Miami Dade County Public Schools Culture reviews

Found 103 reviews matching the search See all 596 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse working environment
TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 7, 2019
I really enjoyed working at this company. My peers and co-workers were very helpful in my development and helping me succeed and push myself to the next level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mdcps
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 25, 2019
Typical day of work: Prepare board and preview items, greet students, begin lesson and continue with discussion. Assign assignment and discuss other relevant matters
Learned a great deal of myself and profession: time management, understanding and identifying student needs
Management is concerned with scores
Culture is collaborative withing department only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  South Florida, FLMarch 11, 2019
I enjoyed my years there... Now I see they were the best to work with . I enjoyed my coworker and the staff and students. I learned a lot from the training class and miss them.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Not enough people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working with pre-k classroom
Para-Professional III (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 9, 2019
I enjoy working in the VPK classroom.The most enjoyable part of the job are my colleagues. I enjoy working with them and enjoy a very relaxed learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Para Professional II Educator (K-12) (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 5, 2018
Good place to work, teamwork is a plus and leadership is completely on point. Always willing to guide and influence working environment. Professional development is always key.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A political environment
Staff Assistant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 3, 2018
A cliquish environment.
Work and promotions were based upon the departments mission. However, the best candidate was not always selected.
The workplace culture was very fickled.
Pros
I use to be a great company to retire from.
Cons
Very political environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty bad administration
Language Teacher (English/Spanish) (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 13, 2018
Bad work environment all around. Administration/Management is incompetent, unprofessional and retaliatory. bureaucracy, dirty politics, nepotism, vindictive behavior not only staff but Admin....No fair treatment across the board but favortism/nepotism.The union for support staff is horrible and have connections MDPC management-not on your side they set you up to fail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive professional
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 6, 2018
positive and professional place to work for those who enjoy working with students. great place to develop education skills and help students achieve their goals.
Pros
great perks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
No Contract (Current Employee) –  Aventura, FLOctober 23, 2018
The day begin with picking the students up from the cafeteria. I learn from the different cultures in the South Florida area. There are many different languages to learn. Spanish is the most popular in Miami.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work at
CLERICAL ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Homestead, FLOctober 22, 2018
MDCPS is the best place to work at. I absolutely love my job. I just need something in my career field with better pay as well. I would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work if you come from the private sector
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 21, 2018
The public sector is one that is hard for an employee to get used to. The culture in the organization is very political in nature and one in which you will advance if you're liked or have friends in the right places rather than for your hard work or credentials.
Pros
Pension, time off, holidays
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Food Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Homestead, FLSeptember 20, 2018
working with Miami dads county public schools, is very educational you get to learn about different culture with in the students. I work in the food department cafeteria were I prepare different kinds of menus for lunch which is very exciting.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun workplace
After School Care Activity Leader III (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 5, 2018
Typical day at work using the latest Raptor program and securing school grounds. The hardest part is dealing with heat but its a simple job. The managment at my school is amazing.
Cons
Outside heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The principals I worked for was pro teacher.
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami Lakes, FLAugust 29, 2018
My department head was two faced and couldn't be trusted. She was not well liked by other teachers. Working with the kids was the best part of the job. I didn't like the amount of paper work and the school politics.
Pros
For the most part the staff got along very well.
Cons
It takes on bad apple to ruin everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding job
Assistant Manager / Cook II (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 31, 2018
Working with kids working with different cultures making food for the schools with an outstanding job mainly meeting new teachers new students over the years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 11, 2018
Work day started with students and ended with students.
I learned to be patient.
I learned to collaborate with others.
I learned to plan with others.
I learned to be a team player.
Pros
profession
Cons
testing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Temporary Instructor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 13, 2018
Great company to work for. I enjoyed the workplace culture. Other staff members are always eager and willing to help out when needed. Will recommend to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning place and place to advance
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Homestead, FLJune 13, 2018
The school board is a great place to work and advance. Easy and friendly atmosphere. Amazing team of people, that always had the children in mind. willingness to work with children
Pros
great team builders
Cons
stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and enviroment was plecent
School Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 30, 2018
A typical day was smiles from children and adults . I learned from every child because they were always happy. You will never know what to expect. The management was very professional and team work was be best help of the day. I don't consider there were anything difficult if you put yourself in the position of a child. the enjoyable part are the graduation. The next challenge.
Pros
learning enviroment
Cons
Part Time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Hialeah, FLMay 23, 2018
Wonderful workplace culture and learned many different roles . Alway found individuals that were will to help. It is a very enjoyable place to work if at the right school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miami Dade County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 596 reviews
5248
4188
3114
228
118

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

4.5Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss