Metro Access Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 91 reviews
Ratings breakdown
522
420
326
29
114
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 91 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDJune 17, 2018
early morning long routes, you have to know the dmv area be prepared to take lunch any where unlimited overtime..friendly staff paid training different events in the work place
Pros
long lunches
Cons
early morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 31, 2018
i love the fact that the job requires a lot multi-tasking. different computer screens, answering phone calls, monitoring drivers, communicating with drivers via chirp phones.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved to be out on my own.
Transportation Driver (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 23, 2018
Picked up and drop off clients at requested destination ,Assured safety for the clients by making sure they were secure in seat belt or wheel chair. Followed a schedule to assure arrival and drop off time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quick
Dispatcher/ Customer Representative (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDMay 14, 2018
Great job less benefits. Management and training is about 2 to 4 weeks . Hours are consistent and you pick your own schedule by seniority. As long as you on time you will be great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Place to work at
Operator (Former Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDApril 17, 2018
Long hours of driving, not many breaks/ bathroom breaks, forced to work over time, expected to show up to work on time the next day after working 14-15 hours the day before. Dispatch is rude, you are working with sick, disabled, and elderly people. You don't get sick leave until being there for a year; so if you get sick you either get a point or you have to bring in a doctors note in order for it to be excused. You don't get PTO until after completing your first year.
Pros
You get to keep the customers fares
Cons
Long hours, no PTO, or Sick leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDApril 9, 2018
Lack of advancement
Lack of respect
Long work hours
Mangers take the position way to far
Will never have a personal life
Never messes up pay, needs structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving
Transportation Operator (Current Employee) –  Springfield, VAApril 5, 2018
Great for retires or just getting by. I love helping the passengers. That's what keeps me coming back! Must have compassion for people. If you don't stay home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits and extensive hours
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Capitol Heights, MDMarch 28, 2018
A typical day was simply the transport of clients to and from their destinations.
I earned more customer service experience.
Management had times where their communication almost felt like harassment.
The hardest part of working for Metro Access was the amount of hours you had to work to make ends meet.
The most enjoyable part was having pleasant customers.
Pros
Helping clients.
Cons
Extensive hours with no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Reservation Agent (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDMarch 22, 2018
Poor everything i had a hard time there i wasn't happy . Management suck they really didn't know what was going on there was a lot of favoritism a lot of over time with only one day off and you luck if you get that.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
over time, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistency
TRANSIT OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Temple Hills, MDFebruary 13, 2018
Inconsistency at the moment at Metro Access and not a lot of communication. It is hard reaching management or OCC when you need assistance on the road.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, meeting new people each day.
Paratransit Driver (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MD 20785February 12, 2018
My job at Metro Access I enjoyed helping people with disabilities. I would take them to their appointments helping with wheelchairs. The people you meet made the job a great experience.
Pros
Meeting and helping new people each day.
Cons
The pay was too low and no restroom breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Lanham, MD 20706February 9, 2018
Fun place to work. Room for advancement I love this job. I’ve been here 9 years and counting I would recommend this job to friends I love thee enviroment
Pros
Lunch
Cons
10 min break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus service, Driving individuals with disabilities there locations.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Springfield, VAJanuary 26, 2018
I learned about the highways. Also how to secure a wheelchair.

Management was easy going.

Work place was layback. Interacting with others. most of the time peaceful.

The hardest part of the job, and was not really hard at all was securing wheels.s sometime two at one time.

The fun thing about this job to me work be the traveling.
Pros
learning more about the highways
Cons
12 to 14 hours daily spent. No time to spend with your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the ideal place to work
Transportation coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2018
Metro Access is very stressful environment. The morale in the atmosphere is very low. I believe people work hard and don't get compensated well for what the do. There are no positive aspects being implemented by management to the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting People
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Forestville, MDDecember 26, 2017
Enjoyed helping and meeting people, giving them the necessary assistance needed to get to their respective destination. Management wasn't the best but I survived
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized oppression
Call Center Dispatcher Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDDecember 20, 2017
No African Americans are in a legitimate position of authority. I wouldn't recommend to anyone to work at the call center location. They make you feel uncomfortable to take care of any business not pertaining to MetroAccess.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Deal with complaints all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place of Metro Access
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Capital Heights, TNDecember 4, 2017
Metro access was a job for individuals who are flexible and don't mind working whatever time is schedule for them overall the pay is ok but I must say it's a job that give long hours of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional learning enviornment
Quality Assurance Supervisor, Nissi Group (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 30, 2017
Everyday task stay the same
Ability to learn more about system and operation
Workplace culture is the way you make it
Most enjoyable part of job is assisting costumers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Review
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDNovember 28, 2017
What we do as a job is very rewarding. You are helping people get around who have no one else to take them. You are helping them have a life outside of their homes. We are part security, part bell-hop, part driver, part PCA. We do a lot for our money that other para-transit drivers with other companies do not have to do. So that part of the job feels great.

The hardest part of the job is not feeling appreciated at work. Dispatch often takes us past out scheduled end-time as if we do not have families to get home to as well. For instance, I'm due to get off at 5:30 but there were times I've gotten off 1.5 hours past that because they give you pickups out of your way and that they know will take you past your end time but they simply do NOT care. That's when you feel taken advantage of and unappreciated.
Pros
The friends that you meet amongst clients and co-workers.
Cons
Must get permission to do the basic bodily function of going to the restroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Local Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 26, 2017
Its a job. The people are nice to work with and the customers are special. Its a customer service job, so the right mindset and attitude are necessary for this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport