METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 14 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57
43
30
22
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 14 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard physical Labor, but rewarding
General Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJune 4, 2018
The job is basically " the stuff the adults do not want to do". Such as ditch digging, weeding , cleaning etc all in the hot arizona desert. They provided lodging and food for the work week so that was amazing.
Pros
Free food/lodging
Cons
hard labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It really was a nice place to work.
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 23, 2018
Honestly, you will love working there. It's very clean, everyone is very friendly, and the cafeteria food is surprisingly well cooked! It's also near the Union Station for easy transportation!
Pros
Great Cafeteria.
Cons
Can't think of any.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow professionally
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Southern CaliforniaApril 24, 2018
MWD is a special water district in Southern California that is responsible for providing treated, potable drinking water to 19,000,000 residents in Southern California. MWD is a multi-faceted organization with opportunities in multiple disciplines; engineering, water treatment, electronic technologies, a coup and project management, just to name a few.
Pros
Salary, time off, Oppo for professional growth.
Cons
Can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people there
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 25, 2018
It was only a temporary assignment and I do not wish to involve my opinions any further regarding this company. I have nothing further to add. No comment.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Terrible commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is interesting
Water Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 15, 2017
diverse work
relevant to water resources issues facing many regions
nice seminars
cafeteria could use improvement
lots of interesting projects and programs
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Team Manager VII (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 4, 2016
I have been there 25 years and it is the best place to work. I have had challenging projects, great pay and the atmosphere is positive. I think it does a great job supplying water to southern California.
Pros
great projects
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get your hopes up
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Parker, AZJune 6, 2016
Hired part-time. Management team leader at Iron mountain is not in touch with what's going on. Full time Employees lie and fabricate situations to make you look bad. Racism at its covered up finest, was told to "dumb it down" cause I made full time employees look bad. Family and friends first, that's the motto. Don't waste your time if you have principles.
Pros
Thought it was a great opportunity
Cons
The feeling of impending doom as everyone is scared
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
Intern (Former Employee) –  Rice, CAFebruary 26, 2016
I enjoyed my time as an intern at MWD. My supervisors and manager were all great and really cared about the well being of their employees. I would definitely want to work for them again if given the opportunity.
Pros
Pay, Hours, Benifits, Union
Cons
Desert region is a long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the Wait
Student Intern / Administrative Services (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 3, 2016
I had an internship at Metropolitan Water District of Southern California for a month

Pros
Wonderful place to work. Amazing benefits and employee assistance programs, flexible work schedules and sufficient leave hours. Employees are very kind and helpful.

Cons
The only con is the hiring process may take several months, but it is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for.
Internship (Design Unit) (Current Employee) –  californiaJuly 26, 2015
It is hard to get into Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, but it is a great company to work for.
It is very challenge environment and but job is quite hard
Pros
nothing
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 13Report

Want to know more about METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deployment Coordinatory
IT Deployment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 22, 2014
I work here as a consultant, its a great place to actually work for instead of consult for. Great everything. I am hoping to either get picked up or offered a position, if not I am looking for full time employment
Pros
Next to the train station so i take the Metro Link everyday
Cons
only a consultant, not a full time employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 15Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discrimination at it's finest...
Corrosion Control Engineer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 22, 2013
Intimidation tactics used on new employees...
Discrimination due to race and gender...
Complaint filed numerous times to EEO of company and nothing is done to resolve the situation...
Released due to retaliation for complaints...
Was this review helpful?Yes 102No 19Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits/Pension Plan and Job Security
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 20, 2013
This company is great if you are looking for a stable working environment and job security. Also, benefits are top notch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 34Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA Reviews by Job Title

METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA Reviews by Location