Miami Dade College Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 637 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5350
4166
390
218
113
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 634 reviews matching the search See all 637 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere!
will not post (Former Employee) –  HomesteadSeptember 15, 2018
Nice place to work! however, some dept heads are practicing discrimination I guess.
Had the nicest boss ever!(the first one)

second one, was unfair
Pros
Profesional atmosphere
Cons
distance, no breaks, lower wage I had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Less Gas for me since i go to school at Miami-Dade
MDC Kendall Bookstore (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 12, 2018
As i started working at Miami-Dade College Kendall Bookstore, it was a joying time for me to work there to gain experience, and meeting new people as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work - Low Salary
Online Faculty (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 11, 2018
Great place to work, great hours, but low salary. Pay is not frequent but the students are intelligent and accountable for every grade. They are wonderful.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
low salary and frequency of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, horrible pay.
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 11, 2018
It's an awesome place to work if you're a student, but minimal in pay. Chief is great! But the supervisors she placed under her were due to personal relationships.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Low pay, thirty minutes break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 29, 2018
Teaching adults from all over the world was most rewarding. They came from many counties to seek a better life and opportunity. I enjoyed teaching intensive English and language skills, as well as introduction to this country, as well as the general community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a lot better
Associate Graphic and Technology (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 29, 2018
Would like to see more coordination and more information less paperwork and more efficient process. It could be a lot better, to be honest by just giving more info and helping and guiding the students through the process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Dade Student
Intensive English Professor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 27, 2018
As an ESL instructor I was teaching students who were from different countries. I enjoy teaching the adults in my courses. I taught the middle level and it was great to get them to the next level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional yet caring work environment.
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 27, 2018
I am very happy to be employed by Miami Dade College. I plan to retire from this post in 20 years. A very understanding and supportive staff. Great job training and managerial leadership. I really like working there.
Pros
Professionalism, flexibility, healthy and productive work environment.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
math tutor
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2018
a typical day of work was busy. I learned how to teach students math. they were variety of culuture. it was an interesting place to work at. the manager were great.
Pros
lunch
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and completing my task
ASST. CHIEF OF PUBLIC SAFETY (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 23, 2018
A typical day at miami dade college is getting my coffee first and then going out my way in assisting students and staffs. There are times when things pick up a little bit, but nothing of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work at
Services Supervisor III (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 22, 2018
You were trained or given training in any position you took. Always recognized for your hard work. Administration, faculty and staff always are kind and praise those who do their jobs.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Raises are given the same for those who work and those who don't
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, required focus.
Admin Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 20, 2018
This place offers Part time, no more than 24 hrs.

Rarely someone gets Full Time opportunity.

What I do daily, anybody can do it, that's why job stability is not there.

Part time employees can't stay long due to little hrs.

Day to day can be chaotic, and lacks coordination.
Pros
Benefits are offered to full time employees.
Cons
few benefits for part timers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 17, 2018
Miami Dade College is a fast paced environment. Students come from different backgrounds. Many students are knowledgeable and others need to pick up the pace. This makes the teaching job challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hialeah, FLAugust 17, 2018
I loved working there very easy going environment. super nice employees very flexible work schedule. always felt excited about going to work because of how engaging it was.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work at in Miami Dade-County, Florida
Multimedia Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLAugust 15, 2018
Because of a position that my wife got in Georgia Public Schools, I am relocating. But my time at MDC was worthwhile and I will be hard pressed to find another place like it.
Pros
THe leadership team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but stressful
Academic and Career Advisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 14, 2018
I have been working for the college 16 years.I love higher education and have grown quite a bit in it, sometimes it can be extremely overwhelming and stressful but helping students is amazing
Pros
Helping students be successful
Cons
Having to be constantly counting numbers instead of seeing them as people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked 2-3 days a week with 4 months vacation without pay. Productive and enjoyable
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 9, 2018
I was a professor of English teaching students and adults English. This was to prepare them for college. The teaching job was very enjoyable because I was helping people and seeing results.
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a Given Day at work
Adjunct Professor of Mathematics (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 7, 2018
. I love Mondays, mostly because the day flies by in a flash. On a given day, during the early hours you will find me teaching my students, and speaking to the faculties, finding out – proactively – what their priorities are for the week, meeting with other employees for half hour to communicate the school’s policies and organizing the team schedules around those priorities. I do this on Monday so that the rest of the week is well organized and we can effectively use our faculties’ time in exceeding students expectations and avoid Friday evening surprises. Rest of the week goes in delivering the product(s), updating the status with the students, answering emails and calls from everybody's concerns. My role involves extensive management responsibilities and staying organized is not an option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Nature and Needs of Exceptional Student Education (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 31, 2018
A typical day was to mentor students and teach Special needs classes

I learned various skills for assisting students of all nationalities.

The management was supportive.


The workplace culture was friendly and positive


Language barrier was the hardest part of the job.


The students learning and willingness t learn was the positive aspect of this job.
Pros
The availabilty of assistance from coworkers
Cons
Lack of supplies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Director, Computer Courtyard (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 31, 2018
Typically I was either in charge of the computer training room, giving classes to professors and students, writing a grant, or writing manuals and curriculum.

I learnt the better the job you did the more you were asked to do and rewarded for it.

Immediate Management was afraid of anyone doing good and would take credit of whet their charges did. Upper management was supportive.

The workplace environment was friendly and comfortable.


The hardest part of the job was getting students to communicate in English.


The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing students learn and get ahead.
Pros
Varying tasks and meeting people from all over the worl in oerson and on the internet
Cons
Language barriers and prejudices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miami Dade College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight