Midland Independent School District Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 42 reviews
Ratings breakdown
512
417
39
23
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 42 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to wokr
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 10, 2018
They are a great organization to work for and they offer many perks. Teaching can be stressful, at least at my school the principal was very supportive and helpful. I really enjoyed working for her. The only reason I'm leaving is so I may broaden my work experience and have time to complete my Masters.
Pros
Health Clinic for $10
Cons
Long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good phaser
Pre K Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXApril 3, 2018
Working for Midland Isd was not an end goal it was a detour for my career journey. So my expectations were not too high as far as attaining a goal position. With that mindset I was able to enjoy interactions with my students.
Pros
great staff and parents
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place
Teacher/Coach (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMarch 2, 2018
Midland Independent School District is not bad to work for but the district is recovering from a bad downgrade in educational production. Since the mid-2000's, the district has suffered from poor test results and bad student performance and the blame was shifted to the teachers and not the administration, where the blame should be focused.
Pros
Insurance benefits
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great chapter
Earned teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 19, 2018
I grew as a person as well as an employee. I will always be grateful for my time at MISD. I made many friends and memories that will be with me forever.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Workplace
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 11, 2018
What I've learned working at MISD is the fact that teachers aren't valued. What I've learned is that the expectations of the teachers is extremely high and most of the time it is difficult to see positive advancements in student learning. The hardest part of the job is the lack of support from administration and the fact that communication with administration is essentially nonexistent.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Lack of support from admin, lack of communication, toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Computer Techncian (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 1, 2018
I worked for them for 8 years and cannot move up to better position they keep hiring guys that have no experience. They play a lot of favorites and they move up people they like even though they have no experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
District Engineer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 30, 2018
Good place to work with advancement indoor area of expertise. I worked hard and after 17 years I was able to increase productivity tremendously. I started with one (1) department and ended up managing five (5).
Pros
low pay
Cons
good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with students and having a positive influence on them.
High School Math Teacher (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 11, 2018
My favorite part of the job was being a stepping stone to students as they achieved their goals. Once I figured out my own system in grading and classroom management, it became so much easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PE Teacher
PE Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Great environment. Working with students is amazing. I love being able to work with students and see them grow and progress as the year go on.........
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co-workers but pay was below average
Office (Attendance) Clerk/Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXNovember 15, 2017
As a non-professional employee, the pay was well below that of compatible jobs outside of the district. The time off was amazing and ability to have my children transfer to the school I worked at was a God send.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job position
Foreign Language Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXNovember 9, 2017
Very rewarding job but not a good job to have a decent living. Not very many benefits and the pay is very low. the only rewarding thing is seeing the kids and building relationships whit them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Center Specialist
Communication Center Specialist (2yrs) (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXOctober 26, 2017
Very busy at the beginning of the year
i learned a lot i was with them The MISD 17 yrs
The management need a lot of improvement
was ok
the unfairness
my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration Issues
Art Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 21, 2017
Admins only care about courses that are STAAR tested. No support for electives. A culture has been created that doesn't support all teachers and allows students to misbehave without repercussions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
substitute teacher for district
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 10, 2017
I have worked for the district for a couple of months and how much that i get paid is not worth working for the district, with how much nonsense that we have to put up with.
Pros
flexible with my schooling
Cons
pay rate, and being treated poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the enviorment
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 6, 2017
Getting daily lesson plans
Interaction with students and staff
Education
Wanting to reach Each Child
Seeing students try hard Each day to retain that was given. That day
Pros
Seeing the growth of the students
Cons
Wanting to do more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subpar work environment
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 23, 2017
Most of the time, substitutes are treated with less respect than permanent teachers. The secretaries often do not know how to set up badges and this results in issues and disruptions throughout the day. The teachers usually leave decent lesson plans, and expectations are clear, but there is room for improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misd
Attendance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 2, 2017
This is where I found my true calling. Working with the children at the school district pointed me in the direction of wanting to help children more and to become a pediatric nurse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 13, 2017
Responsible for floor care, cafeteria care, general custodial duties.
Learned how to run buffers, replace classroom lights, trash disposal.
Workplace culture- enjoyed respect shown by principals and staff.
Not really a hard part of this job.
Pros
Respect from school staff
Cons
Lack of advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work place with the exception of ethical issues to be discussed upon interview
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 28, 2017
I worked very mell with the customers and enjoyed keeping thier businesses running with our supplies. I wanted to stay a part of this team but had to leave due to unethical circumstances.
Pros
I had my own office and being Assistant manager I enjoyed being the go to person.
Cons
Unethical circumstances
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome people
Fixed Asset Specialist (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 26, 2017
Great attitudes everyday. Loving community that gives 100% to the future of our nation. Great parties and loving people. All departments work very hard to provide the absolute best to our children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Midland Independent School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Midland Independent School District Reviews by Location