MICHELS Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIMarch 14, 2018
very good place to work everyone there was very nice and friendly. They offered fair pay to everyone no matter your age. The working conditions were also great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborer
Laborer (Former Employee) –  OhioJanuary 8, 2018
It's a union contractor so pay n benefits are good if the work is out of town you don't have a home life. But overall I really liked working for them it's a good living
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard place to work at with all the traveling we have to
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIOctober 30, 2017
Get paving machines set up first thing then pave all day until goal is reached. It all depened on what your skilled trade was. Mine was being a laboror so i did everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced tunnel construction
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COOctober 16, 2017
safety meetings. tunnel and shaft excavations. working with re bar, tunnel forms, operating various types of large and small equipment. rock bolting, ring steel and pouring concrete for stability.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
demanding work and hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Project Manager/Estimator (Former Employee) –  Tumwater, WASeptember 7, 2017
The people you work with will create a bond that will last forever. Everyone in the office is always there to support you.
Going to miss everyone and their support.
Pros
People
Cons
Work Load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to advance
Master Electrician (Current Employee) –  Neenah, WIApril 21, 2017
Through my years of employment at Michel's Power I felt it was a very safety oriented and professional company when it came to the running of projects. But as far as advancement, it was nearly impossible to move up the ladder. Even with all the time and money I invested personally in my education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
CDL/groundman (Former Employee) –  North DakotaMarch 15, 2017
Fast paced very safety orientated. Would advise anyone who likes to work hard and is responsible with important job duties to apply. Also awesome benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Estimator (Current Employee) –  Neenah, WIFebruary 2, 2017
Growing Company with many opportunities. Diverse workplace with employees that strive to accel in their areas of expertise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits otherwise horrible place to work.
Compliance (Former Employee) –  CorporateNovember 29, 2016
Health benefits were great. Otherwise you are under paid and unappreciated. Can't move up unless you sleep with management. They will find any reason to fire you. HR has no backbone. Will make promises to get you hired but won't keep them. Extremely high turnover rate.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Pay, harassment, lies
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the checks cleared
Miner/Foreman (Former Employee) –  new yorkNovember 22, 2016
decent i worked 2nd shift so i did not see the best they had.the work moved slow and i didn't understand there management style.they did keep a very safe work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report

Want to know more about MICHELS?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, great facility to work at, pay structure needs work
Equipment Catalog Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, WIOctober 11, 2016
They treat you well, but they won't pay you what they worth unless you really complain and drive at it or threaten to quit. Other than the pay scale and some lack of communication due to large size it's not a bad place to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
HSE Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Paso Robles, CAOctober 9, 2016
Great company to work for, many different opportunities to explore with their many divisions. Great people to work with from management to the field level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
use extreme caution when being recruited by Michels
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIJune 27, 2016
While employed in the yard at Michels earning $20+ per hour, the work environment between supervisors and technicians is mostly good; only the usual minor conflicts which are normal in any workplace occur. My advice to anyone reading this is to understand that the corporate office and the yard in Brownsville, WI have a definite, distinct,"us v. them" attitude. As a yard employee, you are "them." They will manufacture a reason to fire you at any time on their whim. The Michels HR Dept. are helpless jellyfish - you are not protected in the event of a conflict with anybody. Before you accept a job in the Michels yard, you work on thin ice. Even if you are an exemplorary employee, as the author of this review was considered (excellent attendance, work ethic, safety record and highly respected by team members), your position at Michels is always at risk.
Pros
fair wages
Cons
long hours, not enough bathrooms, dangerous safety violations, ineffective HR Dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, busy everyday
Field Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Neenah, WIApril 30, 2016
I love my job! Starting a family recently has led me to have to be home all the time now instead of every few weeks. Long hours, good pay, and challenging work make time fly.
Pros
Great people, good opportunities
Cons
Not home often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Welders Helper (Former Employee) –  WisconsinMarch 17, 2016
Most jobs were six ten hour days and required traveling. Pipeliners have a great sense of pride! One of the best pipelining companies out there!
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
Very hard work, living out of a hotel nine months a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day hours, hardest part and most enjoyable of job
Assistant Project Manager (Current Employee) –  USAJanuary 26, 2016
Can work between 8 to 16 hours a day depending on if home at corporate or in the field.

Hardest part of job is being away from home.

Most enjoyable part of job is the amount and array of people you meet.
Pros
Diverse Company to work for
Cons
Away from home alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
payroll supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2016
Michels is a very friendly place to work. A typical day is process or review payroll. Review benefits or contacting union representative or field engineers,
Pros
free breakfast, holiday partys
Cons
long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Management
Corporate Employee (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WIDecember 1, 2015
If you are not being hired as a supervisor or management watch who you talk to and even do favors for. Seemed like everyone was out to stab someone in the back to help advance themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety comes first!
Office Manager/ Payroll and Human Resource (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, WISeptember 15, 2015
Being in the Pipeline Division, safety will always come first.

Taught me a lot about life and people's way and different cultures. You take the good with the bad.

This job has taught me to go-go-go and be proficient while doing it! I have tweaked any weakness that I thought I had. People depend on YOU and it feels good to be able to help them and have them appreciate you.
Pros
Met a lot of people along the way
Cons
Travelled with each project
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prep material, drive equipment to right of way
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  oregon, roseburgAugust 1, 2015
great group of guys to work with, loved the area we were working in and had no complaints about the company or any other matter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MICHELS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 31 reviews
512
47
36
24
12

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture