Miami Dade County Public Schools Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 511 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5213
4169
393
221
115
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 510 reviews matching the search See all 511 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplaces
Substitue Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLJuly 19, 2018
Be a substitute teacher is an excellent job. I love my job at MDPS but I need benefits it wil be great that considered substitute teachers as a full time job.
Pros
Unstressed job
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miami Dade schools
General Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 16, 2018
Building Phone operator

Greet and assist all guest

Processes schools daily attendance

Check in all tardy students

Completes all copy request

Fax

File

Assist Administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gradifying
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 13, 2018
Working as a teacher is gratifying to me, because of the growth of the youths that I am a part off. Seeing their enthusiasm and cheerful disposition brightens my day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 11, 2018
Work day started with students and ended with students.
I learned to be patient.
I learned to collaborate with others.
I learned to plan with others.
I learned to be a team player.
Pros
profession
Cons
testing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive, resourceful, mentoring
Reading/Writing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 10, 2018
A typical day at my Miami Dade location at Phyllis Wheatley was instructional or training. The staff was excellent which was rewarding to interact with true professionals. Management allowed teacher to focus on instruction. The hardest part was that it was a transient population and your student population was lost quickly and added to quickly and record-keeping was difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting somthing everyday
COMMUNITY INVOLEMENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 7, 2018
it can be challenging when kids come to school and they don't have the tools they need to be successful. They tend to act out and I have to become stern and loving at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no place for a family man
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Miami Lakes, FLJuly 2, 2018
no good low pay too much work no benefits people don't come to work bad staffing no leadership no good union I would not work there again for amount of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Temporary Instructor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 13, 2018
Great company to work for. I enjoyed the workplace culture. Other staff members are always eager and willing to help out when needed. Will recommend to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning place and place to advance
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Homestead, FLJune 13, 2018
The school board is a great place to work and advance. Easy and friendly atmosphere. Amazing team of people, that always had the children in mind. willingness to work with children
Pros
great team builders
Cons
stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent years
Support Administrator to the Region Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 7, 2018
I retired from MDCPS
It were great years. I started as a teacher, until the position of administrator. I am retired from the District and I am looking forward to a job from my house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 6, 2018
It was great, had the chsnce to work with kids and get a perspective on teaching. It was a program via my childcare high school class, we go for 2 hrs to an elemantary, per day to mentor and help teachers and kids. I had a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Young Woman Preparatory AcademyJune 4, 2018
Great Place to Work. I recommend for professional and paraprofessional people to work in MDCPS. Generally the administrative staff are very prepared and develop strong competence. I like to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more opportunities
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLJune 3, 2018
covered grade level Kindergarten to 12 grade. Sometimes I covers alternative education grade levels and student with disabilities physically and mentally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and boring
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  Hialeah Gardens, FLJune 2, 2018
Teaching has become a joke . Everything is geared toward test scores. Teachers have become like robots. Creativity is no longer. Support is obsolete.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and enviroment was plecent
School Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 30, 2018
A typical day was smiles from children and adults . I learned from every child because they were always happy. You will never know what to expect. The management was very professional and team work was be best help of the day. I don't consider there were anything difficult if you put yourself in the position of a child. the enjoyable part are the graduation. The next challenge.
Pros
learning enviroment
Cons
Part Time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunatics running the insane asylum
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 27, 2018
Public education has been tanking for 10-15 years now. Upper level personnel do not care for the well being of teachers or students. There is a general "just get it done" attitude. Principals do not defend their teachers from parents. Parents run the show. The pay is not adjusted for inflation. The paid is at 10k below what it should be. No positive support. Run like an oppressive government.
Pros
Kids.
Cons
no breaks, planning times often cut, no support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 24, 2018
You spend the day being their teacher, teaching them the work that was suppose to be taught that day. you get the lunch break and if they have special activities you have that time as well
Pros
breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miami-Dade Public Schools is an excellent place to work.
School Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 23, 2018
On a typical work day, I arrive on time to greet my students prior to them going to their classes. The staff at both of the schools that I provide my services are quite cordial and respectful. The most difficult part of my job is trying to work around my schedule in order to see my students for therapeutic sessions. It is hampered due to parents coming into the school without appointments, meetings, physical altercations amongst students, etc. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to obtain positive feed-back from my students as to how an intervention during a session has helped them in making appropriate decisions.
Pros
Having the ability of being on vacation for two (2) months.
Cons
Health care keeps on increasing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic administration, love my school.
Temporary Instructor (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLMay 23, 2018
Love the school that I'm at. The administration is wonderful. The assistant principal schedules the substitute teachers and she is very organized. I actually get plenty of advanced notice and a choice of days and classrooms to teach in.
Pros
Great administration and teachers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Hialeah, FLMay 23, 2018
Wonderful workplace culture and learned many different roles . Alway found individuals that were will to help. It is a very enjoyable place to work if at the right school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miami Dade County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight