Microtel Inn & Suites Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJune 16, 2018
Management at Microtel speaks to their employees as though the housekeepers are less important than anyone else in the workplace. Competitive games were used to "bring employees together" but in reality caused a major walk out of housekeepers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was only part time
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVJune 15, 2018
My position was only part time . The small amount of time I invested into the company, I can say it was a positive, energetic atmosphere that was very supportive
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draining environment
Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OKJune 13, 2018
The hotel itself is great and si are the owners but the management was not up to par. They also don't do holiday pay. With better management and a full staff it could be a great place to work. I do believe the previous manager is no longer employed with the company.
Cons
No lunch break, holidays, or sicks days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microtel
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tuscumbia, ALJune 12, 2018
Microtel was very flexible in scheduling. They would work around my class es and let you off for time needed. I worked overnight and never had a problem in the place. You have to do regular security checks as with any other hotel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive workplace, poor management
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 10, 2018
The management was lackluster, housekeepers never did their job and nothing was ever done about it. As the evening worker i received all the incoming guests and all the complaints from the lack of work, as i moved the information to my manager nothing was ever done about it and instead the blame was pinned to me. I ended up leaving them recently.
Pros
Work at your own pace, relaxed
Cons
No actual breaks, no benefits, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job I liked at the time.
Front Desk/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Mount Airy, NCJune 2, 2018
I enjoyed learning the hotel business. I learned more about customer service which has helped me on my employment journey. I would not mind working that venue again.
Pros
Interesting.
Cons
A little boring after rooms were all rented and daily balancing was complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Housekeeper/Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chili Center, NYMay 30, 2018
The management is awful. Would of been a better work environment...... if your in a lower position , you get treated like poorly. Honestly if that changed it would be a better place.
Pros
Discount on other microtel
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and calm environment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 29, 2018
Typical job duties range from dusting and vacuuming guestrooms to sanitizing bathrooms and keeping lobbies and other public areas looking neat and tidy.
Pros
Calm environment
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have had better jobs
front desk clerk (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMay 24, 2018
When i first got hired at this job I was in laundry within 2 weeks new owner came in and fired me saying they didnt need a laundry person. I then came Back as a housekeeper and I moved my way up to front desk.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an easy job
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Ocala, FLMay 20, 2018
The company fails to train employees properly. The job is easy, however it involves a lot of computer usage and that’s where it gets confusing. For me at least, I’m not tech savvy.
Pros
Good people
Cons
It is not a good job if you’re trying to live off of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Macon, GAMay 19, 2018
I really enjoy working here, I like mana, coworkers, but just not
enough hours, and never rotating weekends. but great place to work. love my ceo he is the best. The place is clean, decent class of people u get to meet..everyone is treated with respect..Great family place to work.i started out with good full time hours now they have been cut do to hiring of another person.
Pros
meeting new people daily
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Manager ruins a great job.
Breakfast Attendant (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, DEMay 19, 2018
This was a nice place to work till crazy Manager came in and under paid and over worked all her loyal people that were there. Then paid the new hires more and gave them any hrs. They wanted. Also caused so much drama, imature, and talked disrespectful. There was no one to help us either. She was it. Talk to people who work there 1st to see how manament is. Makes all the difference.
Pros
Customers were a joy, breakfast was easy, supivisor position easy.
Cons
Management, unhappy co-workers., Long hours and no days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many downs than ups
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCMay 10, 2018
Poor management and can never work your way up. Drama amongst gossiping between work. Bad energy from some housekeepers. Laundry work is slow and never team work. Housekeepers are banned from getting a room where they work at. Only get paid 7.25 a hour.
Pros
Free breakfast, nor timed on doing rooms
Cons
No benefits, bad pay, bad environment, no raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very productive positive and friendly environment very professional
Housekeeper, Maid (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMay 7, 2018
They where very honest friendly employers very professional and very grateful always good to us on Christmas and other holiday as well they was very flexible with if u need days off and would offer extra hours if they had them to try to help out if u needed
Pros
Discount on room
Cons
Short bresks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Breakfast Attendant (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 6, 2018
This isn't a job I would plan at being for a long time. The management is very unprofessional, the hours suck. There are no benefits either. Wouldn't apply unless was last option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 30, 2018
My experience wasn't that great, the job was fast paced, not a lot of help when needed. Laundry wasn't ready when needed. They were not willing to work around other schedules. Had to find better job.
Pros
Was a job
Cons
Wasn't willing to work around other schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a awful company.
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Uncasville, CTApril 27, 2018
The management was horrible and not at all understanding or caring of my personal needs. They did not care when I did not feel well, they made me push myself until I felt faint. The work is simply too much to put on one person alone. If you missed one thing in a room by accident they would criticize me daily about it.
Pros
None.
Cons
Everything was awful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Front-Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Bozeman, MTApril 23, 2018
Not a hard job. Very chill with lots of free time if you want to work on other things during work. Tedious cleaning but overall not to bad. Once you get done with all your stuff you have free time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reliable job hours and great owners
House Keeper and Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIApril 18, 2018
i liked this job it was dependable had a great live in owner and had advancement opportunities often. i was trained on front desk as well as was training to be assistant head hoiusekeeper
Pros
pay
Cons
head house keeper at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow placed working environment.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Carolina Beach, NCApril 17, 2018
Most of the time it was a slow paced working environment. For the most part everyone was friendly. Didn't get too busy unless holidays or summer time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microtel Inn & Suites. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 597 reviews
5178
4150
3158
252
159

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

1.5Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight