Modern Disposal Employee Reviews

3.0
Overall rating
Based on 18 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
42
36
22
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 18 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYApril 30, 2018
i love working here they treated you like family you had sick days and vacation you have to have the nose for it thought because it does smells i would recommend this place to a friend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you’re thinking of making a change, the grass is not green here
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 26, 2018
New ceo, drastic changes and new rules almost every week if not more than once a week. Supervisors spy on you and try to catch you messing up so they can fire you. Equipment is run down, old poorly maintained. They expect you to bend backwards for them and run yourself down, but in return you get nothing. The games they play are not professional what so ever. Supervisors barely know what’s going on let alone HR. If you don’t go out of your way to make everyone happy they’ll black list you and treat you poorly.
Pros
Hourly pay is good
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job but is getting worse every day.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, NYMarch 18, 2018
New CEO has done nothing but make it worse. New rules and policies all the time. Supervisors hide in parking lots/side streets to try and catch drivers/laborers doing anything they can fire them for. Trucks are not maintained as the shop supervisor gets a bonus for not spending his approved yearly budget.
Pros
Good pay rate
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Class D mechanic (Former Employee) –  Model City, NYMarch 15, 2018
Great place to work and learn how a large company work everything from how the front office and management works right down to the guys that ride on the back of the truck and pick up the garbage work everything is very well-coordinated and everything is well thought out
Pros
Great bennifits and pay
Cons
3rd shift is hard on the mind and body
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
modern disposal
rear loader (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 12, 2018
during my time at modern disposal I learned how to stay working in a consistent pass it was a good experience for me tho the pay was not so good being a rear loader
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellemt place to work. fun and entertaining
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Sparta, WIFebruary 7, 2018
Excellent place to work, always ready to teach you a new job from welding to driving different trucks, they helped me get my CDL, easy to work with.
Pros
Good place to work. They treat you like a human .not a number
Cons
health care work outside year aroung
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as long as you do what they say and don't ask questions
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Model City, NYJanuary 23, 2018
Restructured management that they calmed was going to help but have yet to see it. They are bringing people in and paying them big money but not taking care of there dedicated employees. Alot of broken promises from management and back stabbing from fellow workers. Used to be a fun and great place to work and has slowly been going down hill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, they dont provide adequate protection for the elements
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, NYJanuary 17, 2018
So so job, pays the bills for now. Trucks are not the best and dont treat lsborers with respect. People coming and going all the time. Coworkers arent bad but plan on helping slow workers
Pros
None
Cons
Truck fleet needs upgrade
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYDecember 5, 2017
I work there 9 years I got hurt and they couldn’t wait till get rid of me it’s outside work the weather is a factor and you never know what place you will be you can be switch around all the time
Pros
They gave you bonus that you worked for
Cons
They treat you bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners great, management sucks
Sanitation Laborer (Former Employee) –  Model City, NYMay 22, 2017
Great bunch of guys to work with, as far as drivers and labor's. Boss/owner is a great guy. CEO was a winner. Insurance is high. Horrible mgmt., meaning supervisors suck. Need to clean house and start over. Supervisors let slackers slack daily and take advantage of hard working employees. Decent pay for drivers. Labor's better off at McDonald's, free food and dry. And more less the same pay.
Pros
The guys that have the same job you do
Cons
Read the review
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Rear packer laborer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYJune 12, 2016
long days, no room for advancement, pay was ok. Always helping out on other routes. In the winter it is a horrible job. driver was awesome made the day for by faster
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a workout
Sanitation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYMarch 31, 2016
-starting and finishing my garbage route
-customer service skills
-management was great
-Co-workers are great
-listing heavy garbage cans by yourself
-supervisor leaving you alone and letting you do your job is the best part of the job
Pros
you can break when you need to as long as the work gets done, healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern review
Assistant HR/Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYOctober 13, 2015
Company is not professional, treats employees unfairly, no consistencey with employees treatment. Need to review work practices.
Pros
close to home
Cons
coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job provided excellent training
Parts Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 1, 2015
Great place to work. supportive leadership. Decent amount of red tape and politics but this is to be expected with a company of this size. The only downfall is mandatory 6 day work week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does not offer advancement opportunities.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, NYJune 11, 2013
On a typical day at work, I would sit at a desk taking phone calls from customers (both commercial and residential) about their trash concerns. I loved the people I worked with and made every day as enjoyable as I could. My manager is a funny man with a sense of humor just like my own and my direct supervisor is the same way. The hardest part of the job was not being able to resolve customer issues as efficiently as I would have liked to. The most enjoyable part of the job was being surrounded by my wonderful co-workers.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Expensive healthcare, no vacation time, no sick/personal days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  model city,nyAugust 7, 2012
this company was good to work for, the people were nice, and the benefits were amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my experience at modern
laborer (Former Employee) –  lewiston n.yDecember 21, 2011
i wanted to pursue my cdl license so i gave notice,they didnt offer training,so i moved on.
Pros
good employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport