Michigan State University Extension Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environemnt
4-H SPIN Club Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roscommon, MIFebruary 13, 2019
There was a great work environment and ethic at MSU. I would have a lot of meetings and travel time within a week. There was a lotof opportunities for growth within and without the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Student Programmer (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MIOctober 30, 2016
I was allowed to work and grow at my own pace while still balancing my class work. I was also able to learn things not taught in my classes.
Pros
Variety of responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Administrative Assistant (Temporary Position) (Former Employee) –  Belgrade, MTJune 8, 2016
The work atmosphere was professional and very pleasant. It was a great experience and learned about horticulture and 4H.
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
Temporary employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Program Instructor (Current Employee) –  Clinton Twp, MIFebruary 14, 2016
This job has an excellent benefit package. If you like field work this job has many opportunities to work in the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Assistant
Clerical (Current Employee) –  Benton Harbor, MIFebruary 4, 2015
I work 8:30 - 5:00, Monday through Friday. I answer phones, wait on customers, assist with projects and handle all the financial transactions for the office.
Pros
Great university to work for and good benefits.
Cons
Barely any work and no challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people with a bit of stress
Program Associate II (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIAugust 27, 2013
A typical day was spent trying to recruit schools to present nutrition programs at, and preparing for presentations with senior citizens. I learned how to work with very diverse age groups. The management was solid, even in a time of transition. The co workers were fun to work with. The hardest part of the job the the preparation of the food ahead of time to enable you to present the food demonstrations in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of the job was spending time with, and helping people learn that there is more than one way to do something/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 21, 2013
Michigan State University Extension is a great place to work. Management is fair and that want you to grow as an employee. I don't get to see my Co-Workers because most of our work is done in the field. Nevertheless, when we are together we all get along with each other.

The most enjoyable part of my job is working with legislators and children.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational workplace with plenty of room to grow
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MichiganJanuary 3, 2012
Working here I learned so many things through the various programs they offer like Horticulture, Food & Nutrition, Birth-5, Home Maintenance and Agriculture. This organization offered self-help and educational programs for county residents for free or low-cost to them. That's what i loved about working here, they ENRICHED THE COMMUNITY!! :-)
Pros
working for both a university/government office
Cons
grant funded position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michigan State University Extension. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
55
42
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Michigan State University Extension Reviews by Location

Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?