Montgomery County Public Schools, MD

Reviewer Recommended

Recommended Workplaces earn this badge by having an average star rating of 4.2 or higher in the last two years, and at least 10 reviews from Indeed users.

Montgomery County Public Schools, MD Employee Reviews

Found 258 reviews matching the search See all 259 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the students and watching them grow in their knowledge
MARYLAND (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDMarch 19, 2019
As a long-term substitute teacher, I was responsible for carrying out the lesson plans of the regular teacher. The classes I worked in were English and Social Studies for all grades.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment at best
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Germantown, MDMarch 12, 2019
Planning periods were generally respected, but as many students as were in every class, working here was a 55 hour work week minimum. (Basically, the workload was average for teaching anywhere in the country.)

Culture of my school was very laissez-faire, and this detrimentally impacted student achievement and classroom engagement.

Union support was nil, and support from supervisors (school & county) were very hit-and-miss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the students but management was out of control
Teacher (Retired) (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDFebruary 17, 2019
Teachers have very little ability to control anything that goes on in a school. Principal makes all the difference and generally have too much power.
Pros
Helping young people learn and grow
Cons
Dictatorial supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyable work environment
Security Monitor (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJanuary 25, 2019
Montgomery County public schools have a wide variety of enjoyable and beneficial positions to choose from in selective locations throughout the county.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
very long waiting periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits but low salary
Cafeteria Manager (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MD 20903January 21, 2019
This company gives one of the best benefit for its employee, but the salary is less than private company. as long as you don't make big mistake, you are fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Maintenance electrician one (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, MDJanuary 14, 2019
You deal with maintenance issues that range from lights to kitchen equipment. You get to meet different and unique people. You deal with different problems on a daily basis.
Pros
People and work
Cons
Career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Building Service Worker (Former Employee) –  sherwood highJanuary 9, 2019
typical day start at 230 work in section till dinner break 1 hr for dinner. Then finish your section. If a event is going on in the school we all as a team would clean up and have everything ready for the next school day..
Pros
always 40 hrs overtime offered good working condition team work
Cons
sometimes low on supplies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Substitute Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Sterling, KYDecember 28, 2018
Good place to work, around a lot of nice people. The other teachers there are friendly as well. The kids are great too that I worked with. I was a sub instructional assistant so I got calls every day. then all of a sudden there was no jobs almost all of the school year.
Pros
friendly environment, helping teach kids.
Cons
pay is like twice a month the 15 and the 30th
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep your nose clean do the best you can do and nothing more
Bsam (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 10, 2018
To many chiefs not enough Indians ,a lot of the times you’re put into predicaments witch makes it hard to control your temper, it’s hard to be Wright about anything if the person over top of you is always Wright
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overview
Maryland (Current Employee) –  MarylandNovember 26, 2018
I learned to be a self-starter while still collaborating with my co-workers and department.

I am an independent self-starter that is very organize.
Pros
Excellent hours and accomadating family friendly school year calendar
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong school district for academics.
Executive (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDNovember 24, 2018
Love the work. Strong culture of collaboration. Important that the district begin to deepen its work of equity and ensuring that all students receive the same chances.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Transportation [ West Farm ]
Bus Monitor (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDNovember 9, 2018
Toxic work atmosphere. Not enough drivers to transport students. Work hours are not guaranteed, so school bus drivers quit after a few months.

There are not enough Bus Attendants either. The morale is do bad. You hear negative things daily from drivers and attendants.

The BRS [ Bus Route Supervisors] are ill trained. They don't have the knowledge or skill sets to supervise people. The position is not really designed for that purpose, so they never gain that experience. They continue to drive school buses 60-70 % of the time, so its not the typical supervisor role.

The work hours, lack of leadership, morale, backstabbing, complacency, complaints are too much.

You have to be available in this manner;

Wake up 445am to get to work by 6am...go on bus route 615am-945am..midday 1205pm-105pm, the back on the road. 155pm-530pm....home by 630pm.

For 7.4 hours of pay. I must give 14 hours of my day.
Now you see why !!

One year you may get 5 hours ,the next 6.1 hours, the next 5.7 hours. etc.

E.O.S
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of work hours, leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School District
Third Grade Teacher (Former Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDNovember 3, 2018
A school district outside of Washington DC. Lots of elementary schools with amazing teachers, principals, and staff members. A great place to work with other teachers.
Pros
changing the lives of children
Cons
paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it and Hate it
Spanish Immersion Teacher (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 18, 2018
Love to teach children the beautiful Spanish language and specially if it is everything in Spanish. The students learned and their progress was amazing, I was very proud to have the best grades of the four groups of second graders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Network Administrator (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 18, 2018
Great people to work with and the benefits are awesome. I love having the work hours I do, they allow me to set those hours. My supervisor is great, and the support I get is wonderful.
Pros
Flexible working hours, great support for you career
Cons
Not enough communication between departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
central office (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 16, 2018
Lots of changes, little support and lack of clarity and vision. Great individuals whose individual strengths are not being tapped. Central office feeling devalued.
Pros
Some teams
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel was very stressful at times.
Teacher Aide/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDOctober 6, 2018
Overall a good work environment..positive .supportive staff depending on the school..can be stressful at times..very well organized top level administrators..CEO
Pros
Positive work experience
Cons
Travel too far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Montgomery County, MDOctober 3, 2018
I enjoyed this experience overall. I was able to establish a dynamic ability to work with diverse groups in a wide range of subjects and grades. Because I substituted for all grades and subjects I was challenged to learn daily. This experience has fortified me in all areas of my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Technical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 2, 2018
a typical day at work
work you learned
management
workplace culture
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
performance mangement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement
Family Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDSeptember 19, 2018
Unfortunately, last management at Pre K/Head Start, created a negative environment where coworkers felt the need to transfer to other departments or retired in most cases.
Pros
Health Benefits
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Montgomery County Public Schools, MD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 259 reviews
5135
474
337
211
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture