Montgomery College Employee Reviews

Showing all 177 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the interaction and fast pace environment.
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDNovember 8, 2018
My day is very busy and detailed to what I have to do and get done by a certain deadline. The staff and management is great and very helpful. The hardest part of the job is being able to be available the times the professors need me the most. The most enjoyable is making the managers very pleased with my work and being on time and hearing how dedicated and great I am with my work ethics.
Pros
Working on campus, close to my classes
Cons
It's a part time position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Professor (Former Employee) –  Takoma Park.Silver SpringOctober 15, 2018
An OK job if you work part-time,Part timers rarely get an opportunity to advance. And when you do get an opportunity to advance, your previous work experience at MC give you no advantage.
Pros
Parking
Cons
Poor office space for part-time workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining in the School
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Central OfficeOctober 2, 2018
I will say this school does not deserve a star at all. Montgomery College has become more Like the political chaos you see on television today. Management needs thorough training. The Leadership team is very petty and if they do not like what you wear or how you look, they will do whatever they can to ruin your life. This school needs to be investigated at this moment it is collecting money out of false pretense. This is not coming from a disgruntled employee it is coming from an employee who spent a lot of years with a school that, in my opinion, should not be responsible for young impressionable minds.
Cons
Management is very vindictive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and experienced
Federal work study student (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDSeptember 14, 2018
I learned in Montgomery College is that being competitive, supportive, and sociable. As a student, it is good to get started work in college. It helps to get exposure to the real world. Their management was so good in terms of keeping our schedule. Also, it is flexible. I really enjoyed the stuffs who shared their experience and they guide us their working culture
Pros
get experience to the real world, opportunities to work with colleagues.
Cons
short break, less hours of working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, no job security
Writing Center Tutor (Current Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDSeptember 4, 2018
It's a community college, and everything depends on enrollment. Low enrollment means fewer classes, and part time faculty are the first to lose classes. It's part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Systems Engineer -IT (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 22, 2018
Good place to work. Very diverse workforce.
Lack of mobility and opportunities to move up.
Lately many positions have been cut, which has diminished the opportunities to relocate and/or develop professionally.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDAugust 3, 2018
Good experience and professional development acquired here. Excellent management and co-operative work environment Part time professors have the option to work in the lab tutoring students. I enjoyed working as a tutor one on one with students. Needed to return to my full time job because of benefits. Large classes and time pressure most difficult part of this job.
Pros
Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 1, 2018
As a cashier at the Montgomery College book store, I was responsible for operating registers, accepting different types of payments, such as: cash, credit, debit. Close and clean facility.
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Information Technology Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDJuly 10, 2018
Great place, great managers and overall great coworkers.
I enjoyed working there when I was a student as it allowed me to work on my school work while attending to my daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity for itemporary
Assistant Softball Coach (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 20, 2018
This was a temporary seasonal job with great opportunity to build my resume. I met the challenges of the position and enjoyed working with the Montgomery College staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 8, 2018
Very strong staff lead culture that requires assimilation. Typical day includes a ton of meetings. New structure requires significant movement between classes. Many suffer meetings fatigue.
Pros
salary
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJune 1, 2018
Montgomery College is a great please of work. the faculty and staff relationship makes it a pleasant place to work. Most of the employees enjoy being there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive
Faculty Professional Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MD 20850May 18, 2018
It was a productive workplace, even though the contract was short lived.






I would rather not comment because it was a contractual assignment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start getting experience
marketing outreach (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 18, 2018
This was my first job during college I learned alot there. My manager always incourage our to be better aand correct what we were doing wrong. we were helping alot of students nd learned from their mistkes.
Pros
learning experiences
Cons
does not pay a lot to f1 students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Computer Aide (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 14, 2018
everyone hated working there. it was just a temporary job for students while theuy went to school. Sitting all day was boring. Most people treated us badly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure how this got in - It's not a job.
Student (Former Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDMay 11, 2018
Montgomery College was not a job. I went their for classes to improve my computer skills along with other classes. I don't know how my education part of my resume got over to the jobs.
Pros
Great school
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Casual Temp - Financial aid (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 9, 2018
I'd love to keep working here! They care about their staff, very flexible and understanding. care about students just as much! the pay is good and I've made great friends!
Pros
Flexibility, and great managers.
Cons
No benefits if you aren't full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
Student Aide/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 2, 2018
Simple tasks of faxing, making copies, filing, answering phones, helping with some of the foreign exchange student tasks like recording in English so they would know how to pronounce words
Pros
fun work environment
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day-to-Day
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDApril 21, 2018
As a Student Assistant opened office at 7:30 am by initiating desk top computers in the Computer Lab and preparing for the scheduled
audio/video presentations to be presented by the Assistant Director/ Academic Advisor. Periodically had one-on-one meetings with
students regarding academic and personal issues related to their
studies. Was very inspired by the students who were in many cases
the first in their families to attend college. Increased my ability to
effectively communicate and directly focus on a multitude of issues
daily. The learning environment was conducive to exploring alternative
approaches to audio/verbal learning. Was overwhelmed by the
limited amount of time I had to spend with the neediest students.
Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and nature of the staff in the lab
and acquired a yearning to one day become an instructor myself.
Pros
Interaction with global community school served
Cons
Was a temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping the community
Vice President of Student Senate (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDApril 6, 2018
I advocated on behalf of student interests in front of board of vice presidents and the provost. I tried to increase the student participation in the student life on campus.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Montgomery College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 177 reviews
589
458
321
26
13

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight