Mortenson Construction Employee Reviews

Found 225 reviews matching the search See all 229 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collabrotive workplace just needs more projects.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 27, 2018
Mortenson was a good work place with plenty of other trades and workers doing their best together to be productive. Would give plenty of people opportunities to find a career for construction whether that be through a trade they provide themselves or by giving you relations with trades they partner with. However the security of work is not 100% guaranteed because they sometimes lack enough contracts to have everyone working.
Pros
Plenty of benefits included, competitive pay, some overtime
Cons
Lack of security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work, also they always take care of you
Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  McCamey, TXJune 27, 2018
If you want to work in mortenson you need to have a strong resistance to the sun, rain, cold and dust, and be able to walk a lot, it's going to be hard but also is going to be so relaxing, working in the nature.
Pros
The take care of you, and you feel safe every day
Cons
It's hard to work when is super hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slave drivin
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Rosamond, CAJune 21, 2018
work to the bone with not good pay at all. jobs are very short and require a lot of moving to different states. management was good but i have seen them be not fair to others.
Pros
safety lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety driven
Ironworker General Foreman (Current Employee) –  Texas, Nebraska, ColoradoJune 19, 2018
Mortenson is safety driven which I love, all our men and women leave the jobsite each day healthy and can return safely to their families. The work culture is ok, but you better know someone in upper management to move up.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
you are always away from family, no time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar
Solar laborer (Current Employee) –  Uvalde, TXJune 13, 2018
Solar is tough but Mortenson has good safety practice and management who take care of its workers some need to understand that projects come to an end but there is always another
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company bad management
Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  McCamey, TXJune 3, 2018
Left because when i was a foreman my helpers that were just hired were makimg the same money i was making the same money i was , i was working herr for four years already
Pros
Low salary
Cons
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a goog company to work for i was laidoff
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaMay 29, 2018
it was good company to work for Iearned a lot of things working for a great company and I have nothing bad to say about this company if picked I would back that's how I feel about this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good company to work for
Foreman/QA/QC (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 17, 2018
I started as a electrical forman for solar farm. I was promoted to a QA/QC and warranty trouble shooter. It was a vary demanding and fulfilling job. I left there for the job of substation superviser'
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really axcited and nice work place.
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 14, 2018
This company is best change to work on and they have a good work site that anybody should improve. People can growth there as a good worker, laborer. This company improve every resource as a security and would advance many rules about of careing them workers.
Pros
They have a PTO and they have a lunch every month.
Cons
Good health care and vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction site with Hazards and needed Team Skills.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Milford, UTMay 6, 2018
Worked around and got to know how to do a lot on the job site. The hardest part of the job was not being able to do much at home on the days I worked.The best part of the job for me was the fulfillment of a hard days work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Intern (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 6, 2018
I really enjoyed my internship at Mortenson. I had a great time, I learned a lot and the people were great. After my internship ended I actually decided to switch my degree from mechanical engineering to civil because of them.
Pros
Everything
Cons
I didn't really care for the area I lived in, but I chose that so that's on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar farm
Solar Panel Installer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, TXMay 3, 2018
it was fun but busy, very fast pace daily .learned to work with people from all over the world that did things different .hardest part of the job was working in freezing and wet weather, but we really enjoyed family days we had.
Pros
great famiy days
Cons
cold wet weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortenson Construction was a good company to work for. Never had to worry about money.
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, SCApril 22, 2018
Mortenson Construction was a good learning environment. They didn't mind teaching you the Mortenson way. They were like family and safety was always first.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work at but like in most companys to move up it was based on favortism
OffLoad/Master Frame (Former Employee) –  Uvalde, TXApril 19, 2018
I really liked working for Mortenson Construction and I would definitely work there again. The only problem that I had there was that even if you were a great worker with a great group and making great numbers for production with less than min mistakes it was still not recognized. I learned many things about working safely there, the most enjoyable part about working there was when the leads weren't around making the groups nervous.
Pros
Good Pay, Good Perdiem, Very stricked on saftey and its a company that takes care of you.
Cons
Too much favortism only way to move up there..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Uvalde, TXApril 19, 2018
Good place to work good pay. Traveled around the US and got to see a lot of new places. They ran out of jobs so now currently looking for another place of employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNApril 15, 2018
Great leadership, diversity and respectful
Excellent Training, Team Work
Appreciation
Team Work
Training available upon request
TEAM WORK
Team Work
Respect from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 12, 2018
M.A. Mortenson was a very good company to work for. Very fast paced construction. Employees work great as a team. Good benefits. They are a very large and top rated Construction Company based in the Midwest. Therefore not a lot of work in California.
Pros
Nice work environment.
Cons
Site can be dirty, muddy and difficult to access.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun. Overly managed
Solar Pre-Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Waverly, MNApril 11, 2018
I enjoyed working for Mortenson, it was fun, productive, and they tried to get you everything that you asked for or needed. The only problem I had with Mortenson was they had to many upper managers which would sometimes slow or effect your ability to work.
Pros
Some free lunches
Cons
Top heavy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Tower Lead (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 2, 2018
work etic is excellent. really good place to work I was an A traveler wich I was guarantee 40 hours a week plus 700 perdium a week. lots of prises on the montly safety lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Organized
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  McCamey, TXMarch 30, 2018
I enjoyed working for this company, they paid me fairly and I had great benefits with them.
I would have liked to worked not hours a week but I was ok with the hours we worked.
The job we had to do was pretty simple, it was the same task everyday and same quota.
Pros
Take short Breaks after task is done
Cons
Short lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mortenson Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 229 reviews
5108
472
331
213
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

4.2InHerSight Score

4.2Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

4.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight