Mobile County Public School System Employee Reviews

Found 175 reviews matching the search See all 176 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place greatr experience
PAID INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALAugust 9, 2019
I had an awesome time working at mobile county public school system is was an summer internship where I got hands on learning for the Child Nutrition Program .
Pros
food trucks
Cons
little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School System was built on the word. Let’s stay in there.
RETRACT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  FHSJune 29, 2019
MCPSS is a great company to work for if you really love children and can see pass the politics. It has great benefits in certain areas. The appreciation comes from the parents and children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Business Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 17, 2019
Nice place to work on a average day .
I have learn that you must always be prepared.
Management is ok, but needs improvement.
Workplace culture is different.
The hardest part of the job is that their is not enough time in the day to complete all of your activities, however, you learn to prioritize the most important things first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 12, 2019
I was a substitute teacher for the Mobile County School System for six years. It was very convenient for me to work as a substitute teacher and be a stay-at-home mom. I was able to choose the days I could work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent schedule and rewarding
Para Educator (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 4, 2019
The hours and summer vaction are ideal for someone with chidren, especially school age children. The reoccuring holiday schedule was very generous. The overall experience of working in public ecucation was rewarding as I was able to impact lives of our future leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mcpss is not together at all.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 23, 2019
Mcpss needs a upgrade from the central office on down and I’m not talking about the appearance, staff. They need to hire individuals that really want to work for a cause and not a check. Majority of staff have gotten on without having experience all because of who their related to, it’s not fair at all. But Mcpss will continue to go down as long as hiring of staff isn’t done right.
Cons
Pay was too little.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A GREAT place to work
District Reading Coach (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 14, 2019
I truly enjoyed the experience and knowledge received from MCPSS. This job gave me a strong foundation for wanting to further my education and seek other jobs in the educational field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Citronelle, ALApril 21, 2019
Great people to work with. Enjoy being able to work when I have time off from school. Being able to choose to accept a job works so well with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All of my Co-Workers were amazing
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Semmes, ALApril 9, 2019
I have enjoyed my time at Allentown. I have made many friends and memories. I was able to be a part of my daughter’s elementary days and I will cherish those moments forever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mobile County Public School System's Vision and Mission
Staff Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 9, 2019
They will become a premier educational system where students engage in multiple pathways leading to success in a global society. The Mission of Mobile County Public Schools is to graduate prepared and productive citizens.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALMarch 18, 2019
Collaborative work area with great leadership. The day begins around 6:55 am with morning duty and ends at 2:20 with afternoon duty. The school has 7 periods with each being 45 min each. The school has 2 lunch waves and 1 principal and 1 assistant principal.
Pros
Holiday
Cons
Behavior
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it, need more pay
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Mobile County, ALMarch 15, 2019
You only make $35/day - tax as a sub. Not enough to support a family. Love working there, I would work every day if I made more money. Full time has much better benefits, but pay is not great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALFebruary 2, 2019
Love the children I monitored on the bus.
The parents was very nice when we had to talk to them.
The teachers was very nice when cleaning their rooms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for having a family. Fun slow paced enviroment.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 24, 2019
I enjoyed raising my kids and being a wife and mother while working within the school system. My children attended the school that I was employed at which made it stress free as far as being a mother. The hours were great for being a wife, and a Christian woman of God. My skills allowed me to work within my church with the kids as well as teach the adults in Sunday School.
Pros
The benefit options. The quality time and postive atmosphere or environment.
Cons
Kids are sometimes difficult and challeging to work with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day job tasks
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 18, 2019
A typical work day should be something to look forward to with encouraging inspiration to face adventure with the ups and down obstacles that's goes along with the job..
Pros
making money
Cons
not working together within a company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The largest public school in Alabama
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 11, 2019
MCPSS is the largest school district in the state. It serves approximately 1 in 10 public school children in Alabama. I am proud to work with this large school district!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain Job Experience
Teacher/Coach (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALDecember 29, 2018
MCPSS is a great place to start as a teacher to gain immeasurable experience as an educator. You will learn a lot about how to manage a classroom environment along with preparing lesson plans.
Pros
Holidays and Time Off
Cons
Pay is not great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for helping students
Special Education / Social Studies Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALDecember 18, 2018
Challenging but rewarding career with good support from the administration and a great working relationship with fellow teachers and departments. It was fulfilling to be able to make such a difference with students who needed guidance.
Pros
Administrative Support
Cons
Not many resources for teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  mobile alDecember 12, 2018
check out the bus .pick up kids . Management is there .That a bus can not turn right on red and people get mad. And don't stop when the stop sign is out. The most enjoyable part is the kids .
Pros
kids
Cons
gett up at 3:15 a.m.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 26, 2018
During my employment with Mobile Public Schools I learned how to conduct myself in a public and professional environment. I learned the importance of the students and my ability to teach and guide them while I was with them.
Pros
Shifts
Cons
Job advancement as a temp employee
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mobile County Public School System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 176 reviews
568
459
333
26
110

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Mobile County Public School System Reviews by Location