Michelin Employee Reviews in Spartanburg, SC

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 1,590 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tired and Stressed
Area Responsible (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 11, 2019
Michelin has steadily gone downhill ever since the Michelin family stopped being in control. It used to be a pretty great place to work. But the benefits have dropped tremendously and the management in place now acts like this is the first job they have ever had being in charge. The company is starting to follow the same path as the textile industry did. It is very disheartening to see the writing on the wall and know that there is nothing you can do about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress atmosphere
Front Line Leader (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 18, 2019
75% of the day is spent in meetings. 25% would be paperwork and talking to operators.

I learned the quality system and guidelines

Demanding of time and energy.

Production oriented and driven.

Time was the hardest to work with and have an outside life.

Made many friendship the will always last.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No breaks on many days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright Place
Reliability Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJanuary 12, 2019
Michelin is not a bad place to work. They have slowly gone downhill over the past few years putting people in management positions that can not make the proper business decisions. Managers cycle through like clockwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US3 is a joke
Tire Builder (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 29, 2018
Michelin overall would be a great place to work IF after the first year you got raises every year, or they didn't put a cap on the pay your making in certain areas in which you have 50 different jobs to do! Also, dealing with management is nothing short of being back in high school! They gossip, tell everyone's personal business to everyone else, there is favoritism throughout the plant! Spartanburg US3 has a lot of bullying going on also! And ANY accident is YOUR fault, they do not accept anything short of any accident is avoidable, BUT you don't have ANY updated machines that aren't over 40-50 years old! Go figure! And I've learned that this particular plant has it's own set of rules that doesn't exist at the others! You are constantly being pushed for numbers that are not possible without sacrificing quality, or yourself! They don't care about safety until someone gets hurt, then management is running around like chickens with their heads cut off! Maintenance doesn't have a clue, when they leave from a project it's still broke! Many people call the Bee Line because they are scared of losing their jobs if they said something to managent in which in return will turn into retaliation! I've heard good things about Michelin, but working there, or should I say US3 is nothing short of ridiculous!
Pros
The benefits
Cons
They don't pay enough for the rotations you work, baically taking your life away! And US3 are the ONLY ones with 5 different rotations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun to work there. Hours are to crazy.hate the sqing shifts there
Forklift driver/ machine operator (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 4, 2018
The hours are too crazy there.it is swing shifts and a lot of people hate it you have to work long hours running a machine and driving a forklift. It's very very fast pace job. When I was there there management was rude and didn't care about you.
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
Short breaks and hard to adjust to schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent pay
Representative Maintenance Person (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 23, 2018
Michelin was overall good to me but the schedule at the spartanburg plant is not family friendly, it would have been a different situation if US3 WOULD HAVE WENT WITH US1 schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better places to work
Tire builder (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMay 3, 2018
Michelin has a poor management team and rotating swing shifts if you don’t mind being treated like dirt ( since I can’t write what I really want to say) then this would be a good job but I would never recommend anyone to work here
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not worth the money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company - great core values
Strategic Projects Manager (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMarch 5, 2018
An industry leader and a worldwide company. Positions in the company range from extremely high tech to rubber loaders on the production floor. Great core values are almost always a priority.
Pros
Great people currently work at Michelin
Cons
Culture is quality based and change is very slow and methodical; quite often too slow and methodical
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Extruder Operator (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 5, 2018
Michelin has great pay and benefits. the work is very hard. If you are not able to work hard and long hours, this is not the job for you and don't suggest applying if so
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SC 29304January 17, 2018
Working 12 hours days typically beginning at 0730. Hard manual labor but decent pay and management.
Learned a lot about the processes involved with making tires as well as focusing on a quality state of mind.
Easy team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Tire builder (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SC 29303January 16, 2018
Michelin North America was one of if not the best job i have ever had. Extremely good benefits and pay was definitely one of the best. Fast paced environment but definitely a job to have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with competitive pay and benefits
Reliability Technician Level 4 (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCDecember 19, 2017
typical day at work is productive and challenging
I learned a lot about electrical troubleshooting
Management is fair
culture is good
hardest part of my job most days is dealing with the trying o understand why the company wont spend the money to upgrade old equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swing shifts
O dock Lead (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCNovember 30, 2017
The swing shifts at Michelin are the major downside to Michelin. Michelin has a great benefits package. People were really nice to work for. Just the crazy hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits!
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCOctober 17, 2017
The culture is strong. The work schedule is a major draw back. It is hard to balance family and working on a 12 hour rotating shift.There are many opportunities for advancement and the company will provide you the tools to make advancement if you want to advance . You have to ask for training to advance. But the company has a great training or onboarding experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Strict Policy leaves no room for error.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 26, 2017
I did everything I could to cover the policy but they didn't give me a chance to adjust to there strict policy. Tire builder is the worst area to work. pays well but get treated bad at times.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 18, 2017
just as the title says if your looking for a job that pays good. then this is the place for you, however the hours are pretty bad as you swing shifts on a daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Extruder Operator (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 8, 2017
Good place to work. Good environment to be apart of with positive coworkers. Management could be better and do more to boost morale. There can also be more incentives to promote hardwork.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Screw Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCAugust 26, 2017
Its a good job good people some of them i wouldn't leave if i stayed a little closer i love my job i just need something closer to home i have young kids in school
Pros
Layed back great work envy
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Stable Work
Line Driver (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 31, 2017
I've been there a long time, it's a faced paced, steady work environment. Swinging shifts isn't for every one but if you get used to it then you will be fine. Pay is competitive
Cons
Swinging Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HTI on-site management
Crew Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 14, 2017
Work is fairly simple. Everything was repetitive. Management was lacking due to having a new on-site manager who nothing about production. I enjoyed the my crew and working with others from other crews
Pros
Allowed overtime, occasional free lunches, laid back enviroment
Cons
Management, communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michelin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,590 reviews
5608
4544
3305
286
147

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight