Metlang
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Metlang Reviews: Working at Metlang

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United States97 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 97 reviews

Metlang insights

Based on 30 survey responses
What people like
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Clear sense of purpose
  • Fair pay for job
Areas for improvement
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Support from manager
  • Sense of belonging

Awesome job but it's not stable work

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I love working for Metlang! The pay is great, you learn a lot, and get to meet very interesting and great people. Management is also very good. Cielo, in California, is an excellent manager and very understanding if you ever need anything. The only downfall to this job is that it's not stable work. This year I have only worked for around 2 months total. The pay is good but I am looking for a stable, full time job now.

Pros

Pay, Great people, Interesting

Cons

Lack of work, More of a side job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

October 19, 2021
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you are enjoying your work experience with us. We understand the project-based nature of this industry can be unstable, however, we strive to keep our employees working as much as possible. -The Metlang Team

The job is challenging and fun. Never a dull moment.

Favoritism is a huge problem in Atlanta. If you are not in the tight group forget about having stability in the job. Same people are working all the time and the new Supervisor still puts on the schedule her tight knit. The only thing that can change that culture is for it to become a more balanced, fair place of work, is to bring a Supervisor from the outside who is bias and knows no one at the job. Someone professional and fair. Someone who would take the time and check how many hours each employee has worked with those that have been home, before scheduling the same people. Someone who would take the time, before scheduling, to give employees the same opportunity and same amount of hours as their favorites. This is why people are constantly leaving this job. Also, if you don't work enough hours per month you WOULD lose your health benefits. There are good monitors that not on the schedule, and there are loud, gossipers, and people who just go there to hang out, that do make it into the schedule. So, if you are one of those who is disrespectful, likes cursing at work, and just likes to hang out and socialize. This job is right for you. This job is best to have as a part time, for extra money but not as your main source of income because of the inconsistencies. If I was you, I would either work part time or run for your life and stay out!

Pros

pay is what keeps employees putting up with the toxic environment

Cons

Favoritism and horrible hr dept
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

December 30, 2021
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with some aspects of the job. We understand the project-based nature of this industry can be unstable, however, we strive to keep our employees working as much as possible and we offer opportunities to maintain health benefits. Additionally, Metlang has an Open-Door Policy and employees are encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them as Metlang management is always looking for ways to improve. - The Metlang team

Great place to work

Great place to work. A typical day would be clocking in, team meetings, reading and checking for any pertinent updates, and consulting with TFO in case anything is upcoming.

Pros

Flexible schedules.

Cons

If there is no available cases, you get sent home.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

September 24, 2021
Thank you for the positive feedback. We understand the project-based nature of this industry can be unstable, however, we strive to keep our employees working as much as possible. We are glad you are enjoying your work experience with us. -The Metlang Team

Good paying job, bad supervisors, mediocre managenent

Interesting job with decent pay and horrible mismanagement by the supervisors and corporate offices. The job itself is pretty cool and engaging at times.

Pros

Good pay.

Cons

Inconsistent work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

August 31, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinion and take your comments very seriously. Metlang has an Open-Door Policy and employees are encouraged to voice their concerns as Metlang management is always looking for ways to improve. Additionally we understand the project-based nature of this industry can be unstable, however, we strive to keep our employees working as much as possible. -The Metlang Team

You learned new things about different type of govt. Jobs

Management doesn't care about the staff. They will do anything possible to make you miserable, if they don't like you. They don't train you properly and expect to know everything.

Pros

Get to learn new things and meet new people.

Cons

Bad upper management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

June 18, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinion and take your comments very seriously. Metlang continues to have an Open-Door Policy and employees are encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them as the Metlang management is always looking for ways to improve including our training programs. -The Metlang Team

Would you rate your company five stars?

Rate your employer to help people make better career decisions.

Rewarding work

The work we do with law enforcement is very rewarding! Being a part of a good team is essential to a positive outcome for the Agents we work with. However, we do not always have a good, cohesive team. Some are lazy and that means the other linguists have to pick up the slack for the ones that talk all day long instead of doing their work.The supervisor is not fair with scheduling work hours. Rather than give two linguists 4 shifts of work each, the supervisor will often give one linguist 3 shifts per week while she gives the other linguist 5 shifts. The schedule is often very lopsided. Friends of the supervisor are scheduled before other more experienced linguists. Seniority does not seem to count for scheduling at all. Schedules are not sent out until Friday evening, which gives no time to schedule personal activities ahead of time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

March 10, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you find the job rewarding! We value all of our employees and strive to maintain a positive and collaborative work environment. Please be aware that our Human Resources Department has an Open Door policy and employees are always encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them.- The Metlang team

great place to work and give back

Fun and exciting experience and place to work. You learn a lot and the work culture is great. There is never a dull moment. Every day is different and the experience is always enjoyable.

Pros

Pay is great

Cons

the wait time for a project/job takes months. Sometime you sit around waiting to get a job, its really slow
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

January 7, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We understand the project-based nature of this work can be unstable at times but we are happy to hear that you enjoy your time working with us!- The Metlang team

Upper management has no clue

Only thing good about this job is the pay. Benefits stick, scheduling sucks, a lot of favoritism. If it gets slow, you could be home for weeks even months with no pay.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

December 28, 2020
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with some aspects of the job. Metlang has an Open-Door Policy and employees are encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them as the Metlang management is always looking for ways to improve.- The Metlang team

Rewarding work

The work we do with law enforcement is very rewarding! Being a part of a good team is essential to a positive outcome for the Agents we work with. However, we do not always have a good, cohesive team. Some are lazy and that means the other linguists have to pick up the slack for the ones that talk all day long instead of doing their work.The supervisor is not fair with scheduling work hours. Rather than give two linguists 4 shifts of work each, the supervisor will often give one linguist 3 shifts per week while she gives the other linguist 5 shifts. The schedule is often very lopsided. Friends of the supervisor are scheduled before other more experienced linguists. Seniority does not seem to count for scheduling at all. Schedules are not sent out until Friday evening, which gives us no time to schedule personal activities ahead of time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

November 20, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you find the job rewarding! We value all of our employees and strive to maintain a positive and collaborative work environment. Please be aware that our Human Resources Department has an Open Door policy and employees are always encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them. - The Metlang team

Good atmosphere not a lot of work

It's a good temporal job. Not steady work, but overall a job where you learn a lot. Coworkers are good people. The pay is the best thing and the reason why people don't leave it.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Not enough work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

October 20, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We understand the project-based nature of this work can be unstable at times but we are happy to hear that you enjoy your time working with us!- The Metlang team

In the onboarding process

I’m waiting on my security clearance. So far everyone in the company has been kind and helpful. From what I’ve learned about the job I feel it will be meaningful and I’m excited to get started. The on boarding personnel all had 10 plus years with the company and I think that says a lot about the company and that it’s if I work hard I can stay with the company for many years to come.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

August 27, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you have had a pleasant onboarding experience. We hope your time working with us is just as positive! -The Metlang Team

Outstanding Onboarding Experience

Very impressed with their human resources department. My recruiter was very professional and approachable. Also, the lady who was my main point of contact , was very supportive during the whole process ,making sure everything was good to go. Looking forward to this opportunity! Thank you.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

May 8, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you have had a pleasant onboarding experience. We hope your time working with us is just as positive!-The Metlang Team

Great company

Great company, great staff very helpful with all the hiring process. Most knowledgeable even assisted with technical support. I highly recommend it. Thanks

Pros

Great hiring staff

Cons

n/a
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

April 17, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you have had a good experience. - The Metlang team

Workplace

Good work life balance and convenient on site secured parking. The building is old and the work culture is very isolated. There is no growth within the company so expect to stay in your current position.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

April 3, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the work-life balance aspect and are sorry to hear you were unhappy with other aspects of the job. Metlang has an Open-Door Policy and employees are encouraged to voice their concerns and give us a chance to address them, as the Metlang management is always looking for ways to improve.- The Metlang team

The job is very interesting

It’s a 7 day week job. We can work 5 days in 4. The hours are 8am until 4pm or 4pm until midnight. You meet a lot of interesting people and if needed you have to travel if you want.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

February 28, 2020
Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoy working with us.-The Metlang team

Lasts less than an apprenticeship, pays more than a regular job.

You can’t rely on this job to pay your bills. This is pure luck & chance. When there is work then you make good money but other times they send you home & you have to wait. Its more like you work 6 months & make real good money but the other 6 months you sit home thinking about next job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

February 12, 2020
Thank you for the feedback, and we are excited to hear that you enjoy the job so much! We realize there are periods of time when work slows, but we agree with you that the work is rewarding and we are glad to have you on our team.-The Metlang team

If you speak a foreign language fluently and have analytical linguistic and communication skills, then this is the job you seriously want to consider

I am so far in the security screening process waiting for the final offer. The recruiting and interview process overall were very smooth and organized. All the staff were very professional and supportive in walking you through every each step of the process. As the duty of this job is very purposeful with utilizing your language skills, I find this is one of the most rewarding and meaningful careers among all the other occupations.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

January 27, 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We are glad you find this type of career as meaningful as we do. Also, thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed working with our recruiting team. We strive to provide as much help and information as we can to guide you through the application process.-The Metlang Team

Flexible schedule

Hours are flexible, weekly pay, vacation flexibility. The work environment is very comforting, family oriented and colleagues are very helpful with one another.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

December 16, 2019
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad you enjoy working with us!- The Metlang team

na

Great company to work for. The whole team is great. They are very friendly and professional. The work environment is easy going and laid back. The company provides great benefits and leave.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

December 6, 2019
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you have had a good experience. - The Metlang team

Flexible Schedule, Great Pay, Good Benefits

Work in MetLang is very demanding. I learned to work under pressure and on tight deadlines. It helped me grow and to become a responsible, and a reliable employee. Schedules are generally flexible which allowed me take advantage of the benefits that came with having days off during weekdays.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

November 12, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We understand the nature of this work can be demanding. We are happy to hear working for us helped you grow as an employee and that you enjoyed the scheduling flexibility. -The Metlang team

Overall i liked working there

i enjoyed working there, the problem was not always was there work. I liked the environment and the people there. The managers are kind and friendly. The training is also great.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Metlang

October 28, 2019
Thank you for your positive feedback about our management team and the job training we provide. We are glad you found the job enjoyable and understand the nature of this industry is project based which means there might be slow work periods at times. -The Metlang team

Common questions about Metlang

Answered by current and former employees at Metlang

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metlang. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2

Based on 97 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1
Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
  • Companies
  • Metlang
  • Employee Reviews