Moore's Electrical & Mechanical Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was hard to learn things but I was extremely new into electrical
Electrical Helper (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAOctober 25, 2018
Did not learn nearly as much at this company but I was new with next to no experience with anything. I would consider this electrical company a stepping stone into electrical work
, the CEO is an amazing man , they had to lay off 200 employees and I was one of them.
Pros
Great CEO
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VASeptember 24, 2018
Management has lost touch with the employees and doesn't truly know what is going on in the company. It's not what you know but who you know to advance within the company. The ones that work hard go unnoticed, and those that do nothing advance. I still have nightmares about the place.
Pros
The pay wasn't bad
Cons
You are a number, worked for a narcissist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very loving and caring place of business
Helper/Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VASeptember 14, 2018
Moore's was an absolute joy from the time I walked through the door. They welcomed me with open arms and presented me with more than enough opportunity. The management as well as employees actually took interest in you and wanted to see you become a better worker as well as person. I had no experience going into the job and they took that as a chance to work with me rather than take it as a disadvantage.
Pros
Provided many lunch, caring, many opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goood place to work
Electrician Helper (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAAugust 10, 2018
Over all this employer was a good place to work, work area locations, transportation, supervisors...etc. The pay was a little low tho. Other than that they were ok to work for.
Pros
good ppl
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undecided
Senior HVAC Technician (Former Employee) –  Alta Vista, KSApril 25, 2018
Unreliable and lack of communication in the office to the field. I was able to establish a good relationship with the customers and maintained a good working relationship with our contractors and customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The greatest place I ever worked.All you have to do is your job and everything else falls into place.
Chiller and boiler techincian. (Current Employee) –  Altavista, VAMarch 3, 2018
The company is growing and I love that you are not a number but you are know by name by everyone and even the CEO Andy Moore.I have worked for corporate America companies and it stinks. Moore's is the place to be.I just wish I came here sooner in my 25 years in the field.All you have to do is your job and everything else falls into place.Thats all I was looking for in a job.A place we're all you have to do is your job and you are repected and payed for it.What else could you ask for.
Pros
Treated with respect and like family.
Cons
All you have to do is your job.No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good hands on place to work. And great career opps.
HVAC Technician Helper (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 27, 2018
A place where it hands on work, using all sorts of tool and machines. You in the elements such as rain, heat, and cold. Great hand on job training aswell.
Pros
Great career opp
Cons
Things could get slow during the winters witch could cause lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job layoff frequent
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VASeptember 13, 2017
Decent company to work for fairly large so you feel more like a number and layoffs are common but if you stick with it the send you to school to get your licensing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture. Not just a number.
PARTS & ESTIMATING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAAugust 13, 2017
I enjoyed my time at Moore's and would recommend it to anyone. Main focuses were on safety and servant leadership. They care for their employees and their families.
Pros
Leadership, culture, caring
Cons
Gossip, clicks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Technician (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAJuly 31, 2017
ive worked for various A/C companies and this company by far is the best company. the reason why I say that is because they care about your safety. most companies will stress safety to you in meetings and then when your out on a job and you feel unsafe doing a job they force you to do the job. Moores will find away to help get the job done, not only properly but safely. the owner is also involved with "you" as the tech and the company. big snow storms he'll call you to see how things are going and if you truly think its safe to work there. I like working for a company that actually cares about you, and also practices what they preach. I truly miss working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family oreinted company
Hvac pm technician (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 6, 2017
Moore's treats each and every employee equal the best company I have ever worked for. Has great benefits and awesome partners caring to the fact that it is a employee owners company.
Pros
Greqt benefits
Cons
Alot of windshield time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was good workload overwhelming at times
Electrical Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 1, 2017
Moore's claims to be a family oriented business and you won't feel just like a number. In my opinion that is incorrect. I felt just like a number. They also claim they would be the best place you ever worked and that is also false.
Pros
They gave me a job
Cons
They let me go without any warning
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits including ESOP
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Altavista, VAApril 19, 2017
I feel that Moore's Electric is a good place to work for someone wanting to obtain benefits in a safety oriented company. A good family oriented company.
Pros
Safety oriented
Cons
Long distance travel, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VADecember 2, 2016
This was a decent place to work when there was work we stayed busy and the management was personable along with co-worker. The hardest part was being in some locations but none to bad that you couldn't do the job safe and well. I would have to say the best part was that they would work with you on situations going on in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Helper/Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VANovember 3, 2016
Moores was a great place to work. they treated their employees as family and everyone helped each other if they could. as a helper i was very happy working with all kinds of people and doing anything they asked me to do to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VASeptember 15, 2014
Electrical wiring and installation of conduit and wires for electrical systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and interesting workplace
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Alta Vista, VAJanuary 11, 2013
Moore's has a great outlook towards working hard, productively, and in a timely manner. customer service and safety are their two main priorities. my Co-workers spent much time and effort in teaching me the trade and how to do it safely and correctly. Moore's is definitely recommended by me, for anyone interested in going into the construction business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is on the safety side always
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Alta Vista, KSNovember 7, 2012
The company will do everything it can to make sure you are safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Electrician
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAApril 22, 2012
All aspects of electrical for a complete build of a Tobacco Processing Plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 13Report

See more Moore's Electrical & Mechanical reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Moore's Electrical & Mechanical. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 22 reviews
54
411
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.6Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Moore's Electrical & Mechanical Reviews by Location