Microtel Inn & Suites Employee Reviews

Found 624 reviews matching the search See all 688 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feels like working for a family being im the one thats been there the least which is over a year
housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Opelika, ALMarch 11, 2019
The place is amazing and the employees we are all like family and work tgether. If i get doen i go to help and make sure all others are done and if not i help them complete.
Pros
family riented environment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAMarch 11, 2019
It was an ok place to work. It was fast paced with a laid back feel. We took care of our local power plant when there was severe weather. People were always happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Laundry Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaFebruary 24, 2019
The time I been working in Microtel, was a real experience for me , because it was my first job and Without any experience, then with the time finally I got a experience and knowledge how to work in the business, and saw how is managed a hotel
Pros
Free breakfast, internet, conference room, business room, laundry., good housekeepers, friendly personal, cleans rooms.
Cons
Short breaks, not benefits, must work every day mostly not day off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houseman
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXFebruary 21, 2019
I picked up the trash outside, and take it out multitasking. I sweep, mop the floors, clean the windows, sweep the stairway, vacuum hallways, and clean around the pool area as well. I really love that job so much, and I even clean inside the elevators.
Pros
Working hard, and enjoy doing what I love best
Cons
slow season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Place
Desk Clerk-Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMFebruary 20, 2019
Arriving in the morning checking the guest out of the rooms in the system. Making sure no balance is due or anything wrong with the room. Getting the guest input on the stay, room and breakfast. Always best to get the guest opinion, so the correction can bet made.
Pros
Working at your pace
Cons
when the system is not properly working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok working here
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDFebruary 12, 2019
Was ok working for this company. Great nice coworkers.
Was easy, not good pay but not bad either.
Management were very nice ppl. Great crew. Nice schedule.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No overtime pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did employee's wrong
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAFebruary 5, 2019
They garnished my wages and was pocketing the money and checks would bounce to the state childsupport. They would not out money in the property.to cover up there mistakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all horrible place to work
Night Auditor and Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Princeton, WVFebruary 3, 2019
Worked hours of over time that were not paid for. Did not have the supplies needed to do job. Had to turn company into get paid money that was owed to us. Worked 8 hours only got paid for 7.5. Never received promised raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid management
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Keyser, WVFebruary 1, 2019
I had a great experience working there in the beginning but once I moved on from maintenance to management it became a grueling job. I would work extremely long hours, paid salary, no bonuses or compensation, no benefits. Management is the plateau, not much room for moving up after that and upper management really doesn't want anyone moving up. The company is focused primarily on personal income. Meaning the top dogs want to fill their pockets and will sacrifice whatever is necessary to do so.
Pros
Slow days were nice
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Relaxing
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Raton, NMJanuary 25, 2019
I love whyndam properties. Well kept property. The managers were fair and reasonable. Maintenance was spot on accurate. Plenty on supplies to complete rooms
Pros
Friendly staff and customers
Cons
No lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJanuary 23, 2019
Bad management with little to no job security. Very low pay, and no guarantee of hours. Lots of downtime for studying was a plus, and good coworkers as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
House Keeper (Current Employee) –  Tomah, WIJanuary 22, 2019
it really is a great place to work. The management is wonderful and care about the employees and their families. Housekeeping isn't the easiest job but coworkers and management make it much easier.
Pros
Discounted Rooms
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manager was a great person to work for.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 15, 2019
It was over all a great place to work at. The manager worked with you on your hours & was generally a very nice person. The other employees were great to work with.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don’t recommend
Microtel Inn housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Bath, NYJanuary 14, 2019
I don’t recommend this place. As a guest or as an employee. The employees disrespect you like your nothing and then management is ridiculous. I didn’t know if I worked that day or not unless I called that morning. They play with you and it’s terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if it has good management
Front Desk Manager/Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Albertville, ALJanuary 14, 2019
Bad management will make or break your working experience at any hotel company! The pay isnt the best nor is there room for much advancement. Its a good place for steady income, just not much of it.
Pros
Meeting the wide variety of people
Cons
Short to no breaks. Low pay. No room for advancement. Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and fun place to work
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 11, 2019
I loved working at the microtel it was a great job. The manager was a little off. I would love the hours and the pay. I had vacation pay and sick days here.
Pros
Vacation timr
Cons
No health care ect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microtel
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 11, 2019
This job was a very good job to have. I made beds and cleaned up the rooms. Guests liked the interaction and I was very friendly and nice to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and long hours
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJanuary 8, 2019
Work starts at 9:00 am until finish which depends largely on the amount or rooms to be cleaned and the number of available housekeepers for that day. Management is great and work culture is professional. The hardest part of the job is when you have a lot of check-outs to get ready before check-in time . Most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers.
Pros
professional environment and great co-workers
Cons
Working most week-ends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed atmosphere
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJanuary 7, 2019
This was a very laid back position that allowed me to increase my customer service skills. Ran the front desk and got to promote our area attractions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Atmosphere
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Gulf Shores, ALJanuary 2, 2019
Microtel Inn had a relaxed working atmosphere where everyone worked as a team. Pay wasn't great but the tasks were not stressful or complicated at all.
Pros
Relaxed Atmosphere
Cons
Lack of Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microtel Inn & Suites. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 688 reviews
5203
4170
3180
263
172

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight