifts
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
profit sharing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a lot of friends
Accounts Payables Specialist (Former Employee) –  Enid, OKApril 19, 2018
Metals USA was a great place to work. Everyone was very nice and very helpful. I made a lot of friends whom I am still friends with today. Almost 10 years later. We all pitched in to help each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Randleman, NCApril 18, 2018
Poor salary, poor management & communication. Extreme favoritism to some employees, nit-picky to others. Bonuses depended on your status as a "favored employee".
Pros
Good Insurance
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Sales Manager, Non Ferrous (Former Employee) –  Germantown, WIApril 11, 2018
This is an unsupportive group toward sales and sales people.

This is a place I cannot recommend.

The turn over rate in some divisions for sales is very high.
Pros
deep inventory
Cons
lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work , helpful and understanding co workers
Crane Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Randleman, NCMarch 20, 2018
Metals USA is a fun place to work at, all co workers are understanding and helpful in every situation. Every place has their safety procedures reducing any type of risk on injuries . Overall a great place to work at
Pros
Safe workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a steady job.
Shear Operator (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INJanuary 25, 2018
I enjoyed the management there. It was a fast pace environment. All the guys that I worked with were easy to get along with and we had a lot of fun during my time working there.
Pros
S.C.O.R.E. fund there is an awesome bonus that the employees get at the end of the year.
Cons
The wages paid weren't to great and the yearly raises were very low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Horicon, WIJanuary 17, 2018
Good place to work overall. They treated employees well and management was always available. Wish there was more learning of new things. Didn't like being a cubicle all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started work thru a temp service-Dickies Staffing.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILJanuary 12, 2018
I liked working for this company.It was interesting to learn how to set up and operate the various types of cutting machines used for cutting various kinds of metal.
Pros
60 hours a week with overtime.
Cons
It was a dirty job working with all the different cutting fluids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metals USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 112 reviews
527
432
324
215
114

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture