Mortenson Construction Employee Reviews

Found 278 reviews matching the search See all 284 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work palce
Civil Worker (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 4, 2019
great
work place
very safe
great benefits
safety lunches are good restroom are clean people are nice management is comprehensive they give you all your ppe
Pros
saftey lunches
Cons
not enough restrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortenson Great, Management Needs Work
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 2, 2019
It is a very conservative company with little to no growth for business service employees such as finance, legal, marketing, IT, etc.
The CEO is fantastic as are the Mortenson family, it is the upper management where the disconnect begins making anyone below them just the worker bee.
Great for an engineer that wants to work 16 hour days in the field, or someone that has literally been there your entire career.
Pros
CEO is fantastic
Cons
Upper Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job for people likes to moving from different states
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2019
I like the job is a really good company good pay and good benefits and awesome people to work with no complains there very friendly with each other I like
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and management
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 18, 2018
Great place to work with outstanding pay and benefits. This company stresses safety, healthy work environment and employee well being. They have a great training program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZDecember 17, 2018
I gained priceless experience working with heavy equipment. Learning how to operate a Skid-Steer, backhoe, excavator, roller, sheepsfoot, loader and water truck
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Traveling Wind Turbine Technician (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 5, 2018
Mortenson is a great company to work for, they do bow down to there customers at the employees expense but I can understand that sometimes. Highly recommend Mortenson for good steady work.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Long hours and lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Main person over job skiped paper work that i signed and fired me
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Jasper, FLNovember 28, 2018
Need new mangament for the hamilton solar project, I signed a right up stating if I was late or missed again I was suspended. I missed a day after that due to my car being meesed up, i have receipts to prove I,had to fix my car. Well I got to work the next day and they skip that paper work that i dated and signed, and told,me they was letting,me go for having to,much going on in my personal life. They cant do that and I never brought my personal life to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pay and traveling
Electrical Laborer (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZNovember 20, 2018
When you work for a construction company you will have to do manual labor, there is no way around it. In all honesty, I've found it easier than a part-time job in customer service. yes, I did have to work out in the Arizona sun in the middle of the afternoon, but I was never overworked. I am not built for manual labor but I thrived there, you never work more than 3 hours at a time before you get a fifteen-minute break, then two hours of work until a thirty-minute lunch break then work 3 hours and get another fifteen-minute break, then you work two hours then go home. There is definitely a bit of a learning curve to what they want you to do when you first join but it is very possible to learn. They are never stationed in one place at a time so if you want to stay on you'll have to travel with them.
Pros
High starting pay, Good benefits
Cons
temporary unless willing to travel, manual labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money. The job itself was not hard.
General Laborer/ Quality Control (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN 55422November 18, 2018
Although the job was not hard you work 13 days straight between 10-12 hours before you get 1 day off then it's back to work. I quit my job and was promised continual work and the job ended and I was laid off.
Pros
Good money, easy work, benefits
Cons
Long hours, lack of communication and no stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Knox, KYNovember 14, 2018
Mortenson Construction provided a good working environment and was very strong regarding their safety program. Everyone who wanted access was required to attend a safety orientation no matter who they were or the job position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production safety
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Montross, VANovember 11, 2018
Safety is key they care about workers
Espect to work 10 hrs
There have different cultures
Men and women are treated equal
It all a friend ship at work
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity in name only
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Role moved to MN) (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove Village, ILNovember 3, 2018
The biggest challenge in construction is the lack of diversity, and it does not help when leadership does not have compensation tied to diversity, and its only spoken about in token ways.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Lack of diversity and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is real beneficial
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Jasper, FLNovember 2, 2018
The job is real relaxing, you will be dressed according to whatever environment you're working in, they also give you so many good benefits and provide you with all your Ppe, safety is everything on the job site, they're like a family out there
Pros
Free ppe
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 30, 2018
Decent Place to Work that is growing quickly. Work pace is fast and can be demanding. Often employees have to be flexible by working on various things at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!!
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 28, 2018
Its an excellent place to work at, good pay good benefits great at working with you if you need days of. I didn't keep working because the project ended and I foud am other job before they started the next one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water treatment / semiconductor are worlds different
water plant / semiconductor constr. coordinator (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SC / Boise IDOctober 25, 2018
Tyoical day depended on stage of job. Enjoyed learning about electrical aspects as MEP (Mech Electr. Piping) Coordinator. Learned a lot about site layout, high voltage electrical layout and 7 million gallon wire-wound shotcreted tanks from coordinating with surveyor and utility and tank builder. Mgmt home office and site were great. Workplace culture on water plant job great. On semiconductor it was ex-client personnel hired by company - that was a huge mistake IMHO. Hardest part of job was semiconductor constr. with 10% complete dwgs - tearing stuff down when it changed. Best part was overseeing geotechnical boring pre-construction work in high desert in wonderfully sage-fragrant early mornings.
Pros
great, safety-centric home and site office personnel
Cons
practice of hiring ex-client personnel on site managment teams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Administrator/Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Wolcott, INOctober 24, 2018
Relaxed place to work. Everyone here knows the feeling of having to balance work and home life, which is fantastic when you have children .I lived 24 minutes away from the job site and it is a very relaxing drive to and from work each day. Mortenson Construction is a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax job i love
Grout (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 18, 2018
The culture is good safety green for world no contaminate water air clean .worked they did better job each person on focus safety and keepworld cleans wild life
Pros
More worked gif each project
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like working with Mortenson
Senior Safety Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAOctober 16, 2018
Mortenson has a strong safety culture and their management walks the talk. I enjoyed working with them they were professional, they hired a lot of interns, they gave adequate time off while working away form home. Good company.
Pros
Good company
Cons
didn't work with them long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And A Happy Work Place
Solar Panel Installer (Former Employee) –  Almyra, AROctober 16, 2018
I loved working with other employees to get the job done the right way and finishing in time to move on . Stretch and bend in the morning was needed to prevent cramping and aches.I loved doing a pre task every morning before work so me and my crew knew exactly what to do and get straight to it and how safe to be.Proper PPE and 360 Awarenesses was needed to prevent trips,slips and falls.
Pros
Must Bring Lunch With You
Cons
Two Ten Minute Breaks And A Thirty Minute Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mortenson Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 284 reviews
5139
488
333
217
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

4.2InHerSight Score

4.2Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

4.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight