Modell's Sporting Goods Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 794 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5192
4223
3273
264
142
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 784 reviews matching the search See all 794 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rosedale, NYAugust 16, 2018
I learn to be more social with customers and come correct with my attitude. I learned the fundamentals about the store and the cash register, which benefited me greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average retail experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Centereach, NYAugust 15, 2018
Shifts typically range from four to eight hours
Hardest part is dealing with rude customers
Management is hit or miss in results with subordinates
Most enjoyable part of the job is working with friends
Pros
20% discount
Cons
Short breaks, promotes on seniority not meritocracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2018
no meetings for employees, the management was unfair with its rulings on employees. favoritism was at play in this company. Hours were also bad, full time employees would only get about 25-30 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic working environment
Sr District Manager (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYAugust 15, 2018
Fast paced; sales driven; very competitive atmosphere; ever changing environment; need to adapt quickly; great chance for advancement; customer service minded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be slow at times but the managment is fun to work with.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Wales, PAAugust 14, 2018
Good paying job for high school kids. it’s a great opportunity for a first job and everyone who works there is every friendly. Very relaxed work environment as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for a first job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Times Square, NYAugust 8, 2018
I worked in the footwear department where most customers usually come when they enter modells it was an amazing vibe in the job you meet a lot of wonderful people from all over the world and it was a great experience working there.
Pros
discounted items, meet great sports athlete, free tickets
Cons
bad pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not too bad
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamden, CTAugust 7, 2018
At the time I worked there the company was ok it wasn’t bad at all. It was hard and very cutthroat at the time. The manager was always yelling and screaming and not understanding where we was coming from as his associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest ever
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 6, 2018
Wrote orders for products and completed orders based on inventory at store. Operated pallet jack / loader. Provided customer service and served as a liaison between the stores and distributors. Assisted delivery drivers with loading/unloading of merchandise. Maintained and cleaned warehouse area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a quiet job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJAugust 5, 2018
It was an easy job but there were too many problems with the pay and i never even got trained for the cashier and it was bad communication within the managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for first job
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  bxAugust 3, 2018
Management is terrible and unfair, its okay for a first job but you will not move up in this company any time soon. They have favoritism at this job and you will notice it as soon as you start working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to enhance your retail skills
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 31, 2018
great work experience, co-workers are great and friendly we move like a family, Management is balanced meaning they're as strict as they are friendly.
Pros
great hours
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work there if you want to be treated correctly
Cashier/Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 31, 2018
I had a horrible experience working there. Most Modell's hire immature teenagers to work in their stores, which causes so many problems with coworkers and customers. I had to leave because management was not doing anything about me being harassed. Modell's does NOT care about their workers.
Pros
easy going, not too much work
Cons
horrible coworkers, short breaks, terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 31, 2018
It was an internship with a company named WLG and it was fun because they put you in real job corps and you get the experience. Also sometimes the director will take us on a trip
Cons
If security wasn’t there I’ll be put in front the store to play security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with the right management
Staff (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 31, 2018
i liked being apart of the Modell's establishment. I feel that management wasn't great and unfair at times by not willing to cooperate with the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Upper Darby, PAJuly 25, 2018
Working at modells was fun and had it's down falls at time. One of the downfalls is your always on your feet, and your always moving. Always gonna be on the go working there, but you do get flexible hours and you do get discounted stuff working there so i recommend the job for anybody.
Pros
Discounts, flexible hrs
Cons
Always on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 24, 2018
A typical day at work consists of your opening meeting with the opening manager and co workers. Counting drawers if working register. Price and tag new merchandise and throughout your shift you'll be setting up displays to show product. You'll assist customers in looking for the right product, sizes, and answer any questions if need be.
Pros
Mandatory breaks. Flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning place
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Edgewater, NJJuly 24, 2018
Modells is a Great place to Learn the ins and out of a Business.It teaches you to multi-task and how to evaluate the business by seasons. Modells sporting Goods prepares you for any other Job in the Future
Pros
Associate Discount
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but very hostile.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJJuly 23, 2018
As a sporting goods store, its clear that equipment and sporting materials are needed often. Manager would lock up equipment and which slowed down the checkout process. Manager was very aggressive and displayed low tolerance when assisting fellow employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJuly 18, 2018
I’ learned a lot about money handling ,customer service , and inventory working here i learned to sell products and make customers happy and engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 17, 2018
Modells was my first job as an intern i loved working there because of the discounts. The manager and the co workers were very generous and showed me how to communicate and work with customers.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport