Minnesota State University, Mankato Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
RHA Representative (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNApril 2, 2018
The volunteer opportunity was amazing. Having the ability to help others become even better with their work. Teaching others and being able to collaborate with other students was very fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TA Biology
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNFebruary 18, 2018
Great TA to do while you are getting your masters degree. Great people and faculty to work with. I would definitely recommend working here if you get a chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Workplace
Instructional Technologist (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNDecember 4, 2017
The work itself can be very rewarding, however with the lack of oversight and management it can be difficult to ensure you are giving quality work. The audience you are working with and for can be equally challenging and rewarding due to how diverse the environment is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNDecember 2, 2017
It was a really nice place to work. My bosses never had unreasonable expectations, extreme flexibility with scheduling and I was able to call in to work if I ever needed to.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
Needed more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Chef (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNOctober 27, 2017
Management sucks !! Treats the international students terribly . Management is awful , but the chefs are awesome you can learn alot from being around them,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Decent State School
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNAugust 15, 2017
This is a decent state school.
The faculty is pretty solid.
There are reasonable job requirements and the training was excellent.
Really terrible pay.
Mankato is pretty Meh.
Pros
Rolling Admissions
Cons
So how much do you like corn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work at
Student Painter (Current Employee) –  Residential life Minnesota State UniversityMay 28, 2017
I am having a great experience working there and it is fun. The managers give us plenty of freedom and working enviornment is great. They train us well for their job requirement.
Pros
Regular breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Student Helper-regular (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNMay 20, 2017
Can't complAin, I just repaired whatever was broken. My direct supervisor was a really nice guy and very knowledgable about his work. He's still a friend of mine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaMarch 28, 2017
I volunteered through Minnesota State University, Mankato Speech and Hearing's service abroad program. It was a valuable learning experience, however I was not officially employed. I volunteered for two weeks.
Pros
Travel, experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNMarch 10, 2017
These are great people to work with. they are understanding of the students life in school and out. It is a great place to work if you need a work study job.
Pros
Work while doing homework
Cons
some areas are loud so its hard to do homework
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Community Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNFebruary 23, 2017
best college job ever and enjoyed working here. the hardest part of the job was letting students know that they were out of status. and the best part was graduation and seeing students get jobs and move on to better lives.
Pros
fullfilling
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Interlibrary Loan Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNMay 11, 2016
Great job culture and place to work. Very organized and benefits are great. I would in the library which was very laid back as long as you finished all of your daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Stress; Great Environment
Co-President (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNAugust 24, 2014
I held a student position in the Dean's Office in the College of Education at Minnesota State University, Mankato and loved every moment of it. I had a fantastic boss, flexible work schedule, and enjoyable experience all around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chance to make a living doing what you love!
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNFebruary 28, 2014
The undergraduate research opportunties provide for fantastic work experience for the purposes of advancing your academic career! If you want the opportunity to work with faculty to conduct research into the workings of the world, you could hardly ask for a better opportunity!
Pros
Paid research, chance to make money while gaining research experience!
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistantship
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNMay 15, 2013
Assisting the professors to whom I was assigned and completing tasks for them could be challenging at times but I also learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Minnesota State University, Mankato. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 16 reviews
511
42
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
4.2Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Minnesota State University, Mankato Reviews by Location