Montgomery County Government Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment at Animal Control
ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ILJanuary 8, 2018
The county is a good place to work but the management at the Animal Control Facility was horrible, back stabbing and childish made daily work challenging.
Pros
Working with animals
Cons
Facility Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure job
Deputy Trustee (Former Employee) –  Clarksville TNDecember 28, 2017
Good place to work. High pressure job. Good benefits political no heavy lifting lots of computer work dealing with public answering phone ,1 hour lunches with 2 15 minute breaks good hours 730-430 Monday-Friday
Pros
Vacation time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to learn, develop and seize professional growth opportunities.
Human Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 9, 2017
Excellent benefits. Excellent pay. Promotional opportunities. Very competent professionals. Extremely busy work environments. A wide variety of professionals, cultures, and business perspectives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful at times and rewarding at other timed
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDNovember 21, 2017
I began my career at ride-on it was very rewarding but over time it became very stressful and tedious and not a fun place to work. Over the years I learned that it was important for me to try and help the younger generation in areas of the job and my experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Criminal Miscellaneous Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norristown, PANovember 20, 2017
Horrible place to work. Low pay, low morale, no training, no advancement, high stress, poorly managed. Courthouse is old, dirty, in bad condition. I would never recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, friendly, fun, laid back work environment
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDNovember 8, 2017
MCRD is a very laid back, fun, productive place to work. MCRD has a diverse clientele with a variety of activities and programs. The compensation is great.
Pros
free memberships for employess
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Finance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHNovember 7, 2017
It was nice I did a lot of data entree. entree forms in to the computer.
entree dog tags in to computer. check the correctness of the tax forms that were sent in. and help customers the tax forms .filling tax forms
Pros
meet a lot of nice customers
Cons
had to work hard at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are closing so i must find a new job.
PROGRAM SUPPORT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 30, 2017
per request from the government. all county agencies must stop providing services . and in Dayton Ohio around 400 people will be laid off and out of a job. we will also lose our insurance,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Judicial Commissioner (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNOctober 12, 2017
Good environment, supervisor excellent. Learned a lot and learned from others. Challenging and met a lot of good people. Every day was something new. Shifts were ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDOctober 4, 2017
Great place to work. The people, coworkers, management are all extremely helpful and assistive. There are many opportunities for advancement pending qualifications. Great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Web & New Media Specialist (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDSeptember 24, 2017
Montgomery Park - Poor upper management.

Continuous changes in Marketing department direction. Did not appear to value employees.

Lack of structure and clear direction resulted in a stressful environment and several good employees leaving the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great planning office...
Community Planner (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDSeptember 22, 2017
Great local planners. Lot of new things to be involved. Excellent team work. Very busy work loads. You can apply planning knowledge into practice. Very active communities.
Pros
Excellent work.
Cons
As a contract employee, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Details/data important, Legal documents
Deputy Clerk/Supervisor - Child Support (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXSeptember 14, 2017
Customer Service and attention to details is important. Processing required court documents in a fast an accurate manner required. Ability to adapt a plus. Training provided for the different departments within the District Clerk Office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok to work for
StorekeeperII (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 2, 2017
I had to many bosses for my job they just would not let me do my job. because the job I did there I did it in the army and they always had people in charge that did not know what I was doing.
Pros
it ahd benfits
Cons
It had to manny bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and meet different people!
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 28, 2017
Enjoyed working there, however I had hardly anytime to be "mom"... However, the benefits of being employed with the county is awesome!! The split shift I found to be draining me and made my day seem longer!
Pros
Free bus rides, awesome benefits package, room for advancememt
Cons
Zero tolerance attendance policy, may have to work all weekends and holidays, also subject to a "split shift"...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Center very diverse
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 17, 2017
Working in the Montgomery County Department of Recreation is super exciting... you will always be doing something different. You could work with kids, youth, or seniors and always have a great time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, productive place to work
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNAugust 13, 2017
Montgomery County is a solid employer, and I would certainly work for them again if given the opportunity. They are organized, fair and offer competitive pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Caseloads
JFS Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHAugust 8, 2017
Set schedule of client interviews with heavy data entry. Co-workers and Management team are knowledgeable and helpful for the most part. The clients are rude and many have a sense of entitlement. Overall stressful job with little sense of accomplishment at the end of the day.
Pros
Lots of free lunches and employee outings
Cons
Low pay, large caseloads, rude clientele
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work
Unit Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, OH (CAS)August 3, 2017
Do do personal needs I need to leave the company at the time. There was a family emergency that required me to take personal time off and since I was in my probationary period it was not possible for me to deal with the demands of the job, and deal with the death of my younger brother.
Pros
Mandatory overtime shifts arfter working 8 to 12 hours at times
Cons
Team Work, and being able to help young people get their life in order
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, steady job.
Public Safety Emergency Communications Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDJuly 28, 2017
Fast paced 911 center.
Extremely high job security however there is also a big turnover rate.
Excellent pay for the position and education required.
Several increments within first 3 years.
If willing to work overtime, can make far more than base salary.
Get weeks of guaranteed leave. Amount of weeks depends on years in.
Can take additional time off if staffing allows on top of guaranteed leave.
Pros
Paid lunch time. Excellent benefits. Excellent pay. Can get time off if staffing allows.
Cons
High turnover rate. Can be forced to work overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Montgomery County Government. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 145 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7