Michigan Public Health Institute Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Provider Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIJanuary 28, 2018
I love my job. I had no intention of ever leaving this job. This was where I planned to retire. The call center is being moved to a different state contractor, therefore our job is ending.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mphi
Provider Support Representative State Contracted (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIJanuary 25, 2018
MPHI is an great place to work. Unfortunately the client pulled there contract so my time here is limited. They provided great benefit and have other employment opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Management
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIDecember 4, 2017
One of the best benefits of working for MPHI is their support of work/life balance. However, there is very limited opportunities for career growth. It's very easy to get stuck in an entry level role, therefore their staff tunover rate is pretty high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits nice people
Team Lead Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIMay 10, 2017
I have learned how the Medicaid system works and a little with billing.
I believe that management is good however they like to micromanage and that makes it hard to work under them.
Hardest part of the job is when we cannot help our callers. The most enjoyable is when we can help them with every thing they are inquiring on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides opportunity for professional growth and development.
Project Director (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MI 48864March 29, 2017
Outstanding internal / external interactions resulting in diversity within assignments allowing for enhancement of the quality of life for State residents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Call Center environment
Provider Support Services Navigation Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIJanuary 22, 2017
Controlled Call center environment. With minimal supervision agents provide outbound support to medical provider's specializing in Medicaid enrollment and billing. This is a very steady healthy environment with a standard 40 hour work week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work .
Medicaid Processor (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 14, 2016
Team player,outgoing,friendly ,gets along with others well and very appreciative for the little things .I live to today like it's my last day 😆
Pros
People friendly, out going, hard worker
Cons
Dislike gossip, drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Provider Support Rep Level-II (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIMay 14, 2016
I loved my job however it was contracted by state and the contract will be ending very shortly. The management on a day to day was great, however the short notice of job loss was a bit stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work environment
Atypical Provider Specialist (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIMarch 2, 2016
Too many inconsistencies to list.
Call center tries to work outside of the human resources department.
Multiple changes daily as to what is expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but lack of advancement oppurtunities
Provider Support (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MINovember 16, 2015
I enjoy my co-workers and supervisors. However, as I continue my education, there is lack of advancement oppurtunities. Pay is reasonable and we do get off the same days as the State of Michigan.
Pros
Hour long lunch
Cons
sick/vacation accrual too low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
software consultant (Current Employee) –  lansing miSeptember 28, 2015
good place to work. great work culture very punctual staff and we use agile for software development. WE have a great team of talented software developers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive human resource staff
Prison Partner Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 22, 2015
Quick response to employees needs. Respectful and professional staff. Lot of health and extra after-work activities. Happy to answer questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not awful
Contractor / Provider Enrollment Tech (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 21, 2015
They pay is very nice, but communication is lacking. Did not know a lot about my position until I started and also did not know it was temporary until after I started.
Pros
Pay
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with competent diverse prfessionals
Ryan White Part D Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIFebruary 20, 2015
Excellent work environment with strong capable leadership, culturally competent with strong team approach. If a permanent position opened up I would be glad to work here.
Pros
Opportunities to learn and sharpen skills and knowledge.
Cons
My position was a contract positon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great co-workers
Provider Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIJanuary 28, 2013
I would assist Michigan Medicaid providers on submitting or adjusting claims. I would also assist providers in reviewing and analizing medicaid claims that were denied. I loved the balance in the calls and how the calls were unique and developing relationships with the providers.
Pros
benefits, company gym and personal trainers, company functions and outings.
Cons
no room for advancement within the call center department
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented and flexible but suffocating
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIDecember 13, 2012
Very family oriented and offers great flexibility. However everything is very political and there is no room for movement (going up). There is a lot of talk about how MPHI is a flat organization but it is very much the opposite. Usually, supervisors and program directors are too busy to care what their employees are actually doing or support their work, therefore employee morale is extremely low and gossiping occurs left and right.
Pros
flexibility in hours; family oriented
Cons
co-workers are gossipy, not a lot of support from supervisors, low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was excellent
Lead Departmental Technician (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIAugust 8, 2012
However the advancement was mediocre. No Benefits, PTO or vacation...well it was awarded to a few but not all.
Pros
no attendance percentage, no clock punching
Cons
no healthcare benefits or annual leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Events Planner (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIJuly 14, 2012
There are professionals at MPHI that are wonderful to work with and learn from, overall it's a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michigan Public Health Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 19 reviews
56
49
32
22
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Michigan Public Health Institute Reviews by Location