Milwaukee Center For Independence Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 93 reviews
Ratings breakdown
527
415
328
216
17
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 93 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work environment with constant change
Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 23, 2018
Unstable work environment with constant change. Inadequate support by therapy mgmt. and upper mgmt. Top heavy organization (i.e. excessive # of VP's with very high salaries). Some co-workers/managers were catty, cliquey, and unprofessional. The Therapy Department has/had some really great people, but was clearly divided into cliques, which can be partly explained by the merging of multiple therapy departments that previously ran independent from one another (constant change). I witnessed firsthand, current therapy management make decisions and pass judgments based on very little and/or inaccurate information. One employee in particular was the epitome of toadyism, and probably the source of much misinformation. I watched this lickspittle employee play multiple managers to perfection, a very disingenuous person that somehow was treated with more credibility (and civility) than deserved. Job could be very frustrating at times, especially when therapy management would present specious arguments to support their policies/procedures, and shedding light or presenting facts to assist was pointless if you were the perceived “outsider”, as your input meant nothing. I was undervalued, inadequately supported, and castaway in spite of doing everything that was ever asked of me. There are better jobs out there.
Pros
No nights or weekends, Pay was competitive, Working with special needs population can be very rewarding, Some great co-workers that are kind-hearted people, Good experience working with a wide variety of clients.
Cons
Unstable work environment with constant change, Inadequate support by therapy management, Some co-workers/managers were catty, cliquey, and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Lobby Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 29, 2018
The job wasn't too bad. I enjoyed my time there. Management though would do better. I was only pool, but when they hired someone to take my spot, they didn't let me know until the Friday before they started. Then asked me to stay for a few more weeks to help train her. I couldn't do it. I put in my 2 weeks and left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Medical Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 12, 2018
Just had the opporntnity to do my internship through this company. It was a pleasure of them giving me the chance to gain experiences and learn new things pertaining to my future career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Supervisor is great, I just wish I had more opportunities for growth.
Marketing and Fund Development Associate (Current Employee) –  Brown Deer, WIJune 5, 2018
I have learned a lot at MCFI and I am eager to move up and utilize my skills in Human Resources. I would like to work in HR because I like the implementation of policy.
Pros
Friendly supportive colleagues.
Cons
There are not very many opportunities for upward mobility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday
Child Care Teacher (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 9, 2018
A typical workday is always unorganized you never know what classroom will be in or who will be your co-teacher. The teacher to child ratio is never within licensing regulation, many licensing policies are being broken daily. I have gained more knowledge at other childcare centers than this one. I really don't want to speak on the management part all I can say is it needs a lot of professional help and guidance. Everything because you are limited to what you can do and at the end of the day you lose the joy you walked to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Play to work for.
Pediatrics Driver (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 28, 2018
Excellent working condition. Very flexible with employees with days off. Teaching clients on how to depend on them slelf through out different stages in their lives. Being productive each day as much as possible.
Pros
Customer Skills
Cons
Split Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The salary is horrible.
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 25, 2018
People that are hired are not properly trained. The place is very unprofessional all they do is gossip. Mistakes are made and covered up to protect the company. Management are in there office all day or in meeting so they don't have a clue what's going on. They have thieves working there.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Freindly Place
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 23, 2018
Great office , Eveyones always Nice and Smiling and helping one another Out sonwe achieve Weekly employee Goals. Employee Appreciation every three Months , Raffles ,Gift Card And a lot other amazing Give Aways . Great Place to work .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for workaholics
Statewide Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 17, 2018
You are never bored and time just flies by! Always learning something new. Cultural awareness is extremely important. They truly believe about promoting from within.
Pros
Discounted lunches
Cons
Turnaround of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Lobby Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 2, 2018
I was good while it lasted. HR hired someone to take my place and didn't inform me until a week before they started. Then wanted me to stay on for a few extra weeks to train the new hire in everything that I helped to improve at the position. I put my 2 weeks in and left after being disrespected like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 27, 2018
This place is fine to work for a short while, over time they will take advantage and under pay, large salary gaps between management and director level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to hire more diversity in leadership
Talent Acquisition Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 17, 2018
no room for advancement
need more diversity in leadership
make room for advancement
the professional development could be improved
long work hours
lower pay compared to competitors
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job.
Central Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 11, 2018
I only worked in one part of MCFI (homecare). My unpleasant experience is only for that; one of the many services provided under the MCFI title.
Horrible management, horrible pay. Employees on all levels treated like trash which resulted in a revolving door of new employees coming and going so fast the staff directory needed to be updated daily (but wasn't ). If you're looking for that office environment of gossip and back-stabbing to get ahead, you've found the right place. Also, the location of the business is extremely unsafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced nursing environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 5, 2018
Great place to work, but can be very stressful. No nights or holidays, and closed Sundays! Not uncommon to work past your end time due to the complexity of the unique medical model it is. No other place like this in the state of Wisconsin. Very rewarding and allows you to learn a lot of nursing skills that are not commonly used in a hospital setting. Perfect place to work if interested in home care. Small unit so you are close to your leadership team at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 1, 2018
MCFI really cares about its employees and how they view the company. Management is wonderful and genuinely want you to grow and succeed. The job has its challenges like any other job but you work through them and move forward. Great benefits are offered and the people are amazing to work with!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Personal Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 8, 2018
Good company keep you with employment and you stay busy. The pay is weekly which is very convenient. The office staff are very welcoming they talk to you with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an emotional rollercoaster
Health Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 7, 2018
Different clients had different needs. The hardest part was spending time with people, getting to know them, being in their home just to watch them fade away.
Pros
in home work
Cons
losing clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful with working with special client's
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIFebruary 3, 2018
You have to have a heart for people to work at Milwaukee of Independence , it is a heart felt Job,I enjoyed my time at this working location,Thanks !
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for employment
Hospitality aide (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 23, 2018
Great place to workfor wonderful attitude great people a positive place to work for exstemly helpful supvisors great training program,job place experts
Pros
Job place onsite, great work hours
Cons
30 long break paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An innovative non-profit with a rewarding mission
Vice President - Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 19, 2018
provides opportunity to create innovative programs
great mission
experienced tremendous growth during my 15 years in the agency
obtained great depth of experience in all areas of Human Resources
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Milwaukee Center For Independence. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Milwaukee Center For Independence Reviews by Location