Minnesota Judicial Branch Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad,
Integration Analyst (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 4, 2019
A stronger, more 'in-charge' leadership needs to be put in place. The culture is toxic as the managers don't lead their respective areas. A few departments carry the whole organization.
Pros
quiet work environment
Cons
People don't follow through with their responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement
Senior Court Clerk (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNFebruary 11, 2019
You are treated poorly and reminded often how easily replaceable you are. Way too many supervisors, managers, with absolutely no room to advance. Unrealistic expectations. No communication. Changes made without input. Just bad.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Morale is low. Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seniority run culture
Integration Analyst (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 29, 2018
The job was easy.
There was no consistency on how tasks were performed.
Culture was difficult, Senior workers were controlling weak management.
Very little coaching for onboarding.
It was a rotating door as far as hiring.
Pros
Easy work.
Cons
Weak Management, Gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work ever!
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MN 55102May 3, 2018
You won't regret working here. This is the best decision you could make. Bonus...plenty of opportunities to move up (although it's not always too easy...but at least the chance is there).
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indifferent
typical job (Former Employee) –  Branch, MNApril 25, 2018
Awful management. Unfair treatment. No trust. No understanding. Uptight and inflexible. Tone deaf about the needs and emotions of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What an experience.
Volunteer/Guardian Ad Litem (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 24, 2018
This was such a rewarding place to be a spokeperson through the court system for youth that need a voice that is at the best interest for them and to show them you care.
Pros
I won my for case
Cons
Not everyone cares
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government pace at its finest
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJanuary 11, 2018
Slow-paced, very little project movement, red tape and legalities everywhere, not enough work for my intended hiring position. It allowed me very little flexibility to expand my skills due to "no budget", was promised required infrastructure would be in place for me to do my job and the project was postponed, giving me little to fill 40 hour weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Law Clerk (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 25, 2017
Couldn't have lucked out more. Fantastic place to work. I have learned much about legal practice from reading all submissions and drafting orders. The work is plentiful, rewarding and enjoyable.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No feedback fromJudge Bush.
STS crew leader (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNJune 21, 2017
I took out court ordered community service crews from Judge Bush. His former staff hated him. He believes in public humiliation rather than discussing any issues personally. Being the Judge, he feels entitled to do that. If that is the work atmosphere you like, this is the job for you!
Pros
Staff other than the judge is good.
Cons
Judge Bush will not give you feedback until he wants to demean you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Builing strong families
Judicial Assistance/Clerk of Courts (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 18, 2017
Worked here for over 13 years and the job was amazing. Coming to work was easy and people loved the job. Family was important and we always celebrated one another.
Pros
Work hours and work life balance
Cons
I relocated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Favorite Job To Date
Judicial Law Clerk (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNMarch 27, 2017
I clerked under a state judge. It was my first legal job and I absolutely loved it. It allowed me to gain real experience under a highly regarded judge. Work life balance was also great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Judicial clerk (Former Employee) –  Anoka, MNApril 7, 2017
I enjoyed working for the Minnesota Courts. I got a chance to craft judicial opinions in a wide variety of legal areas. The environment was universally friendly and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Law Clerk (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MNApril 16, 2017
Really great exposure to all sorts of court procedures and substantive areas of law. The work life balance is great. The benefits are great. The judge I clerk for is great. The only downside would be that this is not a permanent position and there is not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work without little supervision
Senior Court Clerk-Criminal Division (Former Employee) –  MNAugust 24, 2014
I learned quite a bit about prioritizing my workload. Every day went by quickly because you were always so busy. Once you logged onto your computer you were off and running. Once trained in on their system, you were off and running. I do like the on the job training and little supervision once the position is learned. I was never apprehensive to ask others questions on how to do something or what their way of working certain situations. Their way may help me in how I do my job. My co-workers were easy to get a long with and made me feel at home right away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have your own schedule
Court Interpreter / Translator (Current Employee) –  Fifth districtJune 7, 2015
as needed (on call). fairly compensation, paid mileage, supportive management team, and respectful place to work for. professional training.
Pros
flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on call
Court Interpreter / Translator (Current Employee) –  fifth districtJanuary 13, 2015
Great recompense
Nice and professional Management
good communications
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
control my own time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Advancement Opportunities
Business Analyst & Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJuly 5, 2015
Minimal advancement opportunities. The current compensation not comparable to private sector salaries. Job stability is a plus if your goal is to be a career government employee.
Pros
job stability
Cons
compensation not comparable to the private sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Hamline Dean's Summer Fellow (Former Employee) –  MNAugust 16, 2015
It was an honor and a privilege to have the opportunity to have an internship with a District Court judge. I had the chance to do many things that someone in my position at that point would not have normally done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short contract job in IT
System Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 19, 2014
Interesting clients and fun to help them. Not a structured environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistant
Examiner of Titles Office (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 17, 2012
Process of imaging and logged into the Minnesota State Court Information System documents in data, Matched the document in specific Court Deputy Clerk, Responsible for helped with Manager, other general office procedures filing and copying.

The good hardest part of the job and enjoyable round with 300-400 boxes, keep myself focus, In-dependable on following the lists, never stress on office procedures filing and copying, but love to help working with the Manager well round.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Minnesota Judicial Branch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27 reviews
514
44
33
24
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Minnesota Judicial Branch Reviews by Location