Morris Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers
Material Mgmnt (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILMay 1, 2018
I really enjoy working with my co-workers. Most of us work as a team. Always learning new products and computer programs. Department is very lax with rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work but not if you are looking for critical cases or a fast pace
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILFebruary 22, 2018
Morris hospital is a community hospital that is friendly and a good working environment. A lot of patients are transferred out to other hospitals depending on level of care. The ICU is more like a step down unit. There is not much room for advancement because it is a small hospital and the managers tend to stay in there postions.
Pros
Small community hospital this is friendly with caring staff
Cons
There is not much opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it at first
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILFebruary 6, 2018
i absolutely loved it when i first started, but i quickly found that everyone just talks about one another and management doesn’t know how to talk to employees. They all seemed so nice and helpful when i was training. but as soon as you’re not, it’s like they switch on you. i’ve never had an worse experience than this place, management doesn’t know how to communicate to employees, even if you tell them the issue, they brush it off. they definitely pick favorites. i don’t suggest working here. the only good thing is, the pay. but you could find better.
Pros
pay was ok
Cons
small minded people, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILDecember 12, 2017
wonderful hospital to work for. I worked in the emergency department. The department ran well. Staff was always helpful and eager to work. The environment was always professional.
Pros
pay was competitive
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILNovember 30, 2017
I absolutely loved working at morris hospital. I would love the opportunity to work there again if given the chance. I highly recommend anyone who has the opportunity to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a supportive, civil,organized department. DRAMA, RUMORS, LIES, you get taken advantage of. Manager has favorites and if your not one your wrong.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Ambulatory careNovember 21, 2017
Lack of teamwork, poor management who do not know policies and would rather make half up or interrupt it only there way. Manager enables, starts/participates in drama, does nothing about work place bullying and majority of department would rather watch you crash and burn then offer a hand. If your new or not one of the 'good ol boy' fan clubs, beware and trust no one. They may smile, but they will eat you alive. Couple of excellent nurses and technicians. If your told something or have concerns, get it in an email, if not it's like it didn't happen. Other departments appear to have more of a team player, civil supportive work environment. Also if you would like to take vacations, just go ahead and forget about it. Only one person allowed to be off at a time. So until your there for 20 years no summer, spring options available. Do not expect consistent schedule or hours, no planning due to not knowing what time you work until the day before and if you late shift, you may be there all night. Good luck.
Pros
Benefits, few weekends/holidays
Cons
Not knowing what time you work or where you will be until day before, unequal work load distribution, lack of supportive, friendly environment. Very stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Experience
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILSeptember 16, 2017
I did a clinical experience there i loved it. i would love to work there and with the girls they were very informative and helpful in my training. would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont recomend working here
Associate (Former Employee) –  Nutrition ServicesAugust 2, 2017
Management in Nutrition Services is horrible! They have their favorites who get to slack off and other employees work like dogs to keep up. Don't turn back, or you will find target on it
Pros
Benrfits
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radiology
Radiology Technologist cat scan (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILJune 10, 2017
Bad experience with other employees and doctors gossiping. Employees secretly dating and overall unprofessional behavior. Upper management were like deers in headlights. Witnessed a lot of bad care and patient management in emergency room. Avoid this place like the plague!
Pros
Benefits were good
Cons
Bad environment overall. Lots of unproffessional and small minded country hicks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transparent organization fulfilling its mission
Speech and Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILJune 8, 2017
This organization allows its employees to exercise compassion and excellent care 100% of the time. The culture is one of excellence and teamwork all working for a common goal which is to improve the health of area residents.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Patient rooms are small
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
NUTRITION SERVICES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILApril 3, 2017
The hospital is filled with many jobs so depending on your field there is something for everyone. The food department I feel is geared more to middle aged women and older, women looking for a job after all kids have gone to school or need something to do because they are bored at home. I would not recommend for women or men who are fresh out of culinary school because it is not demanding enough to the skills you obtained from school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applied in April, heard back in October!
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILFebruary 26, 2017
Applied for a selective field in hospital setting in April and only in October finally got a reply, via email, acknowledging my application and that the position was filled. That is sad. Upper management operates in a bubble. This facility will not survive with the current culture. Diversity of staff only encourages growth, opportunities and challenges. Same-old same-old does just that - stops growing and achieving. What does Morris Hospital strive for? Putting up a fence around itself or opening doors to make itself awesome and reknowned, to stand tall?
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want exemplary experience with chump change pay
Non-Commissioned Officer in Charge (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILJanuary 14, 2017
Dont waste your time submitting an application for security dept. $15 hr pay. Lol. Joke Target pays more than that. They have champagne taste and want to pay you beer $$.. someone could have 20 yrs police experience and think a degree trumps experience. College kids are overrated and educated midgets.
Pros
Good.people
Cons
Low.pay, no advancement, false promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, friendly, supportive environment
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILJanuary 10, 2017
Very clean facility, friendly environment with emphasis on quality and teamwork. I had frequent interactions with many employees in almost all departments and was always impressed by the helpfulness and cheerfulness I encountered. Worked there for almost seven years before moving out of the area, but often wish I was still there.
Pros
Clean, friendly environment
Cons
Many processes are in need of updating
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work in nutrition
Nutrition Services (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILOctober 5, 2016
Do not work in nutrition services. Management is poor and will lie to your face. High turn around. Too much work piled on for too few people. The list goes on. Although, the kitchen staff is a great bunch, they help make the days a little more enjoyable. And the benefits aren't too bad. But don't count on transferring to another department or hoping to move up. You're pretty much stuck where you're at unless you know someone.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Short breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morris Hospital is run as if it were a Cult.
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILJuly 27, 2016
If you were not born, raised and now living in the community, you are not welcomed into their Cult-like environment.
Administration and some managers are professional liars. They look you straight in the eyes and lie.
I do have to say that most co-workers are great to work with, but beware of day shift personnel being friendly and then have a target on your back. A lot of issues in many departments. Managers and Administration do not care about your personal well being and concerns in the departments. They do not want to hear it, although it is recommended you go to your manager first regarding any concerns, then you are looked at as making waves, instead of trying to implement a better work flow.
You either shut your mouth, or "Get off the bus." as one Administrator states, verbatim.
I would not recommend working for this company.
Do not go over your managers head, or yours will be cut off!
Many new RN recruits are gone between their 90 day probation period and 6 months. This is an indication that there is something severely wrong. Morris Hospital recently lost staff members that were employed many years, due to poor Administration and Management problems, and scheduling issues.
Be prepared to not have many weekends off for family. Staff has to find their own coverage to have a scheduled weekend off, according to hospital policy. No vacation days allowed on weekend, unless you find your own coverage.
Pros
Most co-workers are great through out the facility.
Cons
Administration and some managers do not care about you personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital work is unique.
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILMay 5, 2016
Everything you do supports families and patients when they are at their most vulnerable. It really is a very special type of work. Hospital workers can also take pride in the fact that "hospitals are the backbones of communities, and what you do directly supports the community.
Pros
Rewarding and satisfying career working in a hospital. Having a positive impact on patients' lives
Cons
It is difficult to watch patients struggle or die in the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small hospital - small minds
Medical Technologist (ASCP) (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILNovember 28, 2015
Small community hospital - where everyone knows everyone. And if you are not from the area, you will not fit in. Always an outsider looking in. Human Resources does nothing with complaints, goes through one ear and out the other. No room for advancement , only those selected or in the clique allowed to advance. Upper management needs re-organization and a clean sweep.
Pros
Benefits, Pto
Cons
Short breaks (timed w/ lab manager looking over you), very judge mental closed minded team
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 1Report

Comment – December 3, 2015

i agree with this comment! This place is so small minded! Management needs a sweep of the house!

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy urgent care clinic
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILOctober 15, 2015
In the urgent care we care for sick and injured patients, and also provide sports physicals to athletes. We see anywhere from 15-50 patients daily, depending on the day and season. The staff I work with is a very hard-working, dedicated group of individuals; including RNs, physicians, laboratory technicians, radiology technicians, and registration staff. Together we provide the best care possible to our patients.
Pros
My co-workers make my job more enjoyable
Cons
short breaks, if any
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 15Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sterile Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILOctober 6, 2015
My position is challenging and awarding at the same time, I enjoy knowing i'm doing something worthwhile; as well as helping with surgeries.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
short breaks, crowded work space
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 16Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Morris Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 38 reviews
59
412
34
25
18

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.6Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Morris Hospital Reviews by Location