Modell's Sporting Goods Employee Reviews

Found 912 reviews matching the search See all 923 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJune 16, 2019
a typical day at work is boring and hectic. the managers are rude and have bad attitudes. i wasn't happy with the work environment. the people who work there made the environment good because they were friendly and made you feel apart of the team. the job did not provide flexible hours and did not have a lot of benefits.
Pros
nothing
Cons
short breaks and bad attitudes from the managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good start point
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 15, 2019
Starting here with your first job is a good start. They'll get you trained with communication and punctuality as well as assign varied roles which can help you develop as a salesperson. Sometimes customers were a bit overwhelming and impatient. Modells doesn't carry the largest variety of goods so improvisation and recommendations come in handy. KNOW the product in the store even if it isn't your department. It shows initiative and they like that up in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 11, 2019
Working at Modell's Sporting Goods was one of the jobs i really didn't stay long with the really understand the company i honestly only started working there because i was looking into finding a job as soon as possible and i wasn't into the work ethics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at models
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 10, 2019
the experience you have working at modells all depends on who the manager is. Some are great, others... not so much. At the location I work now, I've seen my fair share of both.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYJune 10, 2019
this is the worst job I have ever had dsadlkfgmnsvsef;dfkjvcn,mxfbgwj;dalsaksssgnwrt;afdsk;lgbjndfglkvmzfbgdsfdvfbgdn bdfgdhhsdsvb fdnhsfdvbfgnhrhsgdfvb
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good i really liked how nonchalant the work environment was.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJune 8, 2019
typical day of work started at 11am and ended at 2:45pm. i learned heading into a situation with a level head is the key to not losing your job. my managers were so awesome if i had the opportunity to work for him again i would. nothing about the job was too difficult. the most enjoyable part of the job was just putting a smile on peoples face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are good people
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clark, NJJune 7, 2019
They are really a good store, hard working people and also strong minded individuals who always work and stay on time. I wouldn’t regret working there it’s great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Salary is low based upon the average cost of living
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 7, 2019
Not compensated enough for how much the managers do.
High turnover rate
No raises
Stop the annual raises for management
The heath and dental package that are offered are poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, dealing with customers sometimes can be rough
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJune 6, 2019
I would go in in my normal day. My manager would check if I punched in and according to who was working, he would assign me a task in different areas of the store. I learned how to maintain a customer interested, how to manage work and overall satisfy what they were looking for. The co workers are often really chill. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customers when it was really busy and cleaning up after them, other than that it was easy.
Pros
Often easy, fun, coworkers
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Cashier/Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJune 4, 2019
fun
sports minded
diverse
friendly
it was in the mall had a lot of food options
people were cool
enjoyable
teamwork
sales and holidays were the busiest
Pros
lunches and people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYJune 3, 2019
It is a really fast paced and chilled environment.The customers are very attentive and understand that if we do not have a specific item/stock in store that they can order it online if they would prefer too.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in nice people
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Garfield, NJJune 1, 2019
In my opinion modells was a decent job for me it showed me many things how to work a register it enhanced my speaking skills with customers how to Multitask. I liked the people i worked with they helped out when ever i had a question or needed help.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modells
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 31, 2019
.A competitive job
.Not a lot of hours if your under 18
.Everyone is basically part-time
.Modells provides good discounts for employee's
.demanding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and employees shape the experience.
Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 31, 2019
Modell's has a strong mission-based approach to marketing and customer service. They promote from within and encourage employees to take advantage of advancement opportunities. What makes an individual store a good place to work is if the manager is fair and supportive and encourages a team atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 30, 2019
it is a good starting job if your in high school or college. there is some favoritism there. its easy to keep your job but it is also easy to lose it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 29, 2019
Would never recommend working here nor would i ever go back. the managers are awful, there is no training structure, they just hire young teens to stand in front of the register, people steal money and clothes from inside the store. Company is a JOKE!!
Pros
discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding atmosphere
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 28, 2019
Fun work place busy. clean costumer service excellent at modells closing the store was awesome waiting on costumer was a pleasure and we received rewards for excellence in costumer service
Pros
Discount
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm job. Very high paced when crowded
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 23, 2019
Modell’s isn’t bad at all. My general manager is giving me a hard time to transfer. Easy job once you get the hang of it. Depending on what location you work at, the customers are a lot to deal with.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Model Sporting good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 23, 2019
Model sporting good is a very good place to work the staff are extremely nice and professional and patient ..

I loved working there I loved to help the customers

I really enjoyed working the cashier ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Models
Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2019
Good work environment , the employees were nice as well , a lot of training going on but not a lot of promotions are being given out . This is not really a company you build in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Modell's Sporting Goods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 923 reviews
5221
4260
3311
277
154

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Modell's Sporting Goods.

Powered by Comparably