Monro Muffler/Brake Employee Reviews

Found 441 reviews matching the search See all 442 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lub tech
Entry level mechanic (Former Employee) –  Southbridge, MANovember 8, 2018
place was a night mare to work for MANAGMENT treated you like garbage and stole your comminsions and sales and always took credit for your sales and work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its not bad,just not for me.
Oil Change Technician (Current Employee) –  Glenville, NYOctober 26, 2018
everyone makes 10.40 an hour. based on the way you get paid.i thought it was going to be better at first.and then I realized how much of a joke the pay scale is. the pay is garbage here.
Pros
get to work on my own car, for free
Cons
the pay is horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  Bonita Springs, FLOctober 21, 2018
its a very fun place to work
i have learned how to work as a team
good management
hardest part of work is weather, summer is so hot
fixing cars gives makes you feel very comfortable
Pros
flat rate
Cons
slow response from corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a horrible place to work for, it was a very stressfull place.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Yorkville, NYOctober 14, 2018
horrible hours, no paid vacations, no health care, no holidays off, management was horrible, the people i worked with did not no there jobs, horrible customer service.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Technician (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 12, 2018
They get u out of ur money they pay managers to sit on They butt and they dont know how to do they job they take on too much for with not enough employees
Cons
No lunch breaks not enough pay and work u like a dog
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate wasn't to bad
HR Representative (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 10, 2018
working in the corporate offices wasn't bad. everyone there was pretty friendly. management left a little to be desired. they cut corners and try to save money at expense the employees sometimes
Pros
ok corporate culture
Cons
upper management could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Assistant Manager/ Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAOctober 9, 2018
Management is very neglectful of basic shop needs and maintenance of facilities making for a dangerous work environment. There isn't any way for other workers to try to help these conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Leadership, Toxic Environment
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  New Albany, OHOctober 8, 2018
Was told i was being hired as a Store Manager, after 2 weeks of running the store I met the other manager who informed me i was a Service Manager. He then continued to be extremely disrespectful to me in front of both customers ad employees. He was demoted after about a month. I was lied to about my bonus structure upon signing my contract, and the District Manager will not take the time to address my concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OHOctober 1, 2018
they work you like a dog and treat you even worse. whatever goes wrong, they blame it on the guy with the least seniority no matter whos fault it really was.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive Service provider
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Reading, PASeptember 20, 2018
The company culture is all focused on sales. Talk a good story about doing what is best for the customers vehicles but fall short on actually walking the walk. The company is more focused on the sale and forgetting the needs of employees at the lower end of the spectrum, technicians. The idea of advancement with in the company is just that. People do get opportunities for advancement, but the present middle management philosophy is to threaten job loss at every turn. As if working at present position is a privilege not something that a person has worked hard to get and do.
Pros
the company is a stable employer
Cons
constant turn over of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is productive and it is a place where I gained more work experience.
Mecanic (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MASeptember 18, 2018
CONFIDENTIAL
It is fun to work at a car shop. However, sometimes the job is very difficult to maintain. I find it to be very hard and hence it is not easy to maintain. I am interested and experienced in the position. I can do the duty even though sometimes it is a bit complicated. Some cars take time to fix. As I tried to mention, car maintenance is not a fun workplace and it is totally different than that of an office job.
Pros
There is no free lunch
Cons
There is break but it is cut off from my hours and health care is quite expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of hours, but good incentives.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVSeptember 18, 2018
This company has a lot of opportunity, but you must work a lot of hours. It's very difficult to enjoy any time with family or hobbies working at Monro.
Pros
Bonus programs, discounts
Cons
Too many hours, high turnover and inconsistent pricing and corporate management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful very stressful make no money
Automotive Technician / Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Clinton, CTSeptember 15, 2018
We get no sick days chances of advancing with a criminal background none you work for 10:10 an hour not enough to even pay your bills at the end of two weeks trying to find a new job that pays better money with benefits
Pros
It's a job
Cons
No job advancement no raises benefits are expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly productive enviorment
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VASeptember 15, 2018
A typical day at Monro consist of oil changes, tire rotations, and tire replacements. I learned that the pay rate is biweekly base off of incentive or commission work performed. Commission work is then spread heavily to the manager's most valued technician. The hardest part of working for Monro is the unequal employee opportunity. Long shifts short breaks and no pay raise in the 5 years I worked for this company.
Pros
10% employee discount on serivce
Cons
11 hour daily work schedule 30 minute break, 6 days a week, no holiday vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a Joke
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pickerington, OHSeptember 10, 2018
Avoid at all costs, they are trouble, and they will attempt to prey or lure you. Don't fall for it. They will not reimburse you nor will they take care of anything they promise.
Pros
None
Cons
Will scrape money off your check beware
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if its your first job in the field
Technician (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaAugust 31, 2018
In my area the posting says $30 an hr. But thats not how it works at all. You make minimum wage, OR 10 - 11.5% of parts and labor. Meaning if you end up working a brake job that sold for $300, and you earn 10% you get $30 not $30 + minimum wage. Doesnt sound bad, but a lot of days, at least at my area its slow. Its mostly oil change and inspections, which pay Techs somewhere between 5 and 1 dollar/s. So in short your mostly making minimum wage.

That said there are the random jobs in between all that, that are good experience builders, stuff like alternator, tie rods, alignments, brakes, exhaust, water pumps, whatever. Its all far and few between, but its there.

When someone just starting make's the same thing the Assistant manager make's you know something is out of whack. Id recommended maybe .5 year to 1 year at this place then look for something better.
Pros
Good first timer job
Cons
Your going to feel like you got robbed on your pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work could be very slow, mainly consisting of oil changes and brake jobs.
Automotive technician (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHAugust 29, 2018
During my interview management made it sound like there was money to be made, promising commission for work performed. I found out later a certain amount of revenue must be generated before said commission would begin. The particular location I worked was very slow,so there was very little work.
Pros
I had the opportunity to work on cars, which I enjoyed.
Cons
The pay & hours were terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Oil Change Technician (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIAugust 14, 2018
This job is something you do if you want the experience to get a better job. It's hard working and you don't feel like you get a lot done you constantly do the same things over again. hardest part of the job is the labor you are consonantly moving doing jobs while writing it all down. the most enjoyable part of the job you get to know your works and they will work with you very nicely.
Pros
long lunches
Cons
physical labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Somersworth, NHAugust 14, 2018
This company rips people off in my opinion. For instance they buy brake rotors from AutoPart International at 5-10 cents each because they purchase them for all of their shops in the united states so the parts cost are very low, then they sell them for upwards of $150 each so if you buy 2 then the cost is $300 and you have not even got pads yet! now if a customer says i can get this job done down the street for $50 less and you lower the price to match it you get yelled at for it, even though your GPM is through the roof... So lose the job and get no profit?
Pros
you get paid
Cons
unrealistic goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Auto Technician (Current Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAAugust 14, 2018
The people are really nice and easy to get along with. Some days can be slow but most days you will be up and moving which will make you day go but much faster
Pros
People
Cons
Far drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Monro Muffler/Brake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 442 reviews
545
487
3101
274
1135

See reviews about

2.3Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.5Culture

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight