Metropolitan Transportation Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 506 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
COACH OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2019
MTA is a very cool and relaxing place to work your pretty much own your own no-one looking over your shoulder, your free and that's the best thing about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Data Entry/Office assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 14, 2019
I am blessed to be working with wonderful people in a fun yet fast paced atmosphere. The people are team players. I have learned a lot, however as I have a lot of skills and am looking to earn more money, I have no choice but to look elsewhere.
Pros
Friendly helpful environment
Cons
Earning minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but Hectic Workplace
Tower Operator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2019
Moving 3 million people a day in one of the most densely populated areas in the Western Hemisphere can be challenging to say the least.
It builds a work environment that is ripe with trust.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 5, 2019
my review great would do it again the time was well wealth it the environment other then the reason being ok i would like to work there that 's fine .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Signal Engineering Maintainer Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYMarch 1, 2019
Excellent training and management support system. Ability to work independently with limited supervision

Great benefits are available to move into different positions along Long Island.
Work and home balance and social are amazing
Pros
Co-workers/ pay /Overtime
Cons
Government Politics and Union Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management support, transportation pass, and great medical benefits
Procurement Sourcing Specialist/ Administration (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 20, 2019
The workplace culture is friendly and process driven. Co-workers are eager to train new employees but the workload is very heavy must learn to work independly
Pros
Training, Flexible Time, and friendly atomsphere
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2019
Leadership either doesn't know where they are going or are dishonest w candidates. They turned high paying management jobs into entry level positions.
Pros
8 hr mgmt shifts
Cons
Mgmt turned to entry level union jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad work environment, but it is difficult to learn things.
Senior Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 3, 2019
The work environment is not bad, but it is difficult to learn things from the company. However, it is a good place to retire. Not a good recommendation for young people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too racist because most of employee there from one race
TIS/IDS Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2019
Most of employee there are of one race and it brought one culture which is so manipulative and only want to bring their own relatives or friends and felt like it is that one color people's world. Hence the environment became so complicated and too much politics they are playing. If you are not belong to their race but outstanding, then you look so lonely and no any real support except screwed down.
Pros
Very good salary and benefits
Cons
Too much mind games and politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work days were always hectic
Sr HRIS Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2019
Everyday was a different issue and management was not helpful in giving guidance to correcting the issues. Fellow coworkers worked together to fix issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very fair and compensation excellent
Exalogic environment as PeopleSoft Admin (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 11, 2019
Management very fair and compensation excellent. Workplace culture very professional.Most enjoyable part of job is learning new skills and interacting with others, and accomplishing tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with lots of opportunities.
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2019
The MTA is a huge company and there are a ton of different departments. I would advise figuring out what your interests are so that you can optimize your professional experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it. Quick pace and no two days were ever the same.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NY (to 37th Street in Manhattan)January 6, 2019
Let me be clear... MTA was the client and I worked for so many subs that I couldn't list them all without making my resume look like I jumped ship every year or so. So, I am not an MTA employee but was privileged to be part of the unions that were willing to have me on this project.
Pros
Physically demanding but excellent pay.
Cons
Living in a remote state the commute was long but I got used to it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Track Worker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 5, 2019
Everyone working a safety sensitive position makes 100K a year. Its a brotherhood, no one will throw you under the bus. Once you get in you'll never leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding for some
Assistant Conductor (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NY 11435January 2, 2019
A good job if you're in it for money and benefits. Long hard hours at first, with minimally personally rewarding work. I miss the paycheck not the job. Personally wasnt a good fit for me although I would have stuck it out had I the chance again maybe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult at times but a solid company.
Station Cleaner (Current Employee) –  New York City, NYJanuary 1, 2019
Great company with good benefits but along with a heap of patience you'll need thick skin when wearing the uniform. The company is currently being revamped and a lot of improvements are being made.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging place of work
College Intern (Former Employee) –  Hollis, NYDecember 10, 2018
During my 4 months internship I have learn to use all the theory I study in College and apply my knowledge every day.
I enjoyed being an environment surround of people that were willing to help.
I definitely would cherish a opportunity to work full time with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Hiring Process Needs Improvement
SENIOR PAYROLL PROCESSING SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  333 West 34th StreetDecember 4, 2018
MTA recruiters does not do a good job detailing benefits for most jobs for potential candidates.
Management does not provide performance reviews unless there is an issue.
You are not encouraged to assist customers on a call rather it is expected that the call is handed off.
Pros
5 day work week, free train pass
Cons
Short lunch breaks m, no break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 29, 2018
Loved working here you get to meet lots of new people everyday. The benefits are gteat. Lots of overtime if that’s what you do. Loved it joust really really loved it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 16, 2018
I would clean the train cars as they pull into the station. I also had to help remover stragglers from the train. I had to clean the station including the bathrooms and the platform
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metropolitan Transportation Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 506 reviews
5201
4159
3101
228
117

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight