METSO Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 257 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5108
478
344
216
111
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 117 reviews matching the search See all 258 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about valve industry but stressful environment
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MAApril 26, 2018
Typical day at work consists of regular 8 hour days (possibility of mandatory 10 hour days and mandatory Saturdays) Everything is a MUST SHIP. Likeliness of a "Good Job" comment for upper management is very low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Specialist Assistant
Account Specialist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 5, 2018
Prepared spare parts and maintenance service quotations in a timely manner for the Fiber Business Line Worked with Engineers, Product Managers, and Logistics to ensure the customer's needs were satisfied Communicated with Sales Managers/Account Specialists and other internal staff to complete client requests Calculated pricing, entered, and confirmed orders in the BaaN system
Resolved invoicing and pricing disputes for clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hack machine shop
Supervisor/Machinist (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMarch 2, 2018
Lots of big work, sporadic, dependant on copper mining almost entirely. Old, loose, shakey machinery, little tooling, support. If you like spending your life trying to fix junk with junk, using only what's in your toolbox, this is for you.
Pros
Compensation, vacation, holidays
Cons
Hours, equipment, tooling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Lead Shipper (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 24, 2018
. shipping and receiving departments... Performing necessary SAP transactions for Shipping and Receiving stock. Reports any shipping or receiving Operate image handling software
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Disciplined Environment
Global Manufacturing Manager (Former Employee) –  WorldwideJanuary 3, 2018
A very enjoyable place to work with significant remuneration, The primary downside was the schedule, travel, and hours per day despite the great monetary reciprocation and benefits
Pros
Great Per Diem!
Cons
Required Travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company (and not the band!)
Asst. Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAJanuary 2, 2018
bad company to work for, go nowhere, cut throat, thankless, low-paying job, company is going to go under at the rate their going, management was very subpar
Pros
location, people
Cons
pay, management, policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice and relaxing place to work
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Clarksdale, MSDecember 28, 2017
The best job I ever had was able to acquire new skills that will help me in future employment .The pay was pretty decent and competitive for the area that we live in.
Pros
decent pay and great benifits
Cons
Not climate control
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Material Management Assistant I (Former Employee) –  York, PADecember 7, 2017
Loved working for Metso Minerals, only reason I left was due to a illness of my husband who needed 24 hour care. The management was wonderful and understanding to home life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work , learn and advance . Panty of opportunities for learning and being challenged . Great management group who always looking to
Field Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 30, 2017
Great place to work , learn and advance . Panty of opportunities for learning and being challenged . Great management group who always looking to advance employers.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
bad email system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my time there
Designer/Drafter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, AL 35201November 16, 2017
Good place to work, great coworkers, interesting job, learned a lot about the product. was able to experience a lot of learning moments, enjoyed the new product design that was taking place. shared a lot of design experience with younger coworkers.
Pros
excellent supervisor
Cons
was not willing to relocate to S.C.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of advancement
Expeditor/Purchasing (Current Employee) –  York, PANovember 1, 2017
I'm happy here. Just looking to grow and advance. I have a lot to offer. Business is back and forth and there have been many changes that have made things slightly more difficult in order to complete your job.
Pros
5 weeks vacation
Cons
Lack of andvancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Global Finance Business Partner - Services BU (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COOctober 30, 2017
Training was mostly done through experience and working with peers. Top level management structure changes too often and does confuse employees as to current strategy.
Pros
Ability to make decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metso
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MAOctober 12, 2017
This company allowed for my knowledge to grow in regards to automation and the valve business. I enjoyed working on projects and most importantly the relationships built doing B2B work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and friendly work culture
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 30, 2017
Customer focused
One stop solution provider
Customer focused with focus on well being for own employees
Training and keeping pace with latest technological advancement
Pros
Multinational company with projects across the globe.
Cons
large organisation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fair place to work
Manufacturing (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MASeptember 6, 2017
Get your money when you walk in the door because it's 1-2% raises from there on out. The place has no air conditioning AND no windows. Too many nepotism hires.

I love my job, just don't like how management has favorite people with special privilege's. I call it the good old boy plan. They let good old boys work overtime when they really don't have any work.
Pros
free turkey at Thanksgiving
Cons
lots of favoritism and discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Warrenton, MOAugust 29, 2017
It was a good work atmosphere. But management took no accountability for what went on out on the shop floor witch made it hard for workers to get behind them a lot of the time
Pros
Paid holidays
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not a fair place to work
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, MAAugust 28, 2017
Get your money when you walk in the door because it's 1-2% raises from there on out. The place has no air conditioning AND no windows. Too many nepotism hires.

I loved my job, just don't like how management has favorite people with special privilege's. I call it the good old boy plan. They let good old boys work overtime when they really don't have any work.
Pros
free turkey at Thanksgiving
Cons
lots of favoritism and discrimination
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace with Good Team
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 17, 2017
I unloaded trucks and inventoried items unloaded. I handed packaging slips to inventory manager. I marked items with item numbers and stocked shelves or took hot items directly to manufacturing for work orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good pay and benefits.
Export-Import Sales-Parts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCAugust 2, 2017
Worked here for a very long time, company relocated to SC, did not wish to move with the company. Made many contacts here both locally and internationally, enjoyed my time here.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Office closed due to relocation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  York, PA 17405July 27, 2017
Welding for Metso Minerals had its ups and downs. I leaned a lot from working there. It was a good job until the layoffs, then they shut down the York plant .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport