Missouri Department of Mental Health Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place fun and very laid back
Psychiatric Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 12, 2018
I love my job i was just ready for earlier hours for safety reasons. I love my clients in my cottage and I also love my co workers. It was little scary at first handling mental ill clients but once you get to sit down and know them escort them to the doctors etc they are real wonderful people
Pros
gettingto help others that are in need
Cons
breakdowns of clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work experience
Staff Training and Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOApril 4, 2018
Missouri Department of health was a huge growth experience for me. I received an awesome professional supervision and many leadership development opportunities. I was encouraged to make decisions and take risks at times, and my decisions were supported by leadership staff.
Pros
Supportive culture
Cons
not flexible in terms of work hours or working remotely
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyment with spending time with clients, and helping them succeed
Developmental and certified medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MOFebruary 17, 2018
Everyday is a new day with this job which is why we must constantly keep ourselves up date with each consumers plans. Part of our duties is that we must document about the consumers and all their activities and earnings throughout the day. The work place must always be clean, we must assist consumers with hygiene needs, and in case of behaviors we must implement qualified restraints which are always monitored by a nurse for the consumers safety as well as the safety of staff.
Pros
Free meals, get to play games with consumers and interact with them in positive manners
Cons
Only allowed two 15 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The DMH Suffers
Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 8, 2017
Unfortunately the MO DMH suffers because of the Missouri Budget. They do provide a number of valuable services. But they are not able to get the equipment or provide the staff development they need because of budget constraints.
Pros
laid back
Cons
people coding records without certification
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment, great co-workers
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJune 6, 2017
I'm not writing a review. I go to work and do my job and then I go home. It's not a job I take home with me. Benefits are decent, I work with lots of good people and a few lemons, like anywhere else. It's a state job.
Pros
Holidays, sick time and vacation times
Cons
Harsh environment, difficult subject atter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family culture working environment. Fun loving care providing work place.
DA I, Medication Technician, and (DA 2) (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 23, 2017
Great place to work. Management team is organized, professional, supportive. The working environment is clean, comfortable, and laid back. The hardest part of my job was saying good night to the residents to go home.
Pros
Working with the staff and clients.
Cons
Lack of adequate staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish the money would have been better.
DA1 (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 14, 2017
Worked in a home environment with developmentally disabled.
Coornidated hosptial trips for clients.
Prepared daily schedules and kept upkeep for grooming
Pros
The staff and clients became like family
Cons
Not enough money to raise a family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable culture
Direct Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2016
Working with clients that have disabilities and mental illness are very challenging. Where the management team is supportive of staff the clients respect each other and staff better.
Pros
Enjoying working with the clients and staff.
Cons
Lack of accountability for the clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding working with mentally challenged indivisuals
Developmental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lemay, MOOctober 17, 2016
Learned the joy of helping mentally challenge indiivisuals learn skills to help get them out into the community
Co workers response to individuals were sometimes inspirational
Pros
Rewarding working with mentally challenged indivisuals
Cons
Pay not high enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very congenial. Staff cohesion was good in treatment teams and good outcomes on many chronically ill patients.
Adult Psychiatrist (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOOctober 15, 2016
Treatment team meeting, teaching rounds on patients, good management style by Program Directors and Supeevisors. Enjoyed seeing patients improve and progress to better living.
Pros
Good working climate
Cons
Rotational call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work environment
Human Resources Office Support Assistant II (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 26, 2016
Scope of the workforce fairly easy and repetitive work. Diverse cultural. Limited resources. Overall, fun place to work and obtain basic job skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Support Coordinator- Targeted Case Management (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 29, 2016
Case management position working with families and children- linking and connecting to resources, able to build connections with other professionals and organizations in the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Kansas CityOctober 20, 2015
Great holidays!

Nice place to work!

Management treats you like equals.

The hardest part of the job is deciding which jeans to wear.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the many holidays!
Pros
Holiday
Cons
Office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful at times, but rewarding.
License Practical Nurse II (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis, MissouriAugust 29, 2015
Some days can be stressful, but everyday is rewarding. Knowing that you were able to help someone is a blessing. Everyday I am able to appreciate the quality of life and having a sound mind. I am able to be push to degrees I never thought was capable since I have been blessed with this job. I appreciate the knowledge I have gained. I realize I work with exceptional direct care staff. The love and care they exhibit to those who are in most need.
Pros
Unit Manager willingness to work with staff.
Cons
Difficult to get promoted or move to other department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With high job security and overall friendly work environment
Research Analyst III (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJuly 6, 2015
No work overtime. Intelligent executives. High job security and overall friendly work environment. Some job assignments are very challenging to previous knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about documentation and administering policy.
Training Technician II (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 28, 2015
Learned a lot about Family Medical Leave and had several opportunities to answer inquiries for various allegations. This was a wonderful learning ground of fundamentals.
Pros
Wonderful support for consumers.
Cons
No raises. Little positive reinforcement for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Forensic Rehabilitation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fulton, MOMay 18, 2015
I would work approximately 12 hours a day even though my shift was 8 hours. Staffing was always a need at the Hospital because it was a low paying job that at times were dangerous. I would assist in the treatment of patients who were deemed by the courts as Not Guilty by Reason of Insanity. I learned how to deal with individuals that had extreme mental health issues and become sensitive to their needs. I was able to take basic medical information from patients as well as using medical instruments to take blood pressure, temperature, and blood sugar of patients. I was also on the Staff Support squad that would immediately respond to emergency anywhere in the hospital.
Pros
Good hours and good people to work with
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. You will never get bored working there
Forensic Rehab Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fulton, MOOctober 31, 2014
Good state agency to work for. The clients at the forensic hospital are awesome.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Vandiver Driver, Suite100 (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MissouriApril 25, 2014
I enjoyed working mostly out in the field rather than in the office. Working with a variety of families and individuals with developmental disabilities was the best part of my daily job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Research Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOFebruary 3, 2014
Main responsibilities - data management, analysis, reporting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Missouri Department of Mental Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 27 reviews
57
410
38
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Missouri Department of Mental Health Reviews by Location