Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews

2.5
Overall rating
Based on 321 reviews
Ratings breakdown
528
461
367
257
1108
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 319 reviews matching the search See all 320 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monro Brake and was an ok place to work
Assistant Manager/Technician (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAJuly 16, 2018
It was a bad place to work if you were just starting out or were in upper management. It also wpuld help if the shop was a busy shop. Just was a place for me at that time of my career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good solid company to work for. I had a great experience working there.
District Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 14, 2018
A good company, results driven, compensation is based on results.very hands on management style most if not all top management came up in the business. company is very cost aware, and manages that very closely. My experience with them was very positive and I still stay in touch with previous supervisors and colleagues.
Pros
Small enough company, everyone knows everyone from top management to entry level.
Cons
Needs some updates, especially in the position area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies
Assistant Store Manager/lead technician (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 7, 2018
Stay away from Monro. They lie to their employees and lie to their customers. They expect employees to lie to customers about repairs that are not needed. Their markup on parts is astronomical.
If you are a person who enjoys 12 hour days 7 days a week for very little pay this is the job for you.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will pay you for working
Manager (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJuly 5, 2018
Dependent on the district manager you fall under, this can be a great place to work for. One district manager actually did their job while another delegates all their duties and reaps the rewards. Not a family friendly place to work under current regime - even when there is a death in the family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay far away
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Selinsgrove, PAJuly 3, 2018
There is way better manager jobs out there I highly suggest looking else where. no sick days!! 1 week vacation. 50,000 salary and they will tell you to earn the rest in bonus. they will openly lie to you in the interview. get everything in writing!!! work life balance is below poor. do not expect 2 days off in a row. dont plan any vacations there is no time off.
Pros
co workers are good
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours. No help from management. Promoted demoted promoted demoted
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 1, 2018
Lied to. Hard to get paid bonuses. NoevI have to travel an hour onr way to work. No training. No company tools. Just work your but off. Stay away. Hard to believe they can stay open
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit driven corporation like most
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Colonie, NY 12205June 27, 2018
As long as the revenue came in and profit margins good the company was happy, if not the wheels ran over the store and you have to get out of the way.
Pros
Good customer base to work with, trusted name
Cons
Disgruntled management if numbers were not hit
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced compettitive
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashland, MAJune 22, 2018
Varios changes in upper management created a stressful working enviroment. I was instructed to train multiple managers at their store while my store suffered the profit loss due to my absence
Pros
Full time
Cons
Expected salary hours at 50 plus weekly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst upper management of any large auto retailer
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinatti, OHJune 20, 2018
If anyone actually works for this company after reading the reviews they get what we told them. 2 district and 2 area managers in 8 months including a pill head retread district manager who tried to replace every manager from his crew at Tire Discounters. The locations are old and the local population is damaged from the last 12 managers.

You have been warned
Pros
free wifi
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for Steady Work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAJune 19, 2018
Every day is a good day at Mr. Tire!! The people in the company all work as a team and enjoy the work they do. You will find a good pay for a good day's work. This is the mot realistic company I have worked for and they pay a good salary/wage.
Pros
Great pay & benefits
Cons
The ever changing work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report

Want to know more about Monro Muffler/Brake?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234June 18, 2018
As the store manager you are required to be there for open to close that a 12+ hour day it leaves no time for a home life is you don't work close to the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing at this time
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 17, 2018
just started but after reading the reviews I realize I have my work cut out for me. I'll need to be on my game if given the tools needed I'll turn my store around.
Pros
good location, east commute, large stock of parts
Cons
long, LONG work week and hours especially for the manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioJune 15, 2018
Ok job but management wants you to accomplish alot more than you can handle, not much buisness that comes in so you depend on hourly alot and hours arent gaurenteed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  MarylandMay 30, 2018
I was promised everything under the sun and received none of which I had been promised. Corporate moves extremely slow. Upper management are snakes. No appreciation towards employees. Corporate and Upper Management just makes you feel like some number to them or a pawn on the chess board.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work except for first job in industry
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Winsted, CTMay 20, 2018
Monro promises good pay based on commission for work done. However the system is setup so that you cannot earn enough to exceed minimum wage. It is a good job for first time beginners to get experience, if you accept that you will only make minimum wage and have terrible hours, since they're open until 7pm weekdays and open 7 days a week. You can get hands on experience but it is difficult to learn the 'right' way to do things since they run the shop with such inexperienced staff and old equipment and cut corners. But if its your first job out of trade school or you're trying to get into the trade, and you can live on minimum wage you can get a job there easily. They always are hiring because employee turnover is the fastest I have seen or heard of anywhere.
Pros
Good for starting job, easy to get hired
Cons
Work hours are terrible and vary each week, and pay is minimum wage regardless of what they promise you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Alignment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Merrillville, INMay 18, 2018
First off pay is a joke unless you a friend of the manager. If you have a family wrong job for you no hours, will send half the employies home an run a super short shift to save labor every day. Very dumb customer always mad because long waits being short
Pros
Are none
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 5, 2018
This is my career, so anytime I get the chance to be inside a automotive work place. I'm simply living the life like it's golden. The best thing about Monroe muffler was that it by some good carry out restaurants. Lunch was amazing.
Pros
It's just you and your tools
Cons
The car you may come across 😁
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Oil Technician (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHMay 5, 2018
this was a good job for a fresh mechanic that has room to improve. there were plenty of brake jobs and oil changes to do along with many other small simple task that would be perfect for learning.
Pros
30 min lunches and commision
Cons
not very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAApril 27, 2018
They don't give you any support. Mangment is not honest never keeps any of there promises. Also gives you bennifts and perks and finds anyway to make sure you don't get them.
Pros
Job security you can do what ever you want and will not get fired
Cons
Pay sucks, hours suck, and dead end company no room for advancement. No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place for anyone entire or experienced in automotive field
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed the time I worked for Monro. Had no issues with the management or staffing. Everyone treated me with the same respect they were given. If you needed a hand anyone including management were happy to lend a hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monro Muffler/Brake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight